We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smelly room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Corning
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Corning
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Unfortunately our stay here was very unpleasant. The window was open in our room when we arrived and we did not understand why until we closed it. The room had a terrible musty ordor. The bed was very uncomfortable. We had to request soap which was met with an attitude from the front desk. The room was dark and dingy. It was a very unpleasant stay. The only thing good was the breakfast the next morning.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Geraldine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent P, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Corning, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. I am sorry that your stay was not enjoyable. I will be addressing your comments with our housekeeping staff. What you experienced was not up to our standards and I will make sure this is corrected.

Kent Palmer
General Manager
Staybridge Suites
201 Townley Ave.
Corning, NY 14830
607-936-7800

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (390)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

248 - 254 of 390 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2013

This hotel was so nice with our kids! the rooms were so much more than I expected! kitchenette/living area separate from the bedroom & bathroom. could have slept more people as the couch was also a pull out bed. The pool/hot tub area was nice, the continental breakfast was terrific, and large with lots of options make your own waffles, fresh fruit, yogurt, bagels, doughnuts. Everything was clean and very friendly staff! Definitely recommend this for your stay!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Britt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent P, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Corning, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Thank you for writing such a wonderful review about your stay with us at the Staybridge Suites in Corning, NY. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay!

Kent Palmer
General Manager
Staybridge Suites
201 Townley Ave.
Corning, NY 14830
607-936-7800

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The rooms have useful kitchenettes for self catering so it is difficult to compare this place with a conventional hotel. The rooms are spacious and well furnished, the bathroom facilities good and the bed comfortable. Plenty of storage as many guests are staying long term. Nice garden with barbecue facilities and plenty of parking. Useful computer/office room and the main reception suitable for meeting friends or business colleagues. The pantry shop's insufficient range of food is really annoying - could be so much better. Breakfast buffet very basic indeed but guests will not starve. The strangest arrangement, for a European visitor, was to find no bar, no sales of beer or wine but free evening "social" meals Tues, Weds & Thursday where beer and wine was given out with meals free of charge. Beer could and would not be issued at any other time, which is trying for visitors without cars as the nearest bars and retail establishments are across the river, a mile away in town. European visitors also need to know that the supermarket does not sell wine either, the only retailer being a specialist shop in Market Street. Alcohol notwithstanding, there are few other reasonably priced rooms in town that can compete with the Staybridge, the Day's Inn being in process of closing down and the Radisson a bit pricey. Proximity to the Corning Museum of Glass is a terrific plus as well. Guests need also to ensure they opt for minimal or full housekeeping; was suprised not to have any over the weekend. Well insulated from noise from the Freeway. Good air-con system. Not brilliantly soundproof from neighbouring rooms. Pet dog in adjoining room very annoying. Will appeal as accommodation to those travelling with dogs. Swimming pool and sports facilities too.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the side away from the Freeway, at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlexandraKP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent P, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Corning, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Thank you for writing a review about your stay with us at the Staybridge Suites in Corning, NY. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay!

We are always looking new ideas for things to sell in the Pantry. If you would like to contact me with any suggestions, that would be greatly appreciated. One thing that we are working on, is to sell beer and wine in the Pantry. Hopefully we can get our licensing to sell in this area soon.

Kent Palmer
General Manager
Staybridge Suites
201 Townley Ave.
Corning, NY 14830
607-936-7800
sbscorningny@aol.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The hotel is a 5 minute walk from the Glass Museum, from where you get a free shuttle to the Rockwell museum and Gaffer district. Suites are clean, well equipped, well maintained and quiet. Free breakfast buffet is well stocked.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Holme_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent P, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Corning, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Thank you for the comments about your stay with us st the Staybridge Suites in Corning, NY. We are glad that you were able to enjoy the great museums that we have in town!

Kent Palmer
General Manager
Staybridge Suites
201 Townley Ave.
Corning, NY 14830
607-936-7800

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We always stay at Staybridge when we visit Corning Museum of Glass. The property is perfectly located at walking distance to the museum. The room is clean and reasonably priced. It also included buffet breakfast with a variety of choices and breakfast was good. A great place to stay especially if you have children.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DDC_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent P, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Corning, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Thanks for your great comments. We are glad that you enjoy our great breakfast along with all that corning has to offer. We look forward to helping you with your future stays in Corning!

Kent Palmer
General Manager
Staybridge Suites
201 Townley Ave.
Corning, NY 14830
607-936-7800

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

A good, clean place to stay, reasonably priced. There is a fab breakfast buffet and kitchen facilities if you can drag yourself away from Corning Museum of Glass (across the car park) long enough to enter domesticity! Helpful staff booked my cab from the airport for me. Only down side is 20mins walk to town through ugly car parks.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gwydir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent P, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Corning, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Thank you for your posting. It was our pleasure to help you with your taxi bookings. I know that the walk to downtown is not the prettiest, but the city is working hard to make improvements by adding some more parks to the area.

Kent Palmer
General Manager
Staybridge Suites
201 Townley Ave.
Corning, NY 14830
607-936-7800

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

My daughter and I spent weekend at this lovely hotel. Great pool and hot tub. Room was nice size with couch, desk, and kitchenette with fridge, dishwasher, and microwave. The hotel is walking distance to the welcome center for the museum of glass. The museum itself was within walking distance. Breakfast was good and served from 730-1030. Very nice place to stay. We plan to go back!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bibblets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent P, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Corning, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Thank you for your comments about your stay with us at the Staybridge Suites in Corning. I am glad you and your family were able to enjoy your stay in Corning. We look forward to having you come back!

Kent Palmer
General Manager
Staybridge Suites
201 Townley Ave.
Corning, NY 14830
607-936-7800

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corning
0.9 mi away
Radisson Hotel Corning
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 6 in Corning
288 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn Corning Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Corning/Painted Post
9.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Elmira / Corning
9.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Big Flats (Elmira)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites Corning? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Corning

Address: 201 Townley Ave, Corning, NY 14830-2000
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Corning
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Corning
Price Range: $128 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites Corning 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staybridge Suites Corning New York is an all suite hotel designed for flexibility and adaptability to meet your specific needs. Hotel features, studio, one bedroom and two bedroom/two bathroom suites all include fully equipped kitchens. Other amenities include on-site 24 hour convenience store, complimentary laundry facilities and self serve business center with complimentary high-speed Internet access, on site fitness center as well as complimentary use of local health club. There is a outdoor courtyard including sport court and gas grills. Our hotel offers a complimentary continental breakfast daily with hot item. On Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday Staybridge Suites hotels offer the 'Social' reception from 5:30PM-7:30PM with light snacks, beer, wine and sodas. Staybridge Suites Corning New York is located minutes from the Corning Inc. headquarters, it is only a short walk from the hotel to Corning's Museum of Glass and Corning's Gaffer District which offers a variety of restaurants, pubs and unique shopping experiences. You can also enjoy the remarkable Finger Lakes Region and wine country. The Watkins Glen International raceway is only a short drive away as well as more than 50 wineries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Staybridge Suites Corning reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Corning Hotel Corning
Corning Staybridge Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing