We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun way to spend a few hours”

The Corning Museum of Glass
Book In Advance
More Info
$19.50*
and up
Corning Museum of Glass Admission
Ranked #1 of 13 things to do in Corning
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Located in the beautiful Finger Lakes region of upstate New York. Open 9am-5pm every day year-round. Open 9am-8pm Memorial Day to Labor Day. From children looking for an adventure to artists looking for inspiration, there is something for everyone at The Corning Museum of Glass. Browse 3500 years of glassmaking history in our collection galleries, then watch glass come to life during the live Hot Glass Demos. You’ll be inspired to experience the wonder of glassmaking for yourself during a Make Your Own Glass workshop (reservations available online). See the stunning Contemporary Art + Design Wing, which houses a 26,000-square-foot contemporary gallery and 500-seat Amphitheater Hot Shop for live glass demos and design sessions. Kids and Teens (17 and under) Free! Adult admission tickets are $19.50 and are good for two consecutive days. Discount of 15% for AAA/CAA, Students, Military and 55+. Blue Star Museum- Free Admission for Active Military and family Memorial Day to Labor Day.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Stairs / elevator, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We decided to stop here on our way out of Corning - it was a nice visit. We spend most of our time looking at the ancient glass displays which were very interesting. We did visit the gift store and some of the demonstrations (the glass bead making was very interesting!), but didn't spend too much time, as there were screaming children running around everywhere, which seemed dangerous (and expensive) in a glass museum (not the museum's fault parent's allowed their children to run free). This was a nice place - worth the stop.

Thank binkers441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry M, Marketing Staff at The Corning Museum of Glass, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Thank you for your review and for visiting us. We hope more travelers include us in their travels through the Southern Finger Lakes and can experience the art, history, and science of glass.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,294)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"make your own"
in 328 reviews
"gift shop"
in 434 reviews
"live demonstrations"
in 124 reviews
"fiber optics"
in 127 reviews
"contemporary art"
in 67 reviews
"new wing"
in 47 reviews
"all ages"
in 180 reviews
"corning museum"
in 99 reviews
"consecutive days"
in 34 reviews
"on display"
in 85 reviews
"niagara falls"
in 57 reviews
"we spent hours"
in 32 reviews
"interactive displays"
in 37 reviews
"hands on activities"
in 48 reviews
"for sale"
in 47 reviews
"whole family"
in 50 reviews
"parking lot"
in 64 reviews
Filter

2,602 - 2,606 of 3,298 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2013

There is no charge for kids and teens so naturally it was crowded during Labor Day weekend. We arrived at 10 am but by noon, the place was packed. Visitors by the busload had arrived.

We took the 11 am "Hidden Treasures" tour which was very informative and pointed out some of the more valuable pieces in the Museum's collection. Who knew that glass could be art? We had visited the Glass Displays at the Hermitage as well as the paperweight and glass collection in Chicago's Art Museum - this was definitely a surprise. We enjoyed the glass blowing demonstrations in Venice, Murano and on a cruise ship (Celebrity Eclipse) but are constantly awed by the skill and artistry required of these talented craftsmen (and craftswomen). You'll have to obtain a sticker for the tour (if you don't have one, at the meeting place, a staff member will provide you with a sticker as long as the tour is not full).

The AAA discount represents a savings $2.25 per ticket. The Café serves good quality pastas, entrees, pizza (thin crust), salads, sandwiches and cookies at reasonable prices.

The museum is undergoing an expansion which is complete in 2014. Next time, we will stay longer so that we can take one of the classes (some of the projects require 24 hours of prep/set time).

Thank Dushi-NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry M, Marketing Staff at The Corning Museum of Glass, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Thanks for your thorough review that not only includes our fun on-site offerings but also our outreach programs on Celebrity Cruises. We're proud to be a leader in the world of glass and it sounds like your comparative experiences around the globe have confirmed this achievement. Thanks again for visiting (hopefully you showed your Celebrity SeaPass for free admission) and for being glass enthusiasts with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We made a special trip to Corning to see the glass museum. It is a remarkable place and well worth the trip.

Thank Indiesurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry M, Marketing Staff at The Corning Museum of Glass, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Thank you for your review AND your special trip! We hope you took some great memories and souvenirs home with you. As always, our website is a great resource to show your friends and family what you explored and learned. Safe Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

This is a great place to visit! Wonderful family outing. I want to come back so I can make my own glass object! Cool!

Thank cmf1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry M, Marketing Staff at The Corning Museum of Glass, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Thanks for your review! We have some great seasonal Make Your Own Glass projects waiting for you to start you own hand-crafted collection of glass. See you soon for a pumpkin, tumbler, snowman, or optic ornament!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Watched glass making show, and viewed many example of glass from centuries ago. Made me want to learn how to melt glass and make art.

Thank Rodburner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry M, Marketing Staff at The Corning Museum of Glass, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Thanks for visiting. We're glad to have inspired you! Check out our weekend, week-long, and 10 week programs for glassmaking. Or, check out the livestream videos if you want to see more demonstrations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Corning Museum of Glass also viewed

Corning, Finger Lakes
Corning, Finger Lakes
 

Been to The Corning Museum of Glass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing