We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK”
Review of Holmes' Plate

Holmes' Plate
Ranked #27 of 67 Restaurants in Corning
Price range: $10 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Upscale Family-Friendly Pub awarded The Best Burger in Upstate NY by Life in the Finger Lakes Magazine, voted a destination restaurant by AAA of Western NY and The Best BBQ in the Southern Tier of NY State by Gannet/USA Today. 18 Craft/Micro Brewed Beer Draft System. 中国的菜单。
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
114 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“OK”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I see the reviews of this place range all over the place. That was kind of my reaction. Things were just a little uneven in food and service. Everyone was cheerful and polite and some of out dishes were great; others not so much.

Generally OK food (burgers, wraps, pulled pork,,,, check their web site), and a nice bar decor. I would not avoid them next time I'm in Corning, but I think I might try some place else.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HimselfNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    65
    25
    17
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
827 reviews
373 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 337 helpful votes
“Great Burgers and Beer”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Holmes' Plate is a bar and restaurant on Market Street in Corning. I was impressed by the draft beer selection which included Dogfish Head 90 Minute IPA, a top notch beer that I rarely find in draft. The burgers are hand made with excellent accompaniments. We enjoyed the blue cheese and bacon burger which was grilled properly to medium rare as requested and served on a very good bun. Sweet potato fries were also clearly hand made. The waitress offered us honey to go with the sweet potato fries but we enjoyed them just lightly salted. Service was friendly and responsive. The atmosphere is basic bar. Prices are quite reasonable given the quality. Definitely a great place for burgers and beer.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank areview28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finger Lakes, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Loved it, everything great, music and trivia too, bonus”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We went to Holmes plate Feb. 2 , late lunch. We had the BBQ for 2 and soup and chili. I had the crab soup it was very tasty,my husband had the chili , it was more than enough and I think he realized he wouldn't be able to finish his dinner because the chili was huge. We also had the dinner for two which came with a nice fresh salad. The dinner arrived and it was a huge bbq whole chicken , delicious corn bread, tasty fries, with TWO side, yummy cole slaw and tasty baked beans. You would think you were down south and not in Corning, NY. The only thing I think needs improving is the skin on the bbq should be crispy. Go there you won't be dissapointed.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank uniqueshopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corning, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good lunch specials”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

I always feel like the food here is a little over priced with the exception of the lunch specials. They usually have a $5.10 ;lunch special and it's usually good. Their live music is good sometimes as well. Either way, they do a good business and the staff is friendly.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank KarateMom16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“no thanks”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

mediocre food. waitress didnt know beers. no toilet paper in either bathroom stall. rip off on beer prices.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank tallteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Holmes' Plate also viewed

Corning, Finger Lakes
 
Corning, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Holmes' Plate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing