We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, Barbecue and Vibe”
Review of Holmes' Plate

Holmes' Plate
Ranked #25 of 67 Restaurants in Corning
Price range: $10 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Upscale Family-Friendly Pub awarded The Best Burger in Upstate NY by Life in the Finger Lakes Magazine, voted a destination restaurant by AAA of Western NY and The Best BBQ in the Southern Tier of NY State by Gannet/USA Today. 18 Craft/Micro Brewed Beer Draft System. 中国的菜单。
Hammondsport, New York
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Food, Barbecue and Vibe”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We've dined at Holmes Plate in Corning, NY several times. The first few times we had burgers and appetizers, and they were excellent. This last time we had full meals. I had the BBQ Sampler, consisting of pulled pork, beef brisket, (spare) ribs and chicken. I'm retired from a meat store known as Chicago's Barbecue Headquarters, and found all the barbecue to be extremely well prepared and tasty. The cornbread was pretty much corn meal and butter - excellent. The cole slaw was just right. As an appetizer we had crab bisque, seasoned just right, and rich. My companion had the crab cake, which was crabby and delicious and with the perfect sauce to complement it. The owner was on hand and visited our table several times, making the meal all the more special. Prices were very reasonable. The vibe was homey and not stuffy at all. We plan on many return visits.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    67
    25
    17
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Newport, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyable”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Kevin, our server, was personable and interesting. The hamburger was just right. The thick potato chips were yummy. More desert choices would have made our meal perfect. Will definitely return to this cheerful place. We felt at home.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“OWNER IS A TYRANT, HORRIBLE FOOD, OPEN ARGUMENTS IN RESTAURANT”
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

All we can say is WOW!! I've never been soooo uncomfortable & embarrassed for an establishment or it's employees!! The owner, a gentleman (I use that term loosely) introduced himself as Brandon and was kind enough to greet us. We waited for 30 minutes without drinks or a waitress. The man finally came back, asked if we'd been helped & when we told him no (even though there were two other tables in there) YELLED & BERATED this poor girl to the point of tears. he proceed to call her offensive names until she cowered to our table. We ordered potato skins which literally were so overcooked/burnt, dry that they bent our forks. That was the most entertaining part of the experience. Open wall of windows are cool .... Flies EVERYWHERE not soooo much. Place is incredibly expensive. Really made us question the legitimacy of all the rave reviews.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank Leeuwenhoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Fun food and atmosphere”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Had a great filet mignon sandwich - priced right and stuffed with tender, juicy steak. Yum! My husband had their pulled pork special and practically licked the plate. Homemade potato chips were great, too. Excellent service. Menu to please everyone. Old building but not dark and dingy. Owner has effectively created a fun place!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GinMcG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, VA
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“We wanted to give it 4 stars, but.....”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We really wanted to love this place....but it just didn't live up to anything. We were served by the Manager, who told us that 2 of his staff had just walked out (bad omen at the start!). He advised that BBQ is their specialty, but I ordered it & it didn't compare to Slammin' Jammin' Southern Smoked BBQ we had the previous night. Rest of our group ordered burgers, all of which were overcooked and/or incorrectly prepared in some fashion or the other. One person ordered iced tea, which had such a funky taste that he threw it away and requested soda.

The place has lots of character, with window/doors that slide open to the street. The Manager was personable, but shared a little TMI. We wanted to love it, but in the end neither the food nor the experience lived up to TripAdvisor ratings that took us there in the first place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank StuckNCowTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Holmes' Plate also viewed

Corning, Finger Lakes
 
Corning, Finger Lakes
Corning, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Holmes' Plate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing