We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Worst!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Days Inn Long Island/Copiague
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Copiague
Reviewed February 24, 2010

I do a lot of business traveling, at about 3 times per week. Two days ago, I checked in to Days Inn at Copiague, Long Island. It's the worst hotel that I had for the business trips.
First of all, I requested a smoke-free room. The first room I checked in had a strong cigarette odor. I called the front desk clerk. He was very helpful, came right away, and switched me to another room. The second room was not any better. After I stayed for about 15 minutes, the cigarette odor wrapped my nose, made me very uncomfortable. Being too tired, I did not bother to request to change room again.
Then, the room temperature was not warm at all. Being in the dead winter and slight sick, I had to turn the heater all the way up in order to keep the room at around 65F. (I was guessing since there was no thermometer in the room.) The heater had to work very hard, and it's “on” almost all the time. The noise of the heater was very loud and made me not be able to have a quite sleep.
Then, there was no hot water at around 11:30 PM. I could not take shower with only lukewarm water in the cold bath room. (The bath room had a very powerful fen which came with the light switch; it made the bathroom much colder.) In the bath room, there was only a sink with no counter! (I could not even place a cup by the sink when brushing my teeth.) No towel hanger at all in the bathroom! The towel rack was located outside the bathroom where the clothes rack was supposed to be. So, every time when I needed to use the towels, I had to go out of bath room. There were no clothes hangers at all! All my shirt, pants and coat had to put on top of my suitcase. My toiletries had to put on the top of the closet outside the bathroom. I had to walk back and forth to get anything from my toiletry bag.
I reserved a king bed, which costs a little more. I thought I could have at least a good night sleep. Only to find out there was a thick plastic sheet cover the mattress. The thin sheet on top of the mattress made plastic sheet squeeze noise and made me very uncomfortable. The three flimsy pillows were even more terribly uncomfortable.
The electrical outlet on top of the cabinet was plugged by the wall air conditioning/heating unit. So, I had to place the coffee maker on the floor in order to plug to the nearest outlet to make coffee. (No tea bags were in the room).
Don’t even mention facial tissues. – None in the room. The toilet paper had only few sheets left in the roll, no spare roll was in the room, so I had to be very cautious before I used any toilet paper to avoid running out of papers during the night.
The next morning, I even found a cigarette burnt hole in the bed spread.
A word of caution! - If you are on business trip, never choose this horrible hotel. – It will ruin your trip.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gcchiang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (193)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

189 - 193 of 193 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2009

I was on Long Island to attend a funeral and this hotel was very close to the location where it was held. There weren't too many reviews about it and I was concerned because the price was almost "too competitive" compared to other properties in the area. Here's the scoop: if what you want is clean, modern, friendly and simple this is the place. This isn't a resort hotel, but it does the job. Since it's just off Sunrise Highway and just east of the Sunrise Mall, there are many options for eating, etc. I would return again and would definitely recommend it to a friend.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sitges97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2009

I had to attend a funeral nearby, so I chose the Days Inn in Copiague based on several recommendations. The hotel was hard to find, even for a local cabbie. It's not in an area that I'd recommend walking around at night. Lots of sketchy looking characters, a very low rent area to be sure.

The staff were very nice, and I was one of 2 or 3 people staying at the hotel on a Monday night in December. The room was clean, except for something yucky (think dried blood) that popped out when I discarded the bed cover. The heat wasn't on, so the room was freezing cold. The heat is provided by the AC unit, so you end up with cheap car type of heating, either freezing cold or brutally hot.

The shower was a trickle, the flat screen TV got very poor reception, and the walls were paper thin. Luckily I had no neighbors. In the morning, there was a great deal of street and traffic noise.

Skip this hotel. You can do better for $100.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank unbeliever08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2009

this was a very nice hotel since its practically brand new. It's always nice to feel like I'm getting the room drity, not the other way around! The only downside is that the the second (out of 2) that I was here, I realized the walls were paper thin. I could here every word the neighbors were saying and I recognized the movie they were watching. I'm wondering if it was just that room, because in the first room, I couldn't hear a thing. I slept like a baby both nights, and I'm a very light sleeper. Beds are great, breakfast was good and there was good fruit. I definitily recommend this place for a comfy stay!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank junkmailDenver_Co
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daysinnliny, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Long Island/Copiague, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Copiague
2.7 mi away
Best Western Bar Harbour Inn
Best Western Bar Harbour Inn
#1 of 1 in Massapequa Park
399 reviews
5.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - Long Island - Melville
9.5 mi away
Best Western Woodbury Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Days Inn Hicksville Long Island
2.9 mi away
Courtyard Republic Airport Long Island/Farmingdale
11.7 mi away
Residence Inn Long Island Islip/Courthouse Complex
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Long Island/Copiague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Long Island/Copiague

Address: 10 34th St, Copiague, NY 11726-1820
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Copiague
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Copiague
Price Range: $97 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Long Island/Copiague 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new property. Very comfortable beds, elegant all granite bathrooms design.Complimentary Breakfast, free wireless in all rooms. 32 inch LCD with premium movie channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Days Inn Long Island/Copiague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Long Island/Copiague Hotel Copiague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing