We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate bur overpriced.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Inn at Cooperstown
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Cooperstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2008

The place was clean, well located and the people were nice. However, the room was poorly laid out and rather small. Avoid #11 unless you like people stomping up and down the ramp just outside your window. For all the charm, the IOC was far too expensive. When I inquired about a room online I was quoted a price of $192 a night but it was explained to me that this had been an error on the part of the Cooperstown Chamber of Commerce or visitor center or somesuch. I was told that there was no $192 roomrate. Yet when I sat in the lobby using the hotel computer terminal I repeatedly heard the receptionist quote $192 to callers asking about vacancies. Won't be back.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tevere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLK59, Owner at The Inn at Cooperstown, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2008

Thank you for your comments and review of the inn. Cooperstown has limited handicap accessible room availability so The Inn at Cooperstown invested in installion of a fully covered ramp to the building. The doorway from the ramp to the inn is located just outside of Room 11, the inn’s fully handicap accessible guest room. During the high season (June – August) it is not uncommon for this room to be used to accommodate guests who do not necessarily need that level of access but who do want to stay at the inn when room availability is limited. Guests are informed of the layout of the room during the reservation process.

The room rates at The Inn at Cooperstown vary by room type and season. It is highly likely that the guest heard rates being quoted for other times of the year. For the 2008 summer season the lowest guest room rate was $206/night. In the 2008 fall season the lowest guest room rate drops to $192/night. The Inn at Cooperstown room rates are very competitive and typically more reasonable than rates for guest rooms at other comparable lodging properties in the village of Cooperstown. The Inn at Cooperstown is the only Select Registry property in Cooperstown and the surrounding area. The Select Registry Distinguished Inns of North America is an organization of 400 of the finest inns, B&Bs, and unique small hotels across North America. The Select Registry requires that all member properties maintain the highest quality levels of hospitality and lodging facilities. Each member property is blind inspected on an annual basis and rated on a detailed point scale that covers guest room facilities as well as customer service elements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (854)
There are newer reviews for The Inn at Cooperstown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

804 - 810 of 855 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2008

Great location if you're in town for the Hall of Fame. You can leave your car in the Inn's parking lot (even if you've already checked out) and walk about three blocks to the Hall. We had a room on the third floor. If you don't like climbing stairs, you do NOT want to be on the third floor! The room was not very large, but perfectly comfortable for our one-night stay. The breakfast, included in the room price, included cereal, fruit salad, homemade quiche and muffins, juice, coffee, and tea. We couldn't tell for sure, but it looked like there might be a wait for a table if the inn is fully booked and everyone chooses to eat around the same time. The common areas are well stocked with games, books, and a TV. There are no TVs or telephones in the room, but there is free wireless Internet access. The staff is attentive without being overbearing. All in all, a solid choice.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BostonDaveL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2008

The Inn is located 2 short blocks away from the Baseball HOF, a great location if you want to park the car for a couple days and enjoy all of Cooperstown. Our room was clean, the staff curtious and the breakfast was very good (especially the homemade muffins). I stayed 2 nights with my two older sons (17 & 15) - it isn't cheap and we were a little cramped in the room (3rd floor - no elevators), but that was a trade-off given the location to the HOF. I'd take my wife back to the Inn, but I wouldn't recommend for families.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank daddyvmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2008

My husband and I are frequent guests at the Inn at Cooperstown and have always been more than pleased with everything it has to offer. This visit, however, far exceeded any other visit we have taken!

The inkeepers recently completed construction on a two-story luxury suite that is nothing short of magnificent. If you didn't know where to look, you would not notice something "new" as the architects and designers figured out a way to make the exterior of the addition blend perfectly with the original building. From the roof line to the windows to the custom trim, the exterior of the extension to the building is a perfect blend of old and new.

As always, we were welcomed by the friendly front desk staff. She was so excited about the new suite and couldn't wait to give us a personal tour!

When she opened the door we instantly knew we were in for quite a treat. The suite features a two-story open foyer, the living area tastefully painted in a light soft gold color that perfectly accents the dark wood trim throughout. Like the rest of the Inn, every appointment was tastefully chosen and very comfortable. The couch in the living area was softer than my feather bed at home! The main living area also features a gorgeous gas fireplace and huge flat screen TV, and a wet bar with a sink and refrigerator stocked with water, soda and juice. The hardwood floors and ceramic tile in the foyer sparkled.

What a treat to see the main floor bedroom! It features a giant four-poster (very high!) bed facing ANOTHER gas fireplace. It is tastefully painted in a dark red that compliments the golden color in the living area. And the bathroom! The main bathroom is decorated with the same black and white color scheme featured in the bathrooms in the main Inn, with a HUGE shower with a "rainfall" shower head and very heavy sparkling glass door. There is also a jet tub (built for two!) unlike any I have seen - gorgeous. The heated ceramic tile floors are also a special treat.

We were then escorted up the stairs to the second floor. At the top of the stairs is a HUGE sitting area, appointed with a lovely leather couch and comfy chairs. I was told the couch also pulls out to a bed. Oh, did I mention the window treatments are also beautiful throughout? It is obvious the Innkeepers work with the best architects and interior designers...

The second story bedroom is as gorgeous as the first story, without the fireplace. The bed was configured as a king, but we were told it could be separated into two twin beds to accommodate a family.

The second story bathroom is almost the same as the first, without the jet tub. All the bathroom fixtures sparkle, and the decorators chose very interesting designs that once again compliment what is featured in the main Inn.

I must say this suite surpassed many that we have seen in highly rated Inns throughout the Northeast. There is nothing we could find that needed improvement - in fact, we walked around with our mouths agape until we finally settled in with a nice bottle of champagne on the comfy down couch in front of the fireplace.

When you visit Cooperstown, you MUST stay at the Inn at Cooperstown, and if you are able, you MUST take a look at this magnificent suite. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank LoriPorter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2008

While planning a trip to the Baseball Hall of Fame, we began our search for a B&B. Since there were so many in the area, the Inn at Cooperstown stood out. The pictures of the Inn were beautiful!I wrote to the Inn the very next day to make my reservations. Upon arrival, you are greeted by a freindly staff who are also helpful with their knowledge of the area. The rooms were lovely and most of all clean. The beds and pillows had all the comforts of home. The breakfast is yummy. Homemade muffins, fresh fruit salad, the best coffee, and a homemade quiche (delicious). You feel like you are sitting with family. Everyone is so friendly and they want to make sure your stay is enjoyable. It was also nice to meet the owner while having breakfast, who was so informative when answering all of our questions. We look forward to returning and having another enjoyable stay.

Joe and Linda "D"

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank linnyann56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2008

A very nice inn. Great staff, wonderful location, immaculately clean and a very nice continental breakfast.
Found on tripadvisor. Would definitely return and recommend.
Really loved cooperstown ; Hall of Fame, museums, micro breweries, etc.
Like many I use tripadvisor but don't like to write reviews...better late than never.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank higginsEdgartown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2008

My fiancee and I have had the distinct pleasure of staying at the Inn at Cooperstown on two occasions and each time we leave, we cannot wait to return. From the well-kept rooms to the courteous staff, everything about the Inn is fantastic. If you ever have the opportunity to stay at this wonderful establishment, we suggest you take advantage.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mfortuna25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cooperstown
0.0 mi away
The Cooper Inn
The Cooper Inn
#3 of 16 in Cooperstown
270 reviews
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
0.3 mi away
Lake Front Hotel
Lake Front Hotel
#7 of 16 in Cooperstown
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tunnicliff Inn
Tunnicliff Inn
#12 of 16 in Cooperstown
253 reviews
3.2 mi away
Gateway Inn & Suites of Cooperstown
4.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Cooperstown Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Cooperstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Cooperstown

Address: 16 Chestnut St, Cooperstown, NY 13326-1041
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Cooperstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cooperstown
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cooperstown
Price Range: $124 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Cooperstown is a lovely historic hotel located in the heart of the village just a short walk from the National Baseball Hall of Fame and many fine attractions, restaurants, and shops. This award-winning structure was built in 1874, fully restored in 1985, and is thoughtfully updated on an annual basis. The Inn has the warmth and comfort of a home. Eighteen spotless guest rooms, all with private bathrooms, air conditioning, and flat panel televisions, are individually decorated with many charming touches. Unwind in a rocking chair on the front porch or enjoy the fireplace in a cozy sitting room after exploring the village of Cooperstown. Experience Cooperstown with one of our unforgettable and exclusive packages. The hotel is open year-round and offers amenities including free Wi-Fi, off-street parking, handicap accessible rooms, and family friendly accommodations. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn At Cooperstown Hotel Cooperstown
Inn At Cooperstown
Bed Breakfast Cooperstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing