We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
The Rockwell Museum

I had been wanting to hit this museum up for awhile, as I had heard it was a Smithsonian Affiliate... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
youthgoes
,
Lewisburg, Pennsylvania
via mobile
Not a huge museum but cool stuff

It won't take long to go through the whole thing but they do have some really cool artwork... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
kerichmelik
,
Austin, Texas
Read all 464 reviews
  
Reviews (464)
Filter reviews
460 results
Traveler rating
234
157
59
8
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
234
157
59
8
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews american west american art native americans rockwell museum combo ticket city hall third floor scavenger hunt gift shop beautiful paintings old west nice collection permanent collection special exhibit less than an hour love art on display
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 460 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I had been wanting to hit this museum up for awhile, as I had heard it was a Smithsonian Affiliate, which it is. What we got was 3 full floors of galleries showcasing American art. The top floor has work by famous painters and sculptors like N.C. Wyeth, the second floor is Native American art and a children’s wing, and the bottom floor holds the gift shop and special exhibits, of which Audobon’s Quadroped artwork is currently on display until 1/19. Everyone welcome, all ages, and prices reasonable. Well worth a trip up, and a true jewel of the Southern Finger Lakes!

Thank youthgoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

It won't take long to go through the whole thing but they do have some really cool artwork, especially Native American art of the area. I really enjoyed it.

Thank kerichmelik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Until I went here I really didn't pay much attention to or understand American Art compared to the art that has its basis from the European masters. This was very educational. This is not really for children, they will become bored quickly.This is a great place to spend 2 to 3 hours.

Thank erodrig26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Took the shuttle over and back from the glass museum. Runs every 15 minutes or so. Didn’t wait long at either end. The Rockwell Museum is in an outstanding building of Richardsonian Romanesque style built in the 1890s. Used to be the Corning town hall. Inside it provides spacious galleries with high ceilings. Good light and pleasant vibe. Some great pieces of western art. Walk or elevate to the second floor and see Albert Bierstadt’s large dominant Mt. Whitney canvas. Spectacular! Other highlights include several paintings by Charles M. Russel - A Mix Up is especially good. Frederic Remington bronzes present include The Bronco Buster. A bronze horse from Deborah Butterfield is here. Even N.C. Wyeth is on board. Beyond the highlights the other art is OK but not that memorable. We spent about an hour here and that was time enough. All in all a pleasant experience and well worth it. Buy the combo ticket at the glass museum for maximum value.

1  Thank marko18745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Visited as a combo with the Corning. Glass Museum. This is a small museum - you can see it in less than an hour. Some nice Indian art and Remington sculptures. One of the special exhibits was of Audubon drawings which I really enjoyed. Small but nicer museum. Recommend for anyone who enjoys Americana art.

Thank MJ B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited the museum following The Wineglass Half Marathon. It was a special day at the museum. They hosted a post race party. It was absolutely lovely. The Western Art collection was amazing. We had children with us ages 2, 4, and 8 and all of them found things that interested and amazed them. It was a wonderful environment to introduce the children to Western Art. The kids also liked the area that was set up specifically with them in mind. Thank you Rockwell Museum for a wonderful time

Thank Lynn833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2018

This is a very nice museum dedicated to the Native Peoples. The building itself is lovely. It has a great gift store too!

1  Thank PemalaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018

This is a lovely exhibition of American art. It is beautifully presented and very interesting. What an amazing collection, well worth a visit and the shuttle from the Glass Museum was ideal

1  Thank Sage2724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2018 via mobile

This is a small museum but has many old paintings and many depicting Native American Indians and there life. There is an awesome display of very old guns and although I am no gun enthusiast I did enjoy seeing these original guns! This museum was peaceful and the staff was fantastic! Overall this was a nice leisurely activity that we combined with seeing the Corning Museum of Glass!

1  Thank Penny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2018

I would recommend getting tickets for both the Rockwell and Corning Glass at the same time, as the combined price is lower per person especially for those 55 or over. There is quite a contrast between the Corning Glass and Rockwell museum that is an affiliate of the Smithsonian Institute. But both are worth the visit if in or near Corning. The Rockwell is in the gorgeous old brick City Hall near Market Street and the Gaffer District. In a quiet setting, exhibits are offered that cover America through the works of various artists and craftsmen. You can view pictures of such luminaries as Thomas Mann or Albert Bierstadt and sculpture by Remington or more current artists. We enjoyed the visit and would recommend it to anyone who would like a peek at America represented in history as well as today.

3  Thank RMH64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews