We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Campground... Wonderful Stay”
Review of Copake KOA

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Copake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Copake KOA
Certificate of Excellence
New York, USA
Level Contributor
122 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great Campground... Wonderful Stay”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This was our first time staying in a campground and we did not know what to expect. We stayed in a cabin. The cabin sleeps four, with a queen bed and a set of bunk beds. Our cabin had a full bathroom. The cabin also had a small fridge and microwave, along with a table and seating for four. Though not extremely spacious, the cabin was very clean and also had a charcoal grill in the front. The campgrounds as a whole were also quite clean and the staff was friendly.

The registration area doubles as a general store and sells anything you could need or that you may have forgotten to bring. There is a very nice pool and there are two tennis courts, a volleyball court and a basketball court. There were also several children riding their bikes on the campgrounds.

Overall, I would return, although I do have three suggestions 1. WiFi needs to be improved. It is complimentary, but the signal is quite weak. Also, the campground limits the number of devices that can use WiFi at one time (per family). This is not really realistic in 2013, when almost everyone uses a smart phone and accesses the internet. 2. The queen bed in the cabin should be replaced with a queen sleeper sofa. This would double the walking space in the cabin and provide additional seating during the day. 3. Finally, a separate sink area should be added next to the microwave. Although there is a general dish-washing area at the campgrounds, it would be very convenient to have a second sink (outside of the bathroom).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FourGreatKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopakeKOA, Owner at Copake KOA, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay in one of our Cabins. We do limit the number of Wi-Fi codes as we know our service gets overloaded and therefore slow when we are very busy. In our rural area there are not a lot of options for Bulk Wi-Fi service. We are currently investigating to find out what other possible Wi-Fi options might be available in our area for next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    14
    8
    9
    5
See reviews for
93
27
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Decided to take the 4th of July weekend with the family here since it is a short drive from where we live. First off, the campsites are much larger than other KOA's we've stayed at. With a 3yr old and her 5yr old cousin the space was good to have. For a holiday weekend it seemed very busy in light of the extremely hot temperatures there were several people that wanted to go swimming. Considering this to be one of the only salt water pools in the state the pool hours are not open early and only open until 7pm. As I was told from a staff member it was due to the treatment that is needed, but a refreshing swim later in the evening would be nice during the hot days.

A downside is the store closes early and does not have a small snack bar or ice cream stand that I think would be a hit considering this place is a bit farther from downtown. The playground does not seem sturdy and some of the play equipment seems a bit dangerous for smaller children if they are not anchored in the ground or wobbly.
And the activities for the kids seem a bit to structured, if your 3 minutes late to the crafts don't expect to get in because when it's 10:30 the door closes and they will turn you away. Sorry!

One thing is the fireworks were definitely worth the trip. They did a great job for a smaller KOA that I have stayed at but some minor things to improve. I would stay here again all things aside.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank A C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopakeKOA, Owner at Copake KOA, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
We do offer scheduled activities every weekend all season long and daily activities in the summer months. Our free morning craft begins at 10am daily and does not require advance sign up. Holidays are especially busy so sometimes we do need to turn away campers arriving more than 15 minutes late.
We have many other things to do such as tennis, basketball, horseshoes, and volleyball that can be done on your own at anytime. Store and reservations hours are from 8am to 8pm daily. We do sell ice cream in the store as well as other snacks.
Our open pool hours are at a least 11am to 7pm daily. Most days opening by 10am.
Our playground is inspected at least three times a season by various outside agencies as well as our staff checks on all the equipment to make sure it is safe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Just got back yesterday from KOA Copake campground. We have a 30' 5th wheel and camp regularly. This is our 2nd trip to KOA Copake and it will not be our last. We went with a group of 6 families - we had site #4 and were very pleased with it. No one in our group was disappointed. Very large site and shady and we all had a great time camping. The campground is clean and well maintained. The office staff were very friendly and helpful. They didn't even cringe when I took 4 little ones into the store to spend a few dollars. The store was well-stocked with items you would normally run out of (milk, ice, etc). The pool became a tad crowded in the afternoon, but that is to be expected on a holiday weekend especially with very hot, humid weather. The pool was very clean and the kids in our group really loved it. There were fireworks on Saturday and we watched from our site. Very nice display. I liked the fact that there were 'escorts' that took you to directly to your site. We had a back-in site and they helped direct hubby into the spot. The kids loved the arcade but because of the hot, humid weather didn't stay too long. There was a huge fan in the arcade, but it was still way too hot in there to enjoy the games but you can't control the weather. There were special events in the evening on Friday and Saturday, but I did not go - but those in our group who did were very pleased with the entertainment. All in all, a great time. I recommended this campground to my son and his in-laws last year and they booked sites with us this year. They each had small children and they loved the campground.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JestMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopakeKOA, Owner at Copake KOA, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for all of your compliments. So glad you enjoyed your stay and loved the fireworks. We look forward to having your group back with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The grounds are nice, and the bathrooms were few but well maintained for the most part. The pool is wonderful - best part of the whole trip for us. The grounds were very very buggy (we had dozens of bites after a few days with every type of repellant we could get our hands on) but I am not sure if that is true for that part of NY or just this campsite in particular. We were taken aback, however, by the crassness of the staff. Some staff were lovely, and some were just so rude! The way some staff spoke with guests was shocking - like they were disciplining children! And they don't realize that if you say something rude or inappropriate over the walkie-talkies, other people can hear! They are on full volume in the golf carts, on the staff walking around and in the camp store. Some of the stuff we heard come over the walkies made us think the owners/managers needed better customer service training. I would have definitely given a better rating had it not been for the inconsistent and sometimes rude manner of the staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyTraveler T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopakeKOA, Owner at Copake KOA, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
We were aware of the issue over the holiday weekend and have already addressed the inappropriate comments with the staff members involved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

My family has camped here before in a cabin but we purchased a camper and took our "maiden voyage" with it last weekend. What great time! Since our last trip I noticed several upgrades. One of the employees came to our site and helped us park. They also assisted us with a mechanical problem we had with the camper. Pool was great. Playground nice and clean. My husband and son went to store to get stick for smores and a few extras. There was also some music one evening while we all played on the open field. Such a nice family experience. Our site had some nice shade, it felt very cozy. Friendly campers as well. Will be going back again, hopefully once more this season.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank mariecerv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopakeKOA, Owner at Copake KOA, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
So honored you chose to have your "maiden voyage" in your new camper with us. Glad you had a great time. Would love to see you again this season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We seasoned at KOA for many years. We knew almost every camper in the facility...and we knew every personal detail, thanks to the owners who feel it necessary to share intimate details about EVERYONE!
The female owner makes it her business to share details about others to anyone that will listen. She has repeatedly dismissed families with disabled children and sick adults.
Our experience was horrid. If you stick around long enough you will agree...

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Articus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopakeKOA, Owner at Copake KOA, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Eventually a review like this happens to every business, A fake review. A review that is horrible written under a fake name with no photo. What is particularly interesting about this review is the only other review this person wrote is for another campground in the same town as us and it is wonderful. This review also claims to have camped with us seasonally in November of 2011. Kind of hard to do when we aren't open then. Review also states they are from Danbury CT. Although we have many seasonal campers from CT (Campers that leave their trailer on site for several months at a time) none are from Danbury. We have asked Trip advisor to remove this from our reviews. Hopefully they will.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed here and would do it again and again. Extremely nice and helpful owners and staff, with a multitude of activities for everyone of all ages, campground is vey clean! Great layout for hook ups and they have many kinds of sites available . The bath houses are beautiful, clean, plenty of hot water! The pool is fantastic and heated. The store was amazing and so full of everything - very well thought out! They had a laundry facility there which is very convenient . They also had an arcade which my kids loved. It is a gated campground which is wonderful! I can't say enough wonderful things about this campground. People do your self a wonderful favor and come here, my family and I have decide that another trip there is a Yes!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happycampers1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopakeKOA, Owner at Copake KOA, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
We are elated with your enthusiasm for our campground. Thank you so much for taking the time to write such an enthusiastic review.
You mentioned our laundry. Our laundry is open 24 hours in case someone needs to wash and dry something late at night. (Think small child- wet sleeping bag.) We have a supply of books and magazines to read if you want to stay in the laundry and wait for the load to be done.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Copake
11.1 mi away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#1 of 1 in Salisbury
78 reviews
13.1 mi away
Days Inn Great Barrington
Days Inn Great Barrington
#3 of 9 in Great Barrington
650 reviews
22.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Holiday House Motel
Holiday House Motel
#2 of 2 in Hillsdale
9 reviews
10.3 mi away
Windflower Inn
Windflower Inn
#1 of 12 in Great Barrington
139 reviews
12.9 mi away
Wainwright Inn
Wainwright Inn
#2 of 12 in Great Barrington
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copake KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copake KOA

Property: Copake KOA
Address: 2236 County Route 7, Copake, NY 12516-1417
Location: United States > New York > Copake
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Copake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Camping Retreat where three states meet - NY, MA and CT. Wherever you are, we're not far from your front door. We are open every season from Mother's Day weekend to Columbus Day weekend, but we welcome advance reservations anytime! We are located in Columbia County two hours from New York City. Enjoy our themed weekends with corresponding themed fun and daily activities (in the months of July and August)! Our campground provides many amenities with sports fields, mini golf, game room, swimming pool, cable TV, wi-fi and 30/50 amp full hook rv sites! Leave the tent at home and rent one of our Deluxe Cabins (a bathroom inside!) Or our one room cabins tucked in the woods near our spotlessly clean bathhouse! With a park that is rated in the top 10% of all campgrounds in the United States by KOA and Trailer Life you will be guaranteed to have a super great time. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing