We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weirdest campground I have ever experienced”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Copake Falls
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Taconic State Park Campgrounds
New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Weirdest campground I have ever experienced”
Reviewed August 16, 2010

After researching many campgrounds, we finally decided on Copake Falls. It was short notice, so most campgrounds were booked for the weekend, but this was one of the few with availability. That should have been my first clue....
Our location was in B section, where we could not believe how close the campsites are to each other - with hardly any trees in between.They took out all the shrubs and flowers/weeds and only a few tall trees are still standing. Absolutely no privacy between sites. I think the A section is even worse...The campsites are also on a hill with no level ground, so that your tables/chairs and tents are all on a slant! My young son fell backwards in his chair on a large root and really hurt himself. The table was then also on a slant and all foods, cups kept sliding down... Needless to say, cooking on a slant is a real pleasure and I won't even mention the sleeping in the tents!
When we awoke the next morning i discovered tons of Daddy-Longleg spiders above me!! Thankfully they were on the outside of the tent, but still a disgusting feeling. My son counted and there 27 of them on the roof of our tent. The bathrooms were overrun with them, but then they mixed in well with all the rust on the walls. Those bathrooms are in desperate need of renovation. The bathrooms and showers down below are pretty new and clean and work very well.
I read one review which said the employees were unfriendly and not helplful. We had the complete opposite experience. They were very helpful and offered advice and when I lost my key to the lugagge carrier on the roof, the ranger helped us with drilling the lock and getting us tools. The lifeguards were also very friendly.
The lake is very cool, but for those with young kids, there is no wading into the lake. There is a dock and then a jump or dive into 8 feet of water.... There is a wading pool no more than 1 1/2 feet deep, for real little kids, but nothing inbetween for the rest. That wasn't a problem for us, but I can see it being somewhat of a problem for others.
The hike to BASH BISH Falls was great, but with so many other great campgrounds in NY State, I would not stay here again....

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Essenrep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    11
    4
    8
    3
See reviews for
15
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2010

We spent the July 4th weekend at Taconic SP. I was a little unsure of what to expect since it was a holiday weekend. The park was basically packed, but for the most part, all quiet hours were observed. I can see how one might feel cramped in the A or B areas, as the sites seem to be a bit closer with less natural separation. However, we stayed in the C loop, which seemed a bit quieter. We are tent campers and not all sites in C seem like a good fit for tent camping...some have a bit of gravel, but ours (#89) was nice. My one complaint about our site is that it was next to the bathroom, so we had a lot of foot traffic do to that.

The Park has several nice trails of varying difficulty. We hiked South Taconic Trail up to Sunset Rock and then took the Cedar Brook Trail back down for a total of about 4.5 miles. A nice hike with good views. We also drove down Rt 22 about 10 minutes and climbed up Brace Mtn. The trail itself is about 1.7 miles one way, but is difficult and has some rock scrambles. The views are nice from the top. We got a pamphlet from the Park booth describing several hikes, including the ones we did. Just a note if you're starting the hike within the park. We started on the yellow trail, which is marked in the pamphlet as between sites D98 and D100, however it actually begins a few sites further up. The Blue Trail starts at D98.

There is a short section of the Harlem Valley Rail Trail that starts at the park. Right now it's only about 4 miles of trail. It's nice, but will be even nicer once it has been expanded. We rode the existing trail and found a suggested ride on the web that took us on some of the local county routes. A nice ride and the few cars that passed us gave us lots of space.

In general, this could be a crowded park. It's relatively close to the city, and probably attracts a lot of cityfolk on the weekend. However, we found our fellow campers to be courteous and mostly quiet. There are always a few.....Lots of great trails and a nice area in which do take a longer bike ride. My one complaint about the park is the bathrooms. I grew up camping in state parks all over the east coast. The bathrooms weren't horrible, but I felt like the floors could have used a good hosing down.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Kats319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2009

Visit the museums, two in the walking area!!!! There is plenty to do in the local area too,visited the Hudson area with the antiques on Warren Street about a 25 minute ride. There is awonderful tea shop called Harney Tea where you can sample two teas and also shop tea from all over the world. Great !!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jadnewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
2 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2009

We went up to Taconic State Park to camp in mid-july 2009. Saturday night, it was fully reserved, no space left. There were so many people around, it was like being back in Manhattan. The swimming pond was teeming with people. All day & evening, blaring stereo systems, car alarms, and shreiking kids made for endless noise.

At night, a big group of campers walked over to our relatively less-crowded corner of the campground and set up a portable movie screen, plugged their digital projector into the bathroom electrical socket via a 200-foot long extension cord, and proceeded to play a movie, at top volume with booming subwoofers. They started it at 9:15 PM and clearly were not going to be done by the 10 PM noise curfew. We had to go over there around 10:15 and ask them to please turn it off, as it's supposed to be quiet hours. At least they agreed without making a fuss, though we heard a lot of grumbling, and walked back to their own camping area.

Elsewhere in the park, people continued to shout and scream, set off car alarms, and blare music for hours into the night. Then in the morning, kids were shreiking by 7 AM, and stereos were back at full blast by 8 AM.

If you like a big party atmosphere, and don't mind it being noisy til about 2 AM, then this is your park. But if you are looking to actually connect with nature and enjoy some peace & quiet, or expect your neighbors to be a bit considerate about their noise levels and screaming kids, then stay away. (At least on Sunday night it emptied out and was much quieter.) We plan to do wilderness backpacking next time, and will never set foot in a state park again -- at least not one within 2 hours of NYC -- on a summer weekend.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brooklyncamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Copake Falls hotels

Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2009

This is really tough because the park itself is a beautiful place but I will never go back. It's unfortunate but from the first time I called until the day we left most of the employees were rude and belittling. Unfortunately it all had to do with attitude-- and it seemed to be universal. We think we were basically flagged because are a relatively young group and even though we respected the space and all the people we came in contact with, the favor was not returned.

I camp a lot and have never encountered such a rude bunch. There is one park employee in particular that we are in the process of making a formal complaint against.

Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Nirol_Semaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2007

Just came back from camping at Taconic State Park. Like it very much, nicely maintance campground with clean bath and shower, many hiking trails for different levels, Bash Bish Falls is beautiful with just a short hike (3/4 -1.5 miles depends on where you start). A nice canpground for family with children.

Helpful?
8 Thank Babooi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Copake Falls
10.5 mi away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#1 of 1 in Salisbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
6.3 mi away
Windflower Inn
Windflower Inn
#2 of 12 in Great Barrington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
4.4 mi away
Holiday House Motel
Holiday House Motel
#2 of 2 in Hillsdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Egremont Village Inn
The Egremont Village Inn
#1 of 1 in South Egremont
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Taconic State Park Campgrounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taconic State Park Campgrounds

Property: Taconic State Park Campgrounds
Address: 344, P.O. Box 100, Copake Falls, NY 12517-0100
Location: United States > New York > Copake Falls
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Copake Falls
Number of rooms: 96
Also Known As:
Taconic State Park Campgrounds Hotel Copake Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing