We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for lunch, just come early”
Review of Bento Ya Masako

Bento Ya Masako
Ranked #29 of 67 Restaurants in Corning
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Great place for lunch, just come early”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Really good authentic Japanese lunch place. The place is cash-only and pretty small, so make sure to come 10-15min before noon to get a table. But it does worth it, the food is delicious. A nice energizing cup of green tea is included with lunch. The menu is pretty big, and there is a sushi option too.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tusishvili F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    4
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Corning, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yummy!!!”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

I love going to this restaurant as I love sushi. Always friendly and fantastic service.
No matter what you order ( I have ordered many different dishes) it is all very tasty and
served in a timely and friendly manner.
Almost feels like you're at home the atmosphere is so casual and cozy.
The only thing I am disappointed with is that its so small so there have been times that I had to wait and come back because all the tables are full.....easy to understand because the food is delish and the price is very good.
I recommend this place to everyone and can't wait to take my family from out of town there!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corning, New York
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Just not that good”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

I had never been there before, but heard rave reviews so decided to stop one afternoon. There's no real order here and it's just grab a menu and order. The menu is extremely limited and consists mostly of fried foods. I told the owner to give me her best dish and she chose a mackerel. It came out and really just tasted like fish fried in old oil. The soup was good (the saving grace from being a 1 star rating), but the sides that came with it were basically inedible. I went away with my clothes smelling like fried food. I won't be returning.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmira, New York
Level 6 Contributor
264 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Where am I?”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

You know the place is open when the "sandwich board" is on the sidewalk out front, complete with a couple of helium balloons. The place is only open for lunch, only four days per week, and not when Masako travels to Japan for a month or so, which she does periodically, and on no discernable schedule. If you've never been here, half way up the creeky dark and gloomy steps you'll wonder if this is some kind of mistake. It's not. You enter the dining room, where no two tables are alike, the walls need a coat of paint, and the windows contain old masking tape to reduce drafts. However, you're reassured by the incredible odors from behind the counter, where Masako cooks everything in plain view.....on a standard kitchen stove. You place an order, grab a soft drink from the little self serve fridge on the counter, and take a seat......if there are any vacant tables that is. (Hint: Get there before noon when the lunch crowd of local office workers starts coming in.) Grab a magazine from the stack on the counter, you may have to wait a while.

And, forget all of the above........The wait is worth it and the food here is absolutely fantastic, as good as anything you can get in Japan. Take your pick of anything on the "menu" (taped to the wall on sheets of paper). Its all completely authentic and fantastic and its very reasonable priced.......tempura, sukiyaki, vegetable and/or raw fish sushi, yakisoba, yakitori, etc, etc.

By the way, an interesting contrast with the totally shabby appearance of the place is the pictures on the wall. Each one is of an exquisite hand engraved piece of glass crystal created by Masako san's husband who is a world renowned copper wheel engraver. He does his work in his studio behind the restaurant........except when Masako gets so busy that he comes up front and helps in the dining room!

This place is unique and the food is out of this world. If you live in or visit Corning and you like Japanese food don't miss it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnandJaneS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Level 6 Contributor
450 reviews
299 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Agree with Previous Reviewers”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Food was very good, pricing reasonable. There were 3 of us. We ordered 3 different dishes as well as a soup which is a meal by itself. The woman thought we ordered to much, but my family has large appetites and we consumed what we ordered. Things you should know. Blink and you might pass the place,as it is upstairs and we would have too unless we saw the sidewalk sign. The place is only open Tuesday-Friday 11-3. When you walk in, they cook over a little stove, and serve you at tables with old fashioned tablecloths with plastic coverings and folding chairs. It reminds me of when I would visit an elderly person's apartment. If you prefer a fancy atmosphere then this is not the place for you. If you want a meal that it home cooked, with all the love that goes into it, then this is the place for you.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FLB18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bento Ya Masako also viewed

 
Corning, Finger Lakes
Corning, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Bento Ya Masako? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing