We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed for a week in a cabin”
Review of Copake KOA

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Copake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Copake KOA
Reviewed July 3, 2012

My children and I stayed here for a week late last season. The stay was fine: bathrooms were clean, as was the cab; however, there were many bugs in the pool. When I went to check out, I asked about leaving a tip. The lady at the front desk/store informed me that you don't leave a tip at a campground. When I went back to the room to leave the key, there was a man cleaning the cabin who started yelling at me, cleaning the mini fridge in a rage (the last night we had pizza and I had not seen some sauce had gotten on the fridge). The cabin was not unreasonably messy. In any case, yelling is unacceptable. I left a tip (which - given the fact he was yelling, I probably should not have), but would not recommend this KOA.

Room Tip: Tents, fine, Cabins: consider yourselves warned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank E G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopakeKOA, Owner at Copake KOA, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review about your visit of last season in a cabin. We are sorry that you were unhappy with your stay. We really do try to make every guests stay a terrific experience.
We appreciate the offer but we do not accept tips of any kind. Any tips that are offered, we encourage guests to place them in the Care Camp donation box. We (as part of the KOA system) raise money for special camps for children with cancer where the children can go camping with other children that also have cancer. This gives them the opportunity to experience the outdoors with doctors and nurses to take care of them.
At our campground we require a security/cleaning deposit for all rental unit reservations. Unlike a hotel we do not offer daily cleaning services nor do we provide linens at this time. Sometimes it is difficult for a guest that is used to traveling by staying at hotels to understand the difference in vacation experience between a hotel stay and a campground stay ahead of time. Unfortunately this occasionally leads them to be unhappy with the vacation choice they made.
We receive many compliments about the friendliness and courteousness of our staff. We are sorry you did not feel your interaction with our staff was a pleasant one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 163 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2012

We stayed at this campground in May 2012. For the most part we enjoyed ourselves. Most of the activities wrre great, although my daughter showed up one minute late for Bingo and wasn't allowed to join even on the next round. she was very upset about it. Other than that the activities were good.
There is one bathroom/bath house with individual units that is very clean. The bathroom closer to the pool was not nearly as clean as the other one.
The sites are nice and spacious, although I would say don't book on the pow-wow group field---there is no shade at all. We were miserable on this site and it seemed like a waste of money for us. We couldn't use the site until the sun went down. we paid a decent amount of money to lay down once it quieted down (one night at 11 and the other two nights people were very loud until 12:30am)
All in all it is a nice campground, although because of where our site was feel like we didn't get our money's worth. We spent all of our time on someone elses site to escape the baking sun!

Room Tip: stay away from the group field and you will enjoy yourselves
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mamaduck1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopakeKOA, Owner at Copake KOA, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to write this review. Glad you were mostly happy with your stay. Wish you could have been totally happy with your stay. That is what we strive for.
We play Bingo with the candy bar pots divided at the beginning when the games start for the night, which is why when you were late you couldn't join in for the last round as several other rounds had already been played and the pots divided. We are sorry if this wasn't explained to you.
Memorial Day weekend the campground is always booked to maximum capacity. We book sites with the criteria of best available at time of reservation. The pow-wow sites are always the last sites in the park that we reserve. Being right next to the pavilion make them not private at all and most guests do not like the location. Surprisingly some of our guests actually request the pow-wow sites as they like being in the full sun right in the center of things.
Since Memorial Day weekend is the first time the pool is open for the season, the pool bathroom gets an exceptional amount of use. Housekeeping cleans all the bathrooms in the park multiple times a day but unfortunately once in awhile they look dirty in-between. Please feel free to come in and tell us in the office if they need attention. We will send someone over right away.
Our quiet hour is 10PM and we do our best to enforce it with multiple security drives around the park. There are occasionally those campers that quiet down when we drive by and start up again after we leave. Please call and use the emergency night number located on our site map if you are being disturbed and we will take care of the situation. We can't fix it if we don't know it is happening.
We hope when you are doing your vacation planning that you think of us again. Please remember to book as early as possible to get your choice of sites.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

We first visited Copake KOA for Memorial Day 2011. We were so impressed with the campgraound, we made reservations for Labor Day 2011 and Memorial Day 2012.

My parents came with us Labor Day 2011 and were very impressed; they could not believe how clean and quiet the campground was.

Cathy and her staff are very friendly. They have a great fire pit area were you can just sit, relax, enjoy the fire and the entertainment that is provided. They had things going on for all ages.

We are looking forward to our next visit - Memorial Day 2012. We would recommend this campground to everyone. The pull through sites are very spacious and the amenities are very well maintained.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopakeKOA, Owner at Copake KOA, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Reviews such as yours make us so happy. We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your camping trips with us. So glad you want to keep coming back to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2011

We have been camping here at Copake KOA for the past 2yrs. What a friendly CLEAN campground. The Owners are such nice people and thier staff as well each time we have camped we have always had a good time at there thymed weekend. We recently got married and we spent our Honeymoon here. I would recommend this campgound to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lhurn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopakeKOA, Owner at Copake KOA, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

We always enjoy having you camp with us. We were honored that you chose to camp with us for your honeymoon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We were so impressed with the amount of work Cathy and Gary and their staff have done in just one year. The sites are nice with all the amenities (new electric and cable!!). The "scary house" was taken down. The area around the playground and pool has been improved to include a new pet walk area and tennis courts. The store is well stocked with both food and camping items. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We understand that a campground can't change overnight but this one certainly made huge improvements. We are looking forward to camping there next year.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnneM501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopakeKOA, Owner at Copake KOA, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Sure makes us feel good that you noticed all our improvements. Families like yours, that have camped with us since we bought the park know how hard our maintenance staff has worked to remodel and beautify this park since we purchased it. Your positive comments are especially appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

The campground is clean and although they had to take down some of things while we were there (due to Hurricane Irene) the days prior we had a fabulous time. We didn't like our initial site and upon telling the gentleman who escorted us, we were moved to one a bit more to our liking. Some of the roads were a bit rough, but it looks as though they are starting to put more stone down. Our children (ages 5 and 7) found the recreation staff to be accommodating even though the rain and wind got to be ferocious. The bathroom facilities were always clean when we had to take a side potty break (we camped in our own trailer). The front office was accommodating with directions when we needed a larger grocery store or a place to kill time, (by the way the Great Barrington Area does have some cute shops, but might be better suited for older children .. although the bowling alley was fun!) I do hope we get to come back sometime when the weather is more cooperative as the hurricane did dampen the theme weekend's spirit. Although, being Pirate weekend perhaps shipwrecks were imminent! Anyway, we will try to come next year hopefully without the rain.

Thanks for a Good time.

Room Tip: There are different kinds of sites wooded and non-wooded call ahead, we asked to be moved out of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopakeKOA, Owner at Copake KOA, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

So glad you enjoyed your stay with us in spite of Mother Nature being cranky.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

We stayed at this camp site in July 2011, and we we're not impressed, for the following reasons:

- our biggest problem was the location of our allocated camping spot. The place was empty when we arrived, and pretty much empty when we left. Despite the fact that the camp site was very quiet, we were given a location furthest from all amenities, and right beside a small stream/ pond which was a mosquito breeding ground. Our mosquito bites are still irritating us 1+ weeks after departing the site, and we look like bed bug victims. On check-in there was no flexibility to discuss the location of our camp site. Travelling with toddlers (they were aware of this), it seems mad to have located us not even within sight of the bathrooms and a drive away from the swimming pool.

- the area itself is uninspiring. Bish Bash Falls and Tacomic State Park are nice to visit, and we were very jealous when we came across the camp site at Tacomic State Park which looked amazing. It was packed, had decking on which to pitch tents, there was a big shop right beside it and there was a lovely family vibe to it. Great Barrington is the nicest town in the immediate area, though it is a good half hour drive away. Hudson is also mildly interesting. We tagged our visit to Copake onto the end of five days in Lake George (the KOA at Lake Luzerne) and a short visit to Woodstock (and the Saugerties KOA). The Copake KOA comes a distant third to those other two KOAs, despite the low standards of the Lake Luzerne KOA.

- this is unlike other KOAs we have stayed in in that there appears to be a significant number of permanent residents living in trailers. The camping facilities appear to be more of a side business of a trailer park. This affects the atmosphere of the experience, as we felt more like unwanted guests in a trailer park. This was particularly apparent in the swimming pool, where our kids were viewed with disdain.

- we specifically travelled to this KOA as it had won a President's award and we were bitterly disappointed.

Happy camping!

Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
9  Thank Stphn_1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopakeKOA, Owner at Copake KOA, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

We now escort to every campsite and have initiated a new policy to give the employee who is doing the campsite escort the ability to change a campsite. They can radio the office and request to move the customer to a new site if possible.
Traveling with a toddler is always challenging, especially tent camping. The area you were assigned is the back row of tent sites. I am sure the staff member that picked that area for you thought it would be quieter for you at night and easier to get the little ones to sleep.
Every year we make more improvements to our property and the beauty of the tent area has improved significantly since you stayed with us. We do still only have 20 tent sites. The majority of our sites are full-hookup RV sites.
Campgrounds that have seasonal and overnight campers are always working hard to balance the two types of customers. This past year (2012) we instituted separate sections of the park for seasonal and overnight camping. It has made a big difference in making everybody happy. Neither group is more important than the other. Both are very important to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Copake
11.1 mi away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#1 of 1 in Salisbury
87 reviews
13.1 mi away
Days Inn Great Barrington
Days Inn Great Barrington
#4 of 10 in Great Barrington
691 reviews
14.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Gre...
#2 of 10 in Great Barrington
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Changing Times - Boutique Country B&B
10.3 mi away
Windflower Inn
Windflower Inn
#2 of 12 in Great Barrington
172 reviews
16.6 mi away
The Red Hook Country  Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copake KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copake KOA

Address: 2236 County Route 7, Copake, NY 12516-1417
Location: United States > New York > Copake
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Copake
Price Range: $45 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Camping Retreat where three states meet - NY, MA and CT. Wherever you are, we're not far from your front door. We are open every season from Mother's Day weekend to Columbus Day weekend, but we welcome advance reservations anytime! We are located in Columbia County two hours from New York City. Enjoy our themed weekends with corresponding themed fun and daily activities (in the months of July and August)! Our campground provides many amenities with sports fields, mini golf, game room, swimming pool, cable TV, wi-fi and 30/50 amp full hook rv sites! Leave the tent at home and rent one of our Deluxe Cabins (a bathroom inside!) Or our one room cabins tucked in the woods near our spotlessly clean bathhouse! With a park that is rated in the top 10% of all campgrounds in the United States by KOA and Trailer Life you will be guaranteed to have a super great time. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing