We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“FANTASTIC”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cooperstown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn at Cooperstown
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Cooperstown
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“FANTASTIC”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2006

The Inn is beautiful, if you appreciate historic homes and arcitecture this place is great. Marc and his wife have done a fantastic job keeping the look and feel of the place. it is a superb B&B. The rooms are large enough to move around in comfortably, the bathrooms are very clean and it feels like home. We only stayed for 1 night as we were just driving through and decided we wanted to see the National Baseball Hall of Fame (which is 1 block from the Inn). We had no reservations, just showed up (while I don't recommend not having a reservation, we got away with it because it was a Monday night) the staff was very accomodating and told us all of the attractions int he area supplied us with a map of sites to see and were very friendly. In the morning while we were having Breakfast Marc (owner) came to check on us to see how our stay was and we had a good 30 minute conversation, just as nice as can be. We will definitely go back! The only down side and this is not major, you have to keep in mind that since it is an old HUGE house convered to a B&B the walls are relatively thin, so you can hear noise & movement in the rooms next to you (not a big deal). Have a great stay there !!!

  • Liked — the structure of the B&B
  • Disliked — breakfast
  • Tips/Secrets — Get there early lave your car & just walk around, go our on the lake (2 blocks away)
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank li6810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    616
    139
    22
    16
    3
See reviews for
154
479
15
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2006

I don't know who wrote the previous reviews but unfortunately we relied on them and booked our week stay at the Inn at Cooperstown while our son played baseball at Dreams Park

The rooms were dark and dreary but relatively clean except for the rug which was an outdated teal color which looked to be about as old as the house itself. The creaking on the stairs and from the rooms above as well as the noise starting at 7am from the kitchen kept us awake for the first night sending us to the local CVS the next day to buy some earplugs.

The "breakfast" was a joke. We sat down the first morning. They served us cold toast and tasteless muffins. When they came to us and asked if we wanted anything else the word breakfast came to mind. The lemonade served on the front porch was nothing but frozen, canned lemonade with some water added...not drinkable.

We tried to move hotels but the Inn owner would not allow us as he felt he could have rented the room out and therefore it wouldn't be fair. We ended up paying over $200 per night for a week of misery. We noticed that the maximum rate that was allowed which must be posted on the wall by law was below what we were being charged. This is illegal!

The day we were leaving we noticed new furniture in the common rooms. The owner informed us that their feedback from guests was that the "breakfast" was unnacceptable so they were going to be changing to a catered hot breakfast since they were not allowed by law to do cooking on premises. He also mentioned that they would be renovating the rooms since many of them were badly needing an upgrade.

I do not know where these other reviews came from but travelers beware!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Rooms and "breakfast"
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay somewhere else
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Pugs3207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAC, Marc Kingsley, Owner/Innkeeper at The Inn at Cooperstown, responded to this review, September 3, 2006
The Inn at Cooperstown informs all guests of the room rates at time of reservation. A confirmation letter as well as an email is sent to each guest with full details of the reservation including room rate, as well as the cancellation policy (14-day). Current room rates are also posted on the inn’s website. The Inn at Cooperstown abides by all regulations that apply to lodging properties for inns and bed and breakfasts and we are unaware of any legal requirement to post rates in the room. This guest was charged the amount quoted and confirmed for their reservation. The guest did indicate that they might want to leave a day early. The innkeeper indicated per the policy that they would be responsible for the room night unless the room was resold. The room was resold and the guest was not charged for the early departure.

When this guest indicated that noise was an issue after the first night, the innkeeper immediately offered to relocate the guest to another room. The guest declined this offer indicating that they brought ear plugs and would try them for the second night. The innkeeper asked the guest how everything went the second night and they indicated that everything was fine. They said the ear plugs worked and that they were happy. The innkeeper offered for a second time to relocate the guest to another room and they declined.

This guest indicated she was not satisfied with the food offered for breakfast. The innkeeper asked the guest if she had any special requirements or if he could provide something that would be more acceptable during her stay and she declined. The Inn at Cooperstown now serves an expanded continental breakfast that includes a hot egg entrée, fresh fruit salad, yogurt, assorted cereals and granola, homemade muffins, toast, assorted juices, tea and fresh brewed coffee.

The Inn at Cooperstown was built in 1874 and has 17 guest rooms. Improvements are made to the inn on an ongoing basis. Over the past two years, all common areas as well as all guest rooms at the inn have been updated. Within this period, all guest rooms have had fresh paint, new carpet and new quilts. Lighting, linens, towels and amenities have been upgraded as well. The rooms that were occupied by this guest were professionally re-carpeted and painted in February 2006. The sitting rooms were completely renovated and refurnished at the beginning of 2006. New furniture for the dining rooms was delivered in June 2006.

The innkeeper had several conversations with the guests during their stay. All indications from the guests were positive and that they were enjoying their stay. The guests thanked one of the front desk staff members as she had personally rented two movies for their son at her expense.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2006

This is a beautiful inn that features a wonderful breakfast and excellent location to the center of Cooperstown and its attractions. Our room was elegant, having been restored and nicely decorated/outfitted. The bathroom was private and modern. I would definitely return. We checked out at 11AM and were told to enjoy the cookies and lemonade on the front veranda (each afternoon) that day if we were still around town later on!

Helpful?
1 Thank WCoastFLman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2006

We are frequent guests at the Inn at Cooperstown and would not think of staying anywhere else when we are in the area. The Inn suits our needs, which are quite extensive given that my husband is disabled. We require a first floor room. There are two such rooms at the Inn which work for us. The property is immaculate. Marc and Sherrie Kingsley, owners of the Inn, and their staff are proud of what they have accomplished and are accommodating to all requests. There is always something new to see as the owners are keen on upkeep and creative with new ideas. The only "problem" I have is that I so enjoy sitting at breakfast chatting with folks that I have to be reminded to pay my bill. Being at the Inn at Cooperstown is like coming home.

  • Liked — atmosphere, cleanliness, staff
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mamas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2006

The Inn at Cooperstown is a first rate place to stay, though make sure any kids know there's only one TV at the Inn, in the sitting room. The rooms are comfortable (I've been a guest several times) and immaculate. The innkeeper, Marc, is eager to talk to guests and calls repeat guests by name. His staff, headed by Donna and Vicky are very eager to help.

The location is ideal for Baseball Hall of Fame visitors, as it's a short walk to the Hall and all of Cooperstown's attractions on Main Street. On your checkout day, you can leave your car at the Inn if you want to stay for the morning, which is nice since parking in Cooperstown in the summer is at a premium.

Cookies and lemonade in the afternoon are a nice touch. Breakfast is very good, with quite a few choices. I enjoy visiting there and will be back again. For those who can do without TV and the internet for a while, I highly recommend the Inn.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank go_red_sox61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2006

The Inn at Cooperstown is a lovely place to stay when you are in the Cooperstown area. It is centrally situated and you are able to walk all over town from this location. Our room was well equipped with comfortable bed and chairs; the bathroom was large with ample vanity space. The airconditioning operated quietly and most efficiently. The staff was so friendly and extremely helpful; everyone from desk staff to maintenance staff went out of the way to make all travelers feel comfortable. The Inn's owner, Marc, took a most personal interest in each person and was always available and willing to assist in any way.

The Inn has a 'homey', comfortable feeling. The breakfasts are very tasty; hot egg casserole plus fresh fruits, muffins, toast, cereals, yogurt, juices, coffee and tea. A very large front porch with rocking chairs is a great place for relaxing. There is a computer for guest use; a nice touch for travelers who do not have personal computers with them.

I look forward to returning to the Inn when back in the Cooperstown area. It is a place I highly recommend as a comfortable and most friendly place to stay.

  • Liked — friendly, courteous , knowledgeable, professional staff
  • Disliked — store bought afternoon cookies instead of home baked was ONLY negative about this Inn
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank imradman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2006

We first chose to stay at the Inn because I am an architectural buff with a fondness for the Second Empire style. Little did we realize at the time that inside this superbly restored building, we were to experience a return to the quiet elegance and gracious civility that was so much a hallmark of 19th century upstate New York.

The entire building is replete with period furnishings and tasteful artwork. The rooms--both guest and public--are spotlessly clean and exceedingly comfortable. The spacious front porch is well-furnished with rocking chairs that all-but-insist that you sit down, relax, and watch the fascinating ebb and flow of village pedestrian traffic. And its location in the heart of the village is ideal; it is only one block from Main Street and yet is separated from the hustle and bustle by its deep setback and wide front lawn.

But it is not simply the physical environment that encourages us to return (over the past year we have stayed there more than a half-dozen times for a total of about 25 nights); it is the genuine friendliness and welcoming attitude of Mark and Sherie Kingsley (the owners) and the entire staff of the Inn. Every time since our first visit, as we walk through its grand front entryway, we have the distinct feeling that we are returning to that genteel and gracious moment in America when front porches and friendliness were the common currency of life. In short, whenever we stay at the Inn, we feel that we have come home.

  • Liked — the warmth of the staff and the comfort of the building
  • Disliked — no comment
  • Tips/Secrets — Get a corner room on the second floor
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank escarousel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cooperstown
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
0.3 mi away
Lake Front Hotel
Lake Front Hotel
#7 of 16 in Cooperstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tunnicliff Inn
Tunnicliff Inn
#10 of 16 in Cooperstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Cooperstown Inn & Suites
9.8 mi away
The Lake House
The Lake House
#2 of 4 in Richfield Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
6.7 mi away
Bayside Inn & Marina
Bayside Inn & Marina
#5 of 16 in Cooperstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Cooperstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Cooperstown

Property: The Inn at Cooperstown
Address: 16 Chestnut St, Cooperstown, NY 13326-1041
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Cooperstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cooperstown
#1 Family Hotel in Cooperstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Cooperstown is a lovely historic hotel located in the heart of the village just a short walk from the National Baseball Hall of Fame and many fine attractions, restaurants, and shops. This award-winning structure was built in 1874, fully restored in 1985, and is thoughtfully updated on an annual basis. The Inn has the warmth and comfort of a home. Eighteen spotless guest rooms, all with private bathrooms, air conditioning, and flat panel televisions, are individually decorated with many charming touches. Unwind in a rocking chair on the front porch or enjoy the fireplace in a cozy sitting room after exploring the village of Cooperstown. Open year-round. Off-street parking. Handicap accessible. Families welcome. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn At Cooperstown Hotel Cooperstown
Inn At Cooperstown
Bed Breakfast Cooperstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing