We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food!!!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Slammin Jammin Southern Smoked BBQ

Slammin Jammin Southern Smoked BBQ
Ranked #11 of 67 Restaurants in Corning
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Horseheads, New York
Level Contributor
96 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great Food!!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

I have to say that the Trip Advisor reviewers were right on target with their great reviews of this place. The BBQ is to die for. I had the ribs which they told me they were known for. They were tender, smoky, and had tons of meat on the bone and they give you a lot. The other people in my party had brisket and pulled pork sandwiches which they said were incredible.

Now for the Cons- the macaroni salad was extremely dry and needed more mayo and spices. The beans and potato side was bland and the beans very mushy but that's what you get when you use green beans in a can and cook them a long time. Trying to read the menu was very hard. It is allover the place and not well organized. I also have to disagree that the owner and staff was friendly. We were looking all over the place trying to find the menu and she asked if we had been there before. We said no and she just said we are known for our ribs. Ok anything else like welcome?

I will go back but maybe get it to go since the food is the star at this place.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ValleyDrive57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    61
    15
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“An amazing little place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

Came from Rochester to go to the museum and came on here for a place to eat. Great choice! The food was amzing. Brisket and pulled pork is so soft. Sauce is top notch. The atmosphere is that bbq shack, small, gives that bbq vibe. The menu is simple and the owner is friendly and passionate about his food.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jmcquay3293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Painted Post, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Diamond in the Rough!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

We are locals and love a good barbecue! While the atmosphere "rustic" and very casual, the food is delicious! More meat on one bone than you'll get on an entire rack at Chili's or Texas Roadhouse! The sides are delicious, as well. Friendly staff who are very accommodating will insure a good meal.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Agree with other reviewers- good stuff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

Very nice folks who make a great product at a competitive price. We ordered the 1/4 lb combo. Everything was good, but the ribs were the best.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank baileyjeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corning, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Keeps getting better!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

My last review of this place was excellent but I since ate there again and it was even better. The pork ribs were even better than the last time. They were also offering beef ribs. My son got those and we split the two types. The beef ones were fantastic as well! Drive down Pultney street and you can smell them cooking a mile away. Funny story, I had no intention of going out this particular night and I was on Bridge street at the Chiropractor. I came out and the yummy smell of smoking ribs hit me. I called my son and told him to meet me there!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank tzajicek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Slammin Jammin Southern Smoked BBQ also viewed

Corning, Finger Lakes
Corning, Finger Lakes
 
Corning, Finger Lakes
 
Corning, Finger Lakes
Corning, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Slammin Jammin Southern Smoked BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing