We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Corning Glass A must see”

Corning Museum of Glass
Book In Advance
More Info
$19.50*
and up
Corning Museum of Glass Admission
Ranked #1 of 20 things to do in Corning
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Located in the beautiful Finger Lakes region of upstate New York. Open 9am-5pm every day year-round. Open 9am-8pm Memorial Day to Labor Day. From children looking for an adventure to artists looking for inspiration, there is something for everyone at The Corning Museum of Glass. Browse 3500 years of glassmaking history in our collection galleries, then watch glass come to life during the live Hot Glass Demo. You’ll be inspired to experience the wonder of glassmaking for yourself during a Make Your Own Glass workshop (reservations available online). See the stunning Contemporary Art + Design Wing, which houses a 26,000-square-foot contemporary gallery and 500-seat Amphitheater Hot Shop for live glass demos and design sessions. Kids and Teens (17 and under) Free! Adult admission tickets are $19.50 and are good for two consecutive days. Discount of 15% for AAA/CAA, Students, Military and 55+. Blue Star Museum- Free Admission for Active Military and family Memorial Day to Labor Day.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Reviewed February 3, 2013

My wife and I spent about four hours touring the entire complex. Because of time constraints, the time was to short. It not only highlights the history of glass production, it has a unique museum of glass & pottery and also a fascinating display of the actual heating, molding of glass objects. They also have a sales area where you can purchase novelty items and corning cook ware.
The next visit will be days rather than hours.

Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry M, Marketing Staff at Corning Museum of Glass, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Thank you for your review. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip! Be sure to check out local accommodations that include CMOG admission with some of their overnight packages. We look forward to welcoming you back to see our new exhibits as well as our always exciting live demonstrations and world class collection. Thanks again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,811)
There are newer reviews for Corning Museum of Glass
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,335 - 2,339 of 2,811 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2013

The Corning Museum of Glass is an absolute must stop in southern tier New York. It is home to thousands of glass samples ranging from art to scientific and business. I'm always impressed by all the beautiful glassware artisans can create with tinted glasses. There are hands-on displays and glass working displays. You really have to see it to appreciate it all.

Thank Dennis O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry M, Marketing Staff at Corning Museum of Glass, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Thank you for your review! We are proud to have the most comprehensive glass collection in the world, spanning 35 centuries of glassmaking. We're even more proud to share it with guests from all over the world. Thanks again for taking the time to review and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Museum has rooms and rooms of the most beautiful glass. The kids were also able to do a workshop when we were there.

Thank kt4646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry M, Marketing Staff at Corning Museum of Glass, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Thank you for the visit and review. We are glad that your kids enjoyed the FREE admission as well as the available Make Your Own Glass worshops. We'd love to see pictures of their handmade glass treasures. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We visited the corning museum of glass Memorial day weekend in 2012. It changed alot since I was there last in 1968, and for the better. The museum is interesting, but a bit boring if you have young children along. There are things there you cannot possibly see anywhere else. If you are interested in the history of glass from different cultures, you will not be disappointed. The best part of this visit was the opportunity to take a class and make my own hand blown glass vase. The process was amazing and I would highly recommend this to anyone who really wants first hand experience at creating a beautiful keepsake. There is a cafeteria there with healthy foods in case you want to spend most of your day there. Prices were not too bad for a tourist stop. During glassfest, you take a bus to the gaffer district and walk the streets to shop among unusual crafts, stop in the little stores and shops for a great day of treasure hunting.

Thank HEARTNHORSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry M, Marketing Staff at Corning Museum of Glass, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Thank you for your review! It's great to hear that you attended one of the Gaffer District events. The Museum kicks off the Glassfest festivities with a Thursday night free event (called '2300 Degrees') with live music and great fun. It sounds like you made the vase available ONLY during Glassfest, which is always Memorial Day weekend. We're glad you took the free shuttle bus the short trip to downtown, which runs a continuous loop everyday of the year during museum hours. We are always adding to the one-of-a-kind collection and making one-of-a-kind glass everyday. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

This is a world class museum with a collection spanning 35 centuries. From functional pieces to contemporary art glass to ancient mosaics to technological applications, there is something for everyone to appreciate at the Corning Museum of Glass. You can watch live demonstrations or make your own pieces. They also have a terrific gift shop.

Thank TimeTraveler024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry M, Marketing Staff at Corning Museum of Glass, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

It sounds like your fall trip gave you the opportunity to enjoy our extensive glass collection (the most comprehensive in the world!), as well as the seasonal items on display. As you make year-round travel plans to the Finger Lakes, be sure to check out our website for new exhibition openings, unique demonstrations, and one-of-a-kind Make Your Own Glass projects. We look forward to seeing you again. Thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Corning Museum of Glass also viewed

Watkins Glen, Finger Lakes
Corning, Finger Lakes
 
Corning, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Corning Museum of Glass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing