We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feel bad for the waitresses...”
Review of Holmes' Plate

Holmes' Plate
Ranked #25 of 67 Restaurants in Corning
Price range: $10 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Upscale Family-Friendly Pub awarded The Best Burger in Upstate NY by Life in the Finger Lakes Magazine, voted a destination restaurant by AAA of Western NY and The Best BBQ in the Southern Tier of NY State by Gannet/USA Today. 18 Craft/Micro Brewed Beer Draft System. 中国的菜单。
Corning, New York, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Feel bad for the waitresses...”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

I have never been big on going to this place, because for the food offered the prices seem truly ridiculous.

Burgers START at $11-12, and if you want fries? $15. If you want those fries loaded? $18. Those are NYC prices for damn good food. NOT appropriate pricing for a place that has disposable paper tablecloths and offers slow service and only alright food quality. The rest of the menu offerings are run of the mill bbq/american, but remain overpriced and nothing you can't get better at other places in town.

Overall, just bleah. Could be great, but the service is pretty bad, the prices are ridiculous, the food is only mediocre at best (often cold), and I just don't plan on going back unless there is really no other option. I do like the waitstaff and the beer selection but it's just not enough to get me to give it yet another shot.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank karmaliet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    67
    25
    17
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Corning, New York
Level 6 Contributor
345 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 580 helpful votes
“Fun Place”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Interesting restaurant decor with good food, a great location, and extraordinary people as owners. A nice place to stop when visiting a tremendously unique small city, Corning, New York.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank GoBills2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmira, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not Good At All”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

The food was burnt black but cold to the touch. Service was slow. The manager, Brendan, was rude and unprofessional. When I showed him my
Go to the Brewery, it'd just down the street.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Hugo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corning, New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wouldn't reccomend”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Found a used paper towel in our food, the food was cold and tasteless very disappointed with what we received for the price we paid! Will not go again

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Foodie2119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not Recommended”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We've dined at Holmes Plate twice in four years. The first time, during the summer months four years ago, three out of four of us... had decent meals, and one person wasn't able to eat their dinner, as it had a bad taste to it. We decided to give the restaurant another try recently and went there for lunch. Our experience was not good. We each ordered soup and salad. The salad was rather small and ordinary,( possibly a bagged salad) with the basic iceberg lettuce, tomato wedge, and cucumber slice. We then got our Crab Bisque soups, which had the most unusual sour taste. We couldn't get past a spoonful of it!! Our server apologized and offered to bring out other soups. Two of us got the Chicken Noodle soup, and the other person ordered the Creamy Tomato. To our disappointment, the Chicken Noodle soups had a very bad chemical taste to them. And the Creamy Tomato soup was even worse, with a sour milk taste. When our server returned to the table, we described how the soups tasted and how we were unable to eat them. We then asked for our check. Needless to say, we were disappointed not to be offered any compensation for the soups that we couldn't eat. We then paid our bill of $29.00 and left this restaurant and went someplace else nearby for a decent lunch. We have no plans to return, or recommend Holmes Plate.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank 2travel2travel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Holmes' Plate also viewed

Corning, Finger Lakes
 
Corning, Finger Lakes
Corning, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Holmes' Plate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing