We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Corning Museum of Glass
Book In Advance
More Info
$19.50*
and up
Corning Museum of Glass Admission
Ranked #1 of 20 things to do in Corning
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Located in the beautiful Finger Lakes region of upstate New York. Open 9am-5pm every day year-round. Open 9am-8pm Memorial Day to Labor Day. Offering unique opportunities to explore glass: Live glassmaking demonstrations, Make Your Own Glass (addtl fee), hands-on glass exhibits, and stunning glass art collections. See the newly opened (March 2015) Contemporary Art + Design Wing. Make Your Own Glass projects reservations available online. Kids and Teens (17 and under) Free. Adult admission tickets are $19.50 and are good for two consecutive days. Discount of 15% for AAA/CAA, Students, Military and 55+. Blue Star Museum- Free Admission for Active Military and family until Labor Day.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator
Bexley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

This museum was a real find. Passing through on the long drive between New York City and Niagra Falls, my expectations weren't high. However this was a really interesting experience with great interactive displays and demonstrations.

My 4 year old son loved having the opportunity to help make a glass holiday ornament - including blowing through the tube. The session lasted 20 minutes and was busy enough to keep his attention throughout. A word of warning - although finished items can be posted within the US or Canada - the museum won't send to other international addresses. We had to go back and collect the finished item the next day.

The demonstration on how to smash glass was good fun - and there were some good exhibits on the history of glass, refraction and the work that goes into meeting new technological challenges.

The price was a little expensive - although it did allow us to visit on a second day.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank BexleyStuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry M, Marketing Staff at Corning Museum of Glass, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for your visit and review! It sounds like you had a great time in our Innovation Center and Studio. I hope you also made some time for the Collections Gallery and Contemporary Galleries. We hope your glass piece has traveled safely in your luggage home to be enjoyed with your memories of your trip through Northeastern North America. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,676 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,123
    454
    81
    14
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wellsboro, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A nice place to visit.”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

This museum is very interesting. Took our 5yo and she got very board. There is so much to see. We love the make you own glass studio. The prices in the gift shop are quite expensive, but there are a few items that are fare.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank dawnk1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry M, Marketing Staff at Corning Museum of Glass, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are glad you found the Make Your Own Glass Workshop accessible for eveyone in your party, including the 5 year old. We'd love to see any images you have of your creations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“worth the visit”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

If you're in the area I would say that visiting this museum should be on your to do list. First and foremost because Corning is a great American company that has been a staple of most of our lives. The museum houses glass artifacts from all over the world. I'm fascinated by stolen and forged art, I never really thought about glass being faked but they have a display of original pieces next to replicated pieces sold as original to unsuspecting individuals. If you have time, watch the glass blowing demo. It's not a long show but it gives you the basics of how its done. The gift shop has a lot of interesting gifts, most of the items are made either at Corning or by local artists.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank WarmweatherHeather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry M, Marketing Staff at Corning Museum of Glass, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experiences at CMOG during your visit to The Finger Lakes. We appreciate your images as well. Thanks for recommending us as a To-Do; you're right about glass being such an integrated part of our lives. While none of what we make at The Corning Museum of Glass in our demonstrations is available for purchase (we are a non-profit organization and separate from Corning Inc), The International GlassMarket is extensive (18,000 square feet) and does sell some Made in Corning pieces as well as things made around the globe. Thanks again for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coal Township, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A complete blast!!!”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

The best part was the Make Your Own Glass Experience... Just loved it!! Oh and when you walk around the museum.. Please read what Optical Fiber is not just assume it is on your Christmas trees for decorations! The use is amazing at Corning;)

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank marlarkane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry M, Marketing Staff at Corning Museum of Glass, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for your visit and review. We'd love to see images of your Make Your Own Glass treasures. Some guests don't believe how well they come out compared to the samples, so we'd love for you to be a testament to the workshop experience! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great museum, can't wait to go back”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We went with older kids and we all had a great time. There is no charge for kids and teens, which is terrific, and the exhibits were entertaining and educational. We did have time for lunch in the very nice cafeteria, but didn't have time for the shows, so we need to see them when we go back.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mel_Karth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry M, Marketing Staff at Corning Museum of Glass, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for your visit. We look forward to having you return again and seeing the live demonstrations. We are open year-round and hope to see you again this summer, for our Glass Harvest Season, or even during our Glass Wonderland in the winter. If you'd like to try your hand at glassmaking, we encourage you to consider booking those experiences in advance online or over the phone. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Corning Museum of Glass also viewed

Watkins Glen, Finger Lakes
Corning, Finger Lakes
 
Corning, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Corning Museum of Glass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing