We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we had more time”

The Corning Museum of Glass
Book In Advance
More Info
$19.50*
and up
Corning Museum of Glass Admission
Ranked #1 of 20 things to do in Corning
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Located in the beautiful Finger Lakes region of upstate New York. Open 9am-5pm every day year-round. Open 9am-8pm Memorial Day to Labor Day. From children looking for an adventure to artists looking for inspiration, there is something for everyone at The Corning Museum of Glass. Browse 3500 years of glassmaking history in our collection galleries, then watch glass come to life during the live Hot Glass Demos. You’ll be inspired to experience the wonder of glassmaking for yourself during a Make Your Own Glass workshop (reservations available online). See the stunning Contemporary Art + Design Wing, which houses a 26,000-square-foot contemporary gallery and 500-seat Amphitheater Hot Shop for live glass demos and design sessions. Kids and Teens (17 and under) Free! Adult admission tickets are $19.50 and are good for two consecutive days. Discount of 15% for AAA/CAA, Students, Military and 55+. Blue Star Museum- Free Admission for Active Military and family Memorial Day to Labor Day.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Stairs / elevator, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Reviewed October 9, 2013

There is so much here to see that 1/2 day was just not enough. we could have spent 1/2 day in the huge wonderful gift shop, alone. There are many great exhibits with live glass craftsman that show and explain the many uses of glass, both artistic as well as technological. For example the explanation of fiber optic glass cables was way over my head. We intend to visit again soon.

Thank Avi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry M, Marketing Staff at The Corning Museum of Glass, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Thanks for the visit and review. We hope you check out some area accomodations that include museum admission within their overnight stay so that you can leverage your admission. Did you know that your admission was valid for 2 consecutive days?!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,947)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,194 - 2,198 of 2,947 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2013

The Museum of Glass in Corning is an amazing collection of exhibits and presentations involving the history and use of glass. Glassblowing demos were pretty cool, as was the presentation on fiber optics. The museum is very child-friendly, and there is lots to see there. Admission is very reasonable.

Thank terryw604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry M, Marketing Staff at The Corning Museum of Glass, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Thank you for your review! We're glad that you and your travel companions had a great time. It's great to hear that we're as family-friendly as we aim to be. Who says Glass & Kids don't mix?!?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Pretty cool museum. Too bad I didn't win the raffle to get a custom made piece. Check out all the it.

Thank Alexander L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry M, Marketing Staff at The Corning Museum of Glass, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Thanks for the review. Not every show has a raffle, so those pieces are pretty great treasures for those that have the Glass Luck! Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Heard about it for years, but you have to 1) already be in the general vicinity; or 2) intend it as a destination. I suggest the second option. The museum is a gem, has beautiful art glass and fascinating historical exhibits. We wandered in during the Memorial Day weekend and spent several hours enjoying the exhibits. As a bonus, we found the city of Corning in full Glass Festival Mode, with a fab street fair on the weekend. If you are the least bit into gift shops, they have a great one . . . for kids and aficianados alike. Having just been in Venice, Italy last summer, it was an interesting take on cultural differences regarding industry and art.

Thank guswho1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry M, Marketing Staff at The Corning Museum of Glass, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Thank you for visiting! It sounds like you were here during Glass Fest, a celebration of the fire arts! This is EVERY Memorial Day weekend and we look forward to welcoming guests to the city and our museum. The Southern Finger Lakes is a great destination in Upstate New York. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Museum is an interesting balance of all sorts of science history of Corning, a good portfolio art work with all kinds of glass work. Its impressive on every single floor though the entrance fee is a little bit expensive. The tour was not worth it but the audio rental was definitely worthwhile to hear about the different techniques in different history in both the art and the practical use of glass. The cafe was adequate with some local dishes but really didn't do the rest of the museum justice given the high end feel.

The shopping area dominates much of the museum which detracts from the spacial architecture. Too bad.

If you are already in Corning for the natural beauty of the area, this is with a few hours but this isn't the main attraction for coming to this charming party of the country.

Thank Real-Insight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry M, Marketing Staff at The Corning Museum of Glass, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to review. We are sorry that the overview given by the docent wasn't to your liking, but it sounds like your audio tour experience allowed you to learn about some objects and aspects of glass differently Remember that our website offers great resources for learning more about these things as well. We hope ou found the map and demonstration schedule to be helpful in navigating from the Admissions lobby through the galleries and demonstrations. Thanks again for reviewing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Corning Museum of Glass also viewed

Corning, Finger Lakes
Watkins Glen, Finger Lakes
 
Corning, Finger Lakes
 

Been to The Corning Museum of Glass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing