We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Corning Museum of Glass

Corning Museum of Glass
Book In Advance
More Info
$19.50*
and up
Corning Museum of Glass Admission
Ranked #1 of 18 things to do in Corning
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Open 9am-5pm every day year-round. Open 9am-8pm Memorial Day to Labor Day. Offering unique opportunities to explore glass: Live glassmaking demonstrations, Make Your Own Glass (addtl fee), hands-on glass exhibits, and stunning glass art collections. See the newly opened (March 2015) Contemporary Art + Design Wing. Make Your Own Glass projects reservations available online. Kids and Teens (17 and under) Free.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Stairs / elevator
York Springs, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Interesting!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Corning Museum of Glass has convenient hours and is a wonderful way to spend a day. There was much more to see than we had time for. There are presentations all day long, and you can even make your own glass souvenir!

It has thousands of glass items on display and a great gift shop!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank cestsibon2me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry M, Marketing Staff at Corning Museum of Glass, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for your review! Yes,our collection covers 35 centuries of glassmaking history so there are LOTS of objects! It sounds like the map and demonstration schedule helped you to plan your time in the museum as well. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,501 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,984
    424
    76
    13
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
81 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Did not meet expectations”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were excited to make our own glass here. I found the people to be less than friendly in the museum. Also, the size of the things you can make are sooo small, we decided to not even waste our time.

The glass was less than impressive overall. Some nice pieces, but went through pretty quickly.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Milla3131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry M, Marketing Staff at Corning Museum of Glass, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for your review! It is always helpful for us to better understand what expectations our visitors have of our attraction. Hopefully you found the live demonstrations to be interesting, or perhaps you didn't have time to see them during your visit. It sounds like the display case of Make Your Own Glass options that you saw in our admissions lobby was helpful to you during your visit. Thanks again for taking the time to comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hancock
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

We spent over 9 hours over two days and would have loved to stay longer and see more demonstrations. There is so much to see. The captions / printed displays were very informational. The people doing the demonstrations did a wonderful job explaining what steps were taken in the process and why. We took a guided tour the first day then went through on our own reading about the displays and using the iPod audio tour. The audio tour was not much different than what we could read, except for the parent/child selections which were more child centered.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Doris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry M, Marketing Staff at Corning Museum of Glass, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for your review of our Corning attraction. It sounds like you took advantage of our 2 day admission and were able to try a variety of our art, history, and science offerings in that time. I will let the curators and the demonstrators know to keep up the great work. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ukiah, CA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fascinating collection o American Glass and chance to make your own!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

The Corning Glass Museum was a highlight of our stay in the Fingers Lake Region.The collection is beyond extensive. Displays are exceptional, great lighting to make the most of glass colors. The store is also great fun, bargains available! Then there are exhibits of modern glass art.
We made a glass flower at a very reasonable price with one to one assistance. Such an experience! We definitely recommend a visit to this great museum and a turn at making your own high quality souvenir!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank cameraladyplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry M, Marketing Staff at Corning Museum of Glass, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for your review; we are pleased to have been a part of your Finger Lakes itinerary! We are glad that you enjoyed the American section of our vast glass collection, and that you were able to enjoy both your shopping and hands-on experience. Thank you for the recommendation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
224 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Make sure you allow a whole day as there is a lot to see here. Displays, demonstrations & a shop. The displays of glass objects through the ages were awesome. Luckily the ticket allows you re-entry the following day also.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pearl65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry M, Marketing Staff at Corning Museum of Glass, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for your visit during your stay in the "Twin Tiers" of the PA Wilds and Finger Lakes of NY. We appreciate your review and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Corning Museum of Glass also viewed

Corning, Finger Lakes
Watkins Glen, Finger Lakes
 
Corning, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Corning Museum of Glass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing