We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cooperstown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn at Cooperstown
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Cooperstown
Certificate of Excellence
minnesota
1 review
“Great location”
Reviewed August 10, 2008

The Inn is located 2 short blocks away from the Baseball HOF, a great location if you want to park the car for a couple days and enjoy all of Cooperstown. Our room was clean, the staff curtious and the breakfast was very good (especially the homemade muffins). I stayed 2 nights with my two older sons (17 & 15) - it isn't cheap and we were a little cramped in the room (3rd floor - no elevators), but that was a trade-off given the location to the HOF. I'd take my wife back to the Inn, but I wouldn't recommend for families.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Room size
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank daddyvmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    647
    145
    23
    16
    4
See reviews for
168
499
15
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cohoes, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2008

My husband and I are frequent guests at the Inn at Cooperstown and have always been more than pleased with everything it has to offer. This visit, however, far exceeded any other visit we have taken!

The inkeepers recently completed construction on a two-story luxury suite that is nothing short of magnificent. If you didn't know where to look, you would not notice something "new" as the architects and designers figured out a way to make the exterior of the addition blend perfectly with the original building. From the roof line to the windows to the custom trim, the exterior of the extension to the building is a perfect blend of old and new.

As always, we were welcomed by the friendly front desk staff. She was so excited about the new suite and couldn't wait to give us a personal tour!

When she opened the door we instantly knew we were in for quite a treat. The suite features a two-story open foyer, the living area tastefully painted in a light soft gold color that perfectly accents the dark wood trim throughout. Like the rest of the Inn, every appointment was tastefully chosen and very comfortable. The couch in the living area was softer than my feather bed at home! The main living area also features a gorgeous gas fireplace and huge flat screen TV, and a wet bar with a sink and refrigerator stocked with water, soda and juice. The hardwood floors and ceramic tile in the foyer sparkled.

What a treat to see the main floor bedroom! It features a giant four-poster (very high!) bed facing ANOTHER gas fireplace. It is tastefully painted in a dark red that compliments the golden color in the living area. And the bathroom! The main bathroom is decorated with the same black and white color scheme featured in the bathrooms in the main Inn, with a HUGE shower with a "rainfall" shower head and very heavy sparkling glass door. There is also a jet tub (built for two!) unlike any I have seen - gorgeous. The heated ceramic tile floors are also a special treat.

We were then escorted up the stairs to the second floor. At the top of the stairs is a HUGE sitting area, appointed with a lovely leather couch and comfy chairs. I was told the couch also pulls out to a bed. Oh, did I mention the window treatments are also beautiful throughout? It is obvious the Innkeepers work with the best architects and interior designers...

The second story bedroom is as gorgeous as the first story, without the fireplace. The bed was configured as a king, but we were told it could be separated into two twin beds to accommodate a family.

The second story bathroom is almost the same as the first, without the jet tub. All the bathroom fixtures sparkle, and the decorators chose very interesting designs that once again compliment what is featured in the main Inn.

I must say this suite surpassed many that we have seen in highly rated Inns throughout the Northeast. There is nothing we could find that needed improvement - in fact, we walked around with our mouths agape until we finally settled in with a nice bottle of champagne on the comfy down couch in front of the fireplace.

When you visit Cooperstown, you MUST stay at the Inn at Cooperstown, and if you are able, you MUST take a look at this magnificent suite. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LoriPorter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed June 9, 2008

While planning a trip to the Baseball Hall of Fame, we began our search for a B&B. Since there were so many in the area, the Inn at Cooperstown stood out. The pictures of the Inn were beautiful!I wrote to the Inn the very next day to make my reservations. Upon arrival, you are greeted by a freindly staff who are also helpful with their knowledge of the area. The rooms were lovely and most of all clean. The beds and pillows had all the comforts of home. The breakfast is yummy. Homemade muffins, fresh fruit salad, the best coffee, and a homemade quiche (delicious). You feel like you are sitting with family. Everyone is so friendly and they want to make sure your stay is enjoyable. It was also nice to meet the owner while having breakfast, who was so informative when answering all of our questions. We look forward to returning and having another enjoyable stay.

Joe and Linda "D"

  • Liked — Comfortable beds, pillows, and how clean the Inn is
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank linnyann56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edgartown
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 30, 2008

A very nice inn. Great staff, wonderful location, immaculately clean and a very nice continental breakfast.
Found on tripadvisor. Would definitely return and recommend.
Really loved cooperstown ; Hall of Fame, museums, micro breweries, etc.
Like many I use tripadvisor but don't like to write reviews...better late than never.

  • Liked — Staff, location, beautiful building, cleanliness, fireplaces...pretty much all of it
  • Disliked — not a thing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank higginsEdgartown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, On.
1 review
Reviewed April 20, 2008

My fiancee and I have had the distinct pleasure of staying at the Inn at Cooperstown on two occasions and each time we leave, we cannot wait to return. From the well-kept rooms to the courteous staff, everything about the Inn is fantastic. If you ever have the opportunity to stay at this wonderful establishment, we suggest you take advantage.

  • Liked — The rooms
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mfortuna25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2008

The inn was absolutely beautiful and perfect. The staff was very friendly, the breakfast was excellent, the colors on the wall were gorgeous and the rooms were clean and beautiful. We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay for the weekend. Cooperstown is a lovely place to visit because of the shops and restaurants, even if you aren't a big baseball fan.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sabell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2008

My fiance and I stayed at the Inn at Cooperstown for 3 nights at the end of January. We decided on the Inn after reviewing various accomodations on the Cooperstown Chamber of Commerce website. Our primary reason for the trip was to visit the Baseball Hall of Fame for the first time but the Inn was hosting a Bed & Brew event the same weekend we were going and that finally swayed our decision to stay there instead of elsewhere. On Friday evening guests were invited to attend a reception held in the common rooms and share their own homemade brews. Although we had zero experience with home brewing, we like beer just as much as the next guy. So even though we didn’t have any beer to share with our fellow guests, they were very gracious to share theirs with us. Thanks everyone! The innkeepers, Sherrie & Marc, were present and were very nice indeed.

We were very happy to discover that all the sites we wanted to visit were just a very short walk from the Inn. During our stay we enjoyed lunch at the Tunicliff Inn, dinner and cocktails at the Doubleday Café, a bracing walk down to Ostego Lake and around the village to see the beautiful historic homes and an entire afternoon at the Baseball Hall of Fame. We also had a delicious gourmet dinner at Nicoletta’s Café. All were within 2 blocks of the Inn. On Saturday evening the owners and guests of the Inn all met at the Ommegang Brewery for a beer tasting and cheese reception followed by a great tour of the brewery led by the Brewmaster Randy. Then we sat down to an impressively catered dinner followed by dessert. At the end of the evening we received gifts of beer and sweatshirts from the Brewery before heading back to the Inn.

As for the accomodations, there were wonderful. Our room was cozy and warm and quite comfortable as we watched the snowflakes outside. We loved our room, the bedroom and bathroom were definitely of ample size, nicely appointed and the bed and pillows were so comfortable! The Inn is just beautiful inside – nicely decorated and very comfortable at the same time. We enjoyed our continental breakfast each morning and the staff was just great.

It’s the first time we ever stayed in an Inn or Bed & Breakfast type of accomodation instead of hotel/motel but we have been won over! We hope to go back and visit the lovely town of Cooperstown again and we wouldn’t stay anywhere else but the Inn at Cooperstown.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Shower could have used a shelf to hold shampoos, etc.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Pamela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cooperstown
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
0.0 mi away
The Cooper Inn
The Cooper Inn
#3 of 16 in Cooperstown
258 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lake Front Hotel
Lake Front Hotel
#7 of 16 in Cooperstown
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tunnicliff Inn
Tunnicliff Inn
#12 of 16 in Cooperstown
248 reviews
4.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Cooperstown Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
The Otesaga Resort Hotel
The Otesaga Resort Hotel
#2 of 16 in Cooperstown
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Cooperstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Cooperstown

Property: The Inn at Cooperstown
Address: 16 Chestnut St, Cooperstown, NY 13326-1041
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Cooperstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cooperstown
#1 Family Hotel in Cooperstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Cooperstown is a lovely historic hotel located in the heart of the village just a short walk from the National Baseball Hall of Fame and many fine attractions, restaurants, and shops. This award-winning structure was built in 1874, fully restored in 1985, and is thoughtfully updated on an annual basis. The Inn has the warmth and comfort of a home. Eighteen spotless guest rooms, all with private bathrooms, air conditioning, and flat panel televisions, are individually decorated with many charming touches. Unwind in a rocking chair on the front porch or enjoy the fireplace in a cozy sitting room after exploring the village of Cooperstown. Experience Cooperstown with one of our unforgettable and exclusive packages. The hotel is open year-round and offers amenities including free Wi-Fi, off-street parking, handicap accessible rooms, and family friendly accommodations. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn At Cooperstown Hotel Cooperstown
Inn At Cooperstown
Bed Breakfast Cooperstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing