We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”

The Rockwell Museum
Ranked #2 of 20 things to do in Corning
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Art about the american experience -- the people, land and ideas that shape America through the eyes of American artists. Connect and reflect on the story of America through the eyes of American artists. The diverse collection of original American masterpieces includes a mix of contemporary Native American art alongside traditional bronze sculptures, landscape paintings and other works that embody America and the migration west. Kids and teens 17 and under are always free to The Rockwell -- specialized Art Hunts and our Family Exploration Studio make our museum the perfect destination for all ages. The Rockwell is named for our founding collectors, Bob and Hertha Rockwell, local business owners who amassed an incredible collection of American art and artifacts.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children
Corona, New York
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

A small museum with beautiful art work, sculptures, pottery. We saw a display of National Geographic photos which were awesome.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank AlisonCorona_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    129
    45
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canadensis
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“August visit”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

This is a really interesting place! I enjoyed the artwork and photography displays. I got to participate in a guided tour. The leader was interesting and very knowledgeable.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank buteo2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“No it's not Norman Rockwell”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I loved this museum, eclectic exhibits, shown in different colored rooms. The staff were interesting. There was a wide range of paintings, photographs and sculptures, all with a western theme. Besides Remington and Russell, there were photos from Amsel Adams and Curtis.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank JanDietzgen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindenhurst, New York
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Very nice museum”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

My twin boys and I visited this museum after purchasing a combination ticket with the Corning Museum of Glass. There is a convenient free shuttle between the museums. The museum is not too large and can be viewed in under an hour. The exhibits are beautifully displayed and the historic building that houses the collection is lovely.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank singlemomoftwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, NY
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Interesting little Western Art Museum in the heart of the Finger Lakes”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

The Rockwell Museum is within what used to be a very interesting little local department store and has a really well-curated collection of Western Art. It is rather small, however.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank htwollin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rockwell Museum also viewed

 

Been to The Rockwell Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing