We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best”
Review of Sorge's Restaurant

Sorge's Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 67 Restaurants in Corning
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A Corning Family Dining Tradition since 1951. Sorge’s is a 2nd generation family owned restaurant specializing in homemade pasta, sauces, desserts, and our own special blend of top choice beef for our burgers. Features: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Buffet, Dessert, Dining on a budget, Entertaining clients, Families with Children, Groups up to 80, Reservations, Romance, Special Occasions, Takeout, Full Liquor License, Handicap accessible, Free Parking in front.
Catonsville, MD
Level Contributor
189 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“One of the best”
Reviewed August 30, 2014

While visiting Corning this month, we were told Sorge's is a local favorite of long standing. On the strength of that recommendation, we went there for dinner and found it to be one of the best Italian dinners we've ever had. We liked the braciole and the sautéed sea scallops.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CatonsvilleGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sorges_in_Corning, Owner at Sorge's Restaurant, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Thank you CatonsvilleGeorge. High praise coming from a Top Contributor. Mike & Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    295
    186
    67
    21
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Dependably, consistently good experiences”
Reviewed August 29, 2014

I've yet to make the drive up from Wellsboro for lunch of dinner at Sorge's and not be pleased. Have never had a need to ask an order to be corrected but am confident it would be dones so immediately and to my satisfaction. In a world where menus constantly change with the chefs, Sorge's consistently rates at the top of our experience. Thanks, Mike and Chris... an unknown fan.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jitegemea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sorges_in_Corning, Owner at Sorge's Restaurant, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Well Thank You for being a fan and also for sharing your experiences. As a regular customer, I hope you signed up for our loyalty program. Mike & Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good variety”
Reviewed August 27, 2014

Hard to find a place to satisfy 5 different tastes. They were very accommodating - shrimp on spaghetti would not be a normal menu item.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lorifrompa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sorges_in_Corning, Owner at Sorge's Restaurant, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Thank You. Yes we do attempt customize customer orders on request. Glad we could satisfy everyones different taste preferences. Mike & Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisberry, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
138 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Italian downtown restaurant”
Reviewed August 26, 2014

We went there for a family meal. Met our son and daughter-in-law along with grandson for lunch part way between where we live. We all got something different and it was fine, but nothing to rave about. The waitress was adequate - again not overly attentive. I wouldn't think to go there necessarily if visiting the area again. We do meet in Corning several times a year and pass through it I would say 10 times or so, so I would give it another try but would certainly try other places as well. I had Chicken caprese. Someone else had the seafood lasagna, a cajun (? spicy) fish dish, and chicken parmesan as well.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank msfigment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sorges_in_Corning, Owner at Sorge's Restaurant, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Thanks for dropping in. We take great pride in producing a quality dining experience with exceptional food. Especially with our homemade pasta and sauces. I would suggest visiting on a buffet night so you can try a variety of our food and find one that you love. Mike & Chris.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed August 26, 2014 via mobile

Visited as a group of 8 with adults and children.
Had a very enjoyable delicious meal. Kids tried various new foods with the encouragement of staff and loved every min of it. Good food and lots of it. Generous portion sizes. Varied wine list with something for everyone. Overall a great place for all the family for any occasion.

Helpful?
Thank mrsozzy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sorges_in_Corning, Owner at Sorge's Restaurant, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Wow Mrsozzy1. What a great review. Thanks for taking the time to write it. We love serving large families and I am glad the kids loved it. Mike & Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sorge's Restaurant also viewed

Corning, Finger Lakes
Corning, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Sorge's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing