We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'm back in the 50s”

Old World Cafe and Ice Cream
Ranked #3 of 5 Dessert in Corning
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Description: We stopped here in Corning. Really great sandwiches and soup. Terrific ice cream. The bakery items looked great although we did not try them.
Restaurant details
Description: We stopped here in Corning. Really great sandwiches and soup. Terrific ice cream. The bakery items looked great although we did not try them.
Tampa, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“I'm back in the 50s”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We were in route somewhere else when I stopped for directions. "That's good", we were told, "but where you really want to go is....." and he took us by the hand. Walking through the door, we had gone back 6 decades into a 1950s fountain/restaurant, with great soup, sandwiches, et al. So, thanks to my capacity for getting lost, we had a super lunch and a very fair price.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Janstroh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    42
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North, VA
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Great Coffee in special setting”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We just had coffee, but the food and ice cream looked delicious. Special place, old time soda fountain setting.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TIC09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Go for the charm and old world atmosphere”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

The Old World Cafe is located in the heart of the historic Gaffer District in Corning, contiguous to the Information Center and a block and a half from the Rockwell Museum of Western Art. Just 10 years old, it nevertheless reeks of charm from beautifully restored tin ceilings, mullioned windows, tiled floor, wood moldings, old-time bar, candy-store decor and marble-top tables, blackboard menu, old schoolhouse pendant lighting, and fresh-faced waitresses in dark blue aprons. The cafe has two counters - one for Purity ice cream in about fifteen flavors, another one for ordering salads, sandwiches, panini's, soups, etc.. You order at the counter, leave your name, sit down, and the food is brought over to you when ready. Service is friendly and fairly efficient.

We ordered the Blue Harvest Salad with beets, and candied walnuts, blue cheese, the King George roast beef sandwich with horseradish on multigrain bread, and a bowl of seafood chowder. I am sorry to report that the food was meh.... the salad and sandwich were both really bland - the roast beef itself was fine but the creamy horseradish spread tasted like cream cheese. The beets in the salad were flavorless and the walnuts were not candied as promised. The seafood chowder, on the other hand, was way too salty.

In retrospect, we should have ordered the cheese panini and ice cream that previous reviewers seemed to like.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bluenote18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A must visit”
Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

We've been coming to corning for many years and never miss a trip for ice cream, charming old building, good service and you can never have too much ice cream!!

Helpful?
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corning, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“"Great salads, paninis, and soups"”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Sorge's has great salads, paninis, and soups and I highly reccomend the big cheese panini, as it is the best grilled cheese you will ever have. Everything here is great. The suops are made with the freshest ingredients and taste delicious.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trip A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old World Cafe and Ice Cream also viewed

Corning, Finger Lakes
Corning, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Old World Cafe and Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing