We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We keep coming back :-)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holmes' Plate

Holmes' Plate
Ranked #21 of 67 Restaurants in Corning
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Gastropub, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Upscale Family-Friendly Pub awarded The Best Burger in Upstate NY by Life in the Finger Lakes Magazine, voted a destination restaurant by AAA of Western NY and The Best BBQ in the Southern Tier of NY State by Gannet/USA Today. 18 Craft/Micro Brewed Beer Draft System. 中国的菜单。
Lancaster, PA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“We keep coming back :-)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Our annual summer trips to the finger lakes always include stopping at Holme's Plate 54. This weekend's meal included burgers, perfect sweet potato fries, distinctive nachos and Brendan's famous ribs to go. All the food is prepared fresh from scratch and was cooked as requested - the burgers and fries were exceptional. The berry slushies (wine based) are a fabulous and refreshing treat. New pastry chef this year = new super tasty desserts. We shared the house specialty bread pudding - wow.

Service was quick, accurate and the atmosphere is always friendly. We go back every summer on multiple trips and are always rewarded with a great meal.

Holmes Plate 54 is locally owned and just received the ROBERT J. UPLINGER Distinguished Service Award from the NY Lions Club (covers the entire state including NYC) for their 5 years of Feed the Need - an event that offers Thanksgiving Dinner to those in need both in house and delivered. I cannot think of a better reason to patronize a local business.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank slbdesigner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    65
    25
    17
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
upstate, NY
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not a great visit to 54”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Waitress was more interested in telling us where the bathrooms were than the specials. (we did not even ask about bathrooms!) Burgers were overdone ..... bacon forgotten from bacon + cheese burger. Chips were good. Milkshake was milk and strawberry flavoring --- too watery! Pricey for burgers and fries that were sub-quality! I was here twice last year and enjoyed the barbecue. We heard the burgers were good so I wanted to try... big mistake

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kals1gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corning, New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Agree with the "Bad food and poor management review!!!!"...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

The ambiance of the open window draws you in but the food is mediocre at best. Avoid the owner at all costs, as he goes out of his way to demean the customers. A business run like this would never survive in a town with more competition.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank customer d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coopersburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
151 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Don't skip the fries!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stopped here intending for my husband to just get a beer and move on to a different place for dinner, but ran into the owner at the bar. He told us how they smoked their own meats and made everything in house. We did go across the street to the brew pub for a second beer but came back for dinner.

We decided to share the Smoked BBQ sampler platter and were able to swap the baked beans for french fries. This allowed us to try the barbequed beef, pulled pork, ribs and a chicken leg along with the fries, tossed salad, coleslaw and homemade cornbread. With the exception of the chicken, everything was just delicious. To be fair, the chicken may have been good, but in comparison with everything else it just wasn't over the top worth the calories. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank toobusytoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
303 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Mediocre at best”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

First off our menus didn't agree on prices. My husband ordered the briscuit platter no smoky flavor to the meat, canned beans, jiffy mix cornbread and bland coleslaw. All for the bargain price of $18 not a good deal at all. I ordered a filet sandwich with sweet potato chips the waitress suggested that I try honey for a dollar up charge to which I said ok and then of course no honey again this was not a cheap sandwich. I do think I will cross this place off my lists of places to eat when in Corning.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank redhare54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Holmes' Plate also viewed

Corning, Finger Lakes
Corning, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Holmes' Plate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing