We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Speeding golf carts”
Review of Copake KOA

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Copake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Copake KOA
Reviewed August 12, 2013

My family and a few friends stayed the weekend at this koa and we had a great time. The bathrooms were mostly clean and looked brand new. The shower while water saving type worked well once you get the hang of leaning on the button so often to make the water flow. We did have a fair amount of little bugs in the Pool as others have complained about. But the pool skimmer was handy and i just made a few passes and presto bugs gone. Otherwise the pool was very refreshing. The only complaint I had was the speeding golf carts. These appeared to be driven by underage drivers or newly permitted drivers. Although speed limit was 5mph I estimated a15-20mph. With lots of small children around this concerned me. They also dtove right onto the basket ball court where my kids were playing. Now dont get me wrong i dont mind kids driving golf carts but they should be respectful of property and others. The other eyebrow raising issue I had was during Saturday nights band peeformance. I saw a man wearing a yellow shirt with the word security written on the back. He was driving a golf cart around with what appeared to be a beer in a coozee. I couldnt believe it. I mean a coors light can is a bit tall for a coozee. A least a budweiser would be covered. Other than that great place.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twerpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopakeKOA, Owner at Copake KOA, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Only our seasonal campers have golf carts and their site number is displayed on the cart. The golf cart speeder was identified and has lost his driving privileges.
Although we can understand why you might have thought a yellow shirt was a KOA employee since all KOA staff does wear yellow, None of our staff has a shirt that says security.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 163 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2013

We came as part of a small family reunion. Some of the group stayed last year and were thrilled about the heated pool. Since this is a cooler August, we intended to spend a lot of time in the warm pool. It was not heated and quite cold. The kids were shivering and had to get out not long after getting in. It was warm last year so we are not sure why it wasn't this year.

The activity schedule is packed even during the week. I was disappointed that those under 5 couldn't participate in the craft. I would think if a parent is there to supervise the small pieces, glue, etc. it should be okay.

Those in the office didn't seem overly personable. No hellos and seemed a little annoyed when I was in there and I only went in about 3 times at various times.

Overall, the grounds are well kept, nice playground, pool, activity schedule but the atmosphere was just kind of blah. I don't know if we want to return for next years reunion.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaryT03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopakeKOA, Owner at Copake KOA, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

Our pool heater is set to heat the pool to 80 degrees. Last summer the water was much warmer with help of mother nature. Children under five have the option of coloring something while the older children participate in the free craft. We do not charge for children camping with us that are under five years old.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Over the years we have stayed at many campgrounds all over New York.
Last weekend we had the pleasure of staying at the Copake KOA.
We brought our two grandsons for an adventure.
The cabin we rented was spotless and comfy.
The grounds are just as nice. Pool, game room,store,laundry room,
The staff escorted us to the cabin showed us how everything works and asked us if we had any questions. We rented bikes, swam in the spotless pool and enjoyed a dj Saturday night. There is an abundance of staff people to wait on your every need.
The area has many natural attractions including Bash Bish Falls ( ten minutes away ) We played in the water, in the falls and in the stream for hours. The trial that runs along side is an easy walk for young and old......( us and grandsons)
We have traveled the world but nowhere touches the natural beauty that upstate New York has around every corner. If your going to be camping in the area you MUST stay here. Don't waist your time looking around this IS the place....


Liam & Colleen
New York

Room Tip: Bash Bish falls is a must see........
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fglawihio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopakeKOA, Owner at Copake KOA, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Thank you for sharing that you had such a good time with us. Your compliments are greatly appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

My wife and I never camp and we have to tell you it was the best time . We stayed in a cabin with a full bath . The cabin was very clean and had everything we needed . ( The wife has been in the cleaning business for 28 years and when she says it clean it is .) The pool was very nice / the campground very nice as well as the staff . We will be coming back as the list of events is so good with bands DJ's and a lot more. The staff in the store was very nice to talk to . Another thing that was nice after you checked in they did not forget you . A few times as they went by they would stop and make sure everything was fine. We would like to thank them for what was a very nice time .

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ernie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopakeKOA, Owner at Copake KOA, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Our Housekeeping and Maintenance Staff works very hard to keep the campground clean. They were all smiles when we shared your review with them. We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Just got back yesterday from Copake KOA. This was our first trip to this campground, and we are returning this weekend. We had a great time despite the heat. Our campsite was very spacious, the facilities were very clean as was the store. The staff could not have been nicer. The country band Skeeter Creek played Saturday night and they were great. The pool was very nice, but wish it was a bit bigger. We're looking forward to our next weekend there.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Robert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopakeKOA, Owner at Copake KOA, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

We love Skeeter Creek too! They are playing at our park next year on Saturday July 19th, 2014 and Saturday August 16th, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This was our first time staying in a campground and we did not know what to expect. We stayed in a cabin. The cabin sleeps four, with a queen bed and a set of bunk beds. Our cabin had a full bathroom. The cabin also had a small fridge and microwave, along with a table and seating for four. Though not extremely spacious, the cabin was very clean and also had a charcoal grill in the front. The campgrounds as a whole were also quite clean and the staff was friendly.

The registration area doubles as a general store and sells anything you could need or that you may have forgotten to bring. There is a very nice pool and there are two tennis courts, a volleyball court and a basketball court. There were also several children riding their bikes on the campgrounds.

Overall, I would return, although I do have three suggestions 1. WiFi needs to be improved. It is complimentary, but the signal is quite weak. Also, the campground limits the number of devices that can use WiFi at one time (per family). This is not really realistic in 2013, when almost everyone uses a smart phone and accesses the internet. 2. The queen bed in the cabin should be replaced with a queen sleeper sofa. This would double the walking space in the cabin and provide additional seating during the day. 3. Finally, a separate sink area should be added next to the microwave. Although there is a general dish-washing area at the campgrounds, it would be very convenient to have a second sink (outside of the bathroom).

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FourGreatKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopakeKOA, Owner at Copake KOA, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Glad you enjoyed your stay in one of our Cabins. We do limit the number of Wi-Fi codes as we know our service gets overloaded and therefore slow when we are very busy. In our rural area there are not a lot of options for Bulk Wi-Fi service. We are currently investigating to find out what other possible Wi-Fi options might be available in our area for next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Decided to take the 4th of July weekend with the family here since it is a short drive from where we live. First off, the campsites are much larger than other KOA's we've stayed at. With a 3yr old and her 5yr old cousin the space was good to have. For a holiday weekend it seemed very busy in light of the extremely hot temperatures there were several people that wanted to go swimming. Considering this to be one of the only salt water pools in the state the pool hours are not open early and only open until 7pm. As I was told from a staff member it was due to the treatment that is needed, but a refreshing swim later in the evening would be nice during the hot days.

A downside is the store closes early and does not have a small snack bar or ice cream stand that I think would be a hit considering this place is a bit farther from downtown. The playground does not seem sturdy and some of the play equipment seems a bit dangerous for smaller children if they are not anchored in the ground or wobbly.
And the activities for the kids seem a bit to structured, if your 3 minutes late to the crafts don't expect to get in because when it's 10:30 the door closes and they will turn you away. Sorry!

One thing is the fireworks were definitely worth the trip. They did a great job for a smaller KOA that I have stayed at but some minor things to improve. I would stay here again all things aside.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank A C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopakeKOA, Owner at Copake KOA, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

We do offer scheduled activities every weekend all season long and daily activities in the summer months. Our free morning craft begins at 10am daily and does not require advance sign up. Holidays are especially busy so sometimes we do need to turn away campers arriving more than 15 minutes late.
We have many other things to do such as tennis, basketball, horseshoes, and volleyball that can be done on your own at anytime. Store and reservations hours are from 8am to 8pm daily. We do sell ice cream in the store as well as other snacks.
Our open pool hours are at a least 11am to 7pm daily. Most days opening by 10am.
Our playground is inspected at least three times a season by various outside agencies as well as our staff checks on all the equipment to make sure it is safe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Copake
14.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Gre...
#2 of 10 in Great Barrington
307 reviews
11.1 mi away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#1 of 1 in Salisbury
87 reviews
13.1 mi away
Days Inn Great Barrington
Days Inn Great Barrington
#5 of 10 in Great Barrington
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Changing Times - Boutique Country B&B
10.3 mi away
Windflower Inn
Windflower Inn
#1 of 12 in Great Barrington
172 reviews
12.1 mi away
Interlaken Inn
Interlaken Inn
#1 of 1 in Lakeville
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copake KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copake KOA

Address: 2236 County Route 7, Copake, NY 12516-1417
Location: United States > New York > Copake
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Copake
Price Range: $45 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Camping Retreat where three states meet - NY, MA and CT. Wherever you are, we're not far from your front door. We are open every season from Mother's Day weekend to Columbus Day weekend, but we welcome advance reservations anytime! We are located in Columbia County two hours from New York City. Enjoy our themed weekends with corresponding themed fun and daily activities (in the months of July and August)! Our campground provides many amenities with sports fields, mini golf, game room, swimming pool, cable TV, wi-fi and 30/50 amp full hook rv sites! Leave the tent at home and rent one of our Deluxe Cabins (a bathroom inside!) Or our one room cabins tucked in the woods near our spotlessly clean bathhouse! With a park that is rated in the top 10% of all campgrounds in the United States by KOA and Trailer Life you will be guaranteed to have a super great time. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing