We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“must see”

Corning Museum of Glass
Book In Advance
More Info
$19.50*
and up
Corning Museum of Glass Admission
Ranked #1 of 20 things to do in Corning
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Located in the beautiful Finger Lakes region of upstate New York. Open 9am-5pm every day year-round. Open 9am-8pm Memorial Day to Labor Day. From children looking for an adventure to artists looking for inspiration, there is something for everyone at The Corning Museum of Glass. Browse 3500 years of glassmaking history in our collection galleries, then watch glass come to life during the live Hot Glass Demo. You’ll be inspired to experience the wonder of glassmaking for yourself during a Make Your Own Glass workshop (reservations available online). See the stunning Contemporary Art + Design Wing, which houses a 26,000-square-foot contemporary gallery and 500-seat Amphitheater Hot Shop for live glass demos and design sessions. Kids and Teens (17 and under) Free! Adult admission tickets are $19.50 and are good for two consecutive days. Discount of 15% for AAA/CAA, Students, Military and 55+. Blue Star Museum- Free Admission for Active Military and family Memorial Day to Labor Day.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Stairs / elevator, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed December 20, 2013

I have driven past this place for 20+ years and finally made the stop. There are interesting things to see in both technology and art of glass. Excellent presentation of how glass has been made and is now made - easy to understand. Very extensive museum of glass are and ancient glass through the years. Some hands-on sections for making your own glass art.
Food is not worth eating, but the glass is worth seeing.

Thank 2005-travel-lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry M, Marketing Staff at Corning Museum of Glass, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Thank you for FINALLY coming to see us! It sounds like you found our parking to be easy, location to be convenient, and collection to be worthwhile. Thank you for making memories while learning about the art, history, and science of glass. See you the next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,811)
There are newer reviews for Corning Museum of Glass
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,996 - 2,000 of 2,811 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2013

We went during the Sparkle celebration. Was great street festival w singing and vendors. The Corning Glass which usually has a $15 admission for adults for kids is free, this weekend is free for all. Same with other Corning Musems.

Thank Carl N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry M, Marketing Staff at Corning Museum of Glass, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Thank you for coming during the weekend of downtown's Sparkle event. We are proud to have our Holiday Open House over the same weekend (typically the first full weekend in December). Check out our other family events throughout the year, like Families Explore and school break activities. Thanks again for the review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

I have been there a dozen or so times. We always go on Black Friday. I have been there for a work related team building event where we all made our own Christmas ornaments (that was my first experience at that) and had a blast. All in all just a fun place to visit. So you can go into the shopping and food area for free but there is a fee for the museum part. I admit that I have only been in the museum part a few times. The shopping part is fun in its self. Also, keep an eye out for the Free 2300 degrees events during the late fall through winter. They have great bands including the Town Pants but beware, the place is usually PACKED for these free events.

Thank tzajicek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry M, Marketing Staff at Corning Museum of Glass, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Thank you for your review! We are always happy to be a part of a family tradition and a place for memory making and fun. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

The pieces of art are truly amazing and inspiring. We could have spent more time here, but we were passing through. FYI - children under 19 are free. To get to the museum part, you must pass through the gift shop. Don't get lost here, as it is huge. See the museum and return to the shop. They offer several demonstrations throughout the day, so plan your time accordingly. My family is more of the look and walk, not read about each period of glass history. If that is your thing, be prepared to spend several hours here My husband and I had stopped here over 2 decades ago, and it was a little nothing at that time. Not only are the exhibits breathtaking, but so is the museum building itself, and it looks like they are in the process of building 2 extensions. My daughter actually said this is one place she wouldn't mind returning to. Neither would I, not only to see more of the museum in depth, but to shop again. I bought several bags of merchandise, especially Christmas items that were on sale.

Thank FLB18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry M, Marketing Staff at Corning Museum of Glass, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Thank you for your review! We are glad you decided to come back and re-visit us. It sounds like you were surprised by the ways that we've grown since your last visit and we are excited to continue to grow as the art, history, and science of glass continues to inspire us and our visitors. We are thrilled to be a part of your holiday memories and hope you are able to share the images you took with friends, family, and other visitors heading to The Southern Finger Lakes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We enjoyed going to the Corning Glass Museum. It was fun to watch the glass making sessions...and then oh my goodness so many amazing glass pieces in their art galleries - its almost overwhelming. The store had lots of great art pieces - luckily we were traveling or we would have bought more than we did.

This is a type of place you get an overview the first time; and need follow up trips to really learn more about each gallery and art designer; and so forth.

Excellent museum to visit.

Thank mini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry M, Marketing Staff at Corning Museum of Glass, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Thank you for your review. Remember, you can shop great deals online as well! We encourage you to stay connected to the rich glass community through our social media and website between now and your next visit. Thanks again for visiting and reviewing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Corning Museum of Glass also viewed

Watkins Glen, Finger Lakes
Corning, Finger Lakes
 
Corning, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Corning Museum of Glass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing