We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food/good portions”
Review of Mama's

Mama's
Ranked #1 of 35 Restaurants in Copiague
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Mama's strives to give you the best possible food and service. We are committed to quality, value, and your complete satisfaction. Every day we start fresh by making our soups, salad dressings, and sauces from scratch. We will always do our best to accommodate special request to ensure we prepare your meal just the way you like it.
Long Island, NY
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good food/good portions”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

The food was very fresh, very good, and portions were large. Whether you get pasta or fish, each meal is authentic and delicious. Staff was pleasant and friendly, prices were reasonable. Desserts were also very fresh and portions large.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rockyfitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    28
    8
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bay Shore, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food/good portions”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

This restaurant surprises you. It's not fancy but the food is very good and the portions are good sized. Staff was pleasant and attentive. Only drank beer so I can not comment on the drinks/bar service. Desserts were fresh as well.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carmine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melville, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not good!!!”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

I just ordered take out and was disappointed at what I ordered. I ordered 2 chopped salads and two soups for $39.00. The salads were not chopped and just 4 pieces of mozzarella on it with a couple other things. Definitely not worth the money. When I called to complain about the salads the manager told me to bring them in. I leave a good 20 min away. I made a special trip to Mama's because in the past the food was good. I was not spending another 45 min in the car. If this is the customer service they are providing I will never go back nor will I recommend them to anyone. In fact I will pass along my experience to the people I know that do go there.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindenhurst, New York
Level 6 Contributor
585 reviews
308 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Gold Standard”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Well, what can be said when describing your favorite Pizza Joint? Hard to be impartial... I judge pizza a few ways, if I'm close enough to bring it home and lucky enough to have extra- the big test is the cold/ next day test. Very few pizzas stand up to this test. While most pizza is pretty fine hot and fresh, only real "food" pizza is good enough to grab in the morning right out of the box or fridge. By food pizza I mean a really bread like crust and enough of everything else that matters to make it worth having. By bread like I don't mean thick. It's all about complexity of the dough. Flour and water gives up quick. Mama's pie is actually better cold sometimes. My all time fave is the Grandma pie with meat. There's always three or four left over and by the next day they're gone. They also have so many wild specialty pies you could go crazy in there! I just saw a pie with ravioli on it. I'll be back!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Iratdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

My family and friends have been coming here for years. The food really is good. The fresh garlic knots are amazing. The chicken francese, one of our favorites, is delicious. Fettuccini alfredo is great too. The fried calamari can be hit or miss.
I would definitely recommend this restaurant if you happen to be in the area. It is located in a strip mall, which isn't necessarily appealing, but inside is very nicely decorated.
The prices might be a little high, but they used to have special nights. For example Wednesday used to be pasta night with great prices. I'm pretty sure they still do them. If you do go on those nights be warned there was always a wait.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 325Summer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama's also viewed

Lindenhurst, Long Island
Copiague, Long Island
 
Copiague, Long Island
Copiague, Long Island
 
Copiague, Long Island
 

Been to Mama's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing