We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mildewy Room and Cheap Cereal Breakfast”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cooperstown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn at Cooperstown
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Cooperstown
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Mildewy Room and Cheap Cereal Breakfast”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

The building front looks great but you enter from the ugly parking lot back. The room we were put into (3rd floor corner) smelled of a ton of mildew and was cramped with an extra bed. This poor room was given to us even though the Inn was virtually empty and the night mgr could easily have put us into a nicer space; thus, I'd have to rate this Inn's service as mediocre, in comparison to the many places of similar price range at which we've stayed. The cramped breakfast dining area was right on top of the kitchen swing doors, so there was a constant unpleasant view while eating. Breakfast was less fancy than your standard low cost biz hotel buffet setup, just some raisin bran, corn flakes, and a plain quiche. It's an OK place but definitely not worth the price point.

Room Tip: Avoid mildew smelling rooms and rooms cramped with extra beds or other items.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DPLPtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAC-Owner, Owner at The Inn at Cooperstown, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review of your stay in Cooperstown. We’re so disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your accommodations at the inn. All guest rooms at the inn are air conditioned and each guest can control the temperature of their room. Guests also have the option of fresh air as each room has operational windows with screens. In addition, each guest room also has a fan. Our front desk staff has the flexibility to provide incoming guests with alternatives for rooms when the inn is not completely full and they are happy to do so. The entire staff at the inn is more than willing to make changes whenever possible to ensure our guests have a comfortable stay.

We receive numerous and frequent compliments on the spotlessness and cleanliness of our guest rooms. After checkout, each guest room is thoroughly cleaned by our housekeeping staff. To ensure a quality cleaning job has been done the room is then checked by another member of our staff. Any maintenance issues not covered by the housekeeping staff are immediately reported and taken care of. To be honest with you we have never had reports of nor issues with mildew in any area of the inn.

The Inn at Cooperstown serves a high quality continental breakfast each morning. The breakfast includes a hot egg entrée, fresh fruit salad, yogurt, assorted cereals and granola, homemade muffins, bread, assorted juices, tea and fresh brewed, locally roasted coffee. Our homemade muffins are oven-baked and served warm. Two types of artisanal bread, sunflower-raisin and cracked wheat, are offered for toasting. Just this morning we received several favorable comments on our egg frittata and one guest asked for the recipe. Breakfast is served in two dining rooms and the inn’s kitchen is adjacent to the dining rooms. At times when breakfast service is quite brisk our staff will leave the kitchen door open to allow for better service especially that of delivering morning beverages and muffins to each table as well as refilling coffee and hot beverage urns.

Sincerely,
Sherrie and Marc
Innkeepers and Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    647
    145
    23
    16
    4
See reviews for
168
499
15
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2013

My husband and I just started cycling and home-brewing so we decided to visit cooperstown to take advantage of both. We were so excited when we came across the Inn that caters to cyclists by having a clubhouse geared up with tools, bike storage for guests, and refreshments for during and after ride. Bonus was the Inn owners are avid cyclists with a wealth of information on biking and local trails. Sherrie (owner) was extremely sweet and helped us with great bike routes the two days we were there. We loved the brewery as well and were thrilled the Inn has a bike and brew event in September which we've signed up for. Sherrie was so accommodating and the Inn is stunning, we were so glad we chose it over The Otesaga...much more personable and intimate with lots of charm! Thank you Sherrie!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tkwalker3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAC-Owner, Owner at The Inn at Cooperstown, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
We were so happy to share our passion for cycling with you! The Cooperstown area is a fabulous place for both new cyclists and accomplished cyclists as there many scenic, rural roads that are just perfect for all types of riding. And, it seems one can never go wrong with a trip to Brewery Ommegang. We look forward to seeing you again in September for our special bike and brew package. Thanks for all your wonderful comments and for taking the time to write a review. We truly appreciate it.

Sincerely,
Sherrie and Marc
Innkeepers and Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallkill
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

The Inn appears to be a place that was very good to begin with but little touches have been added that make the experience even better. Once again the success is in the people. The owners are themselves on deck but the managers and staff reach out as well to make sure that your every comfort is covered. This was our second visit to the Inn and it is a destination for us when we travel in the area. Could not be more pleased.

Room Tip: I have only been here twice but I don't think there is a bad room in the place. They have added...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harold66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAC-Owner, Owner at The Inn at Cooperstown, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Hi Harold,

Thanks so very much for your second review of the inn! We appreciate your compliments and comments, especially those about our staff. We look forward to your next visit to Cooperstown and to the inn. Have a wonderful summer.

Sincerely,
Sherrie and Marc
Innkeepers and Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spruce Creek, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We recently stayed at the Inn at Cooperstown. We had gone to see our grandson play at Cooperstown Dreams Park. This is a wonderful little inn right in the middle of Cooperstown. You are within walking distance of the Hall of Fame, Wax Museum, and all the other little attractions in downtown Cooperstown. If you want to walk and get a little exercise, you are not far from the Otesaga Inn and golf course (the course is beautiful), the Filmore Museum (art) and the Farm Museum (one of the best places to take those kids that are not playing baseball). They do have a bus that will take you out there, but we walked out and rode back. The Inn, itself is very charming and the breakfast is wonderful. Great way to start the day. The owners are there at breakfast and converse with each table. These are in depth conversations and they really do seem to care about your stay. As was mentioned, after a day of walking, the front porch is lined with rocking chairs. The rooms are clean and not huge but kind of just the size you would expect in this type of hotel. All the amenities are there. There is no eleavator, that I saw. We stayed on the 3rd floor. If you have a disability, make sure you tell them when you are making your reservation. Neither my wife nor I have a disability, so it was good exercise for us. The staff does offer to take your bags up for you, if you desire. We definitely will go back to the Inn as we have more grandsons coming up who will play at Dreams Park.

Room Tip: City side has a better view. Back side faces the parking lot. No eleavator, so if you have trouble...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sprucecreekfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAC-Owner, Owner at The Inn at Cooperstown, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Cleveland,

Thanks so very much for taking the time to write such a detailed and complimentary review of your stay at The Inn at Cooperstown! We truly appreciate all the kind words and are so glad you enjoyed watching your grandsons play at Dreams Park as well as your time at the fine museums and attractions in Cooperstown. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to our village!

Sincerely,
Sherrie and Marc
Innkeepers and Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

My husband and I, along with my 81 year old father, just spent 5 days in Cooperstown to watch our son play in a baseball tournament at Cooperstown Dreams Park. We stayed at the Otesaga the first night (before my arrival), but we moved to The Inn at Cooperstown for the remainder of the trip because the Otesaga was not available...wow, how lucky are we? Our first and only nigth at the Otesaga was a disaster (bad room, poor service and very expensive--see our separate review) and several of our friends who stayed there for the week had similarly poor experiences. We were, indeed, the lucky ones as The Inn at Cooperstown is an absolute delight. The historic structure really makes you feel as if you have gone back in time, yet everything is very updated. They have wireless internet and flat screens in all the rooms. The rooms are nicely appointed and quite clean. The staff is unbeatable...friendly and always smiling. My two favorite things, however, were the front porch and the morning muffins....The front porch is lined with rocking chairs and you will find yourself wanting to sit there all day....quite relaxing. And, the highlight of the morning breakfast is the terrific coffee and the homemade muffins. We had chocolate chip muffins a couple of mornings--decadent. The cranberry and blueberry are terrific also. Cooperstown is a gem of a village with the lovely surrounding hills of Central NY. While I think most folks who can afford it feel compelled to stay at that Otesaga, don't make that mistake....The Inn at Cooperstown will make you Cooperstown visit a special one!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank verde-trekkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAC-Owner, Owner at The Inn at Cooperstown, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Verde-Trekkers,

Sounds like you found the favorite spot at the inn - the rockers on our beautful front porch. Many of our guests would agree! Thanks to you for your lovely review of our historic hotel. We truly appreciate your business and your very kind words.

Sincerely,
Sherrie and Marc
Innkeepers and Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wenham, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed June 14, 2013

My husband and I recently spent 3 nights at the Inn at Cooperstown. We loved it and would recommend it. Our room was very clean, nicely decorated, and the bed was very comfortable. It was quiet at night too. The staff was very welcoming and helpful about everything we asked them, which was a lot. There was a nice breakfast each morning, and it was nice to talk with other guests during this time. The location is perfect as you can walk to absolutely everything including the Hall of Fame, The Fenimore Museum, the Farm Museum, and the Lake.
Nice place to stay.

Room Tip: There is no elevator so if you have trouble with stairs talk with the owners first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAC-Owner, Owner at The Inn at Cooperstown, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Alison,

Thanks to you for writing such a nice review of The Inn at Cooperstown. As you have noted we have a "park and walk" location that is just perfect to enjoy all that Cooperstown has to offer. We appreciate your recognition of this and your time in writing a review. The inn does have some first floor rooms as well as a staff that is more than willing to help with bags upon check-in and check-out. Thanks again!

Sincerely,
Sherrie and Marc,
Innkeepers and Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, TN
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our recent stay at the Inn at Cooperstown. The location is perfect if you are looking to walk over to main street, dinner, or the Baseball Hall of Fame. The breakfast was exactly what we wanted and had the personal touches I expect with this type of accommodation. The front porch and the accompanying rocking chairs proved to be a welcome retreat after a long day. However, the best part of our stay was the feeling of home that was given to us by the innkeepers and the wonderful staff. We will definitely be returning upon our next trip to Cooperstown.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bellman1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAC-Owner, Owner at The Inn at Cooperstown, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Bellman,

We're so glad you "felt at home" during your recent stay at The Inn at Cooperstown. The entire staff at the inn strives to provide a warm, welcoming, and comfortable environment for our guests. We truly appreciate the fact that you have recognized that. Thanks so very much!

Sincerely,
Sherrie and Marc
Innkeepers and Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cooperstown
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
0.0 mi away
The Cooper Inn
The Cooper Inn
#3 of 16 in Cooperstown
258 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lake Front Hotel
Lake Front Hotel
#7 of 16 in Cooperstown
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tunnicliff Inn
Tunnicliff Inn
#13 of 16 in Cooperstown
248 reviews
4.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Cooperstown Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
The Otesaga Resort Hotel
The Otesaga Resort Hotel
#2 of 16 in Cooperstown
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Cooperstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Cooperstown

Property: The Inn at Cooperstown
Address: 16 Chestnut St, Cooperstown, NY 13326-1041
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Cooperstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cooperstown
#1 Family Hotel in Cooperstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Cooperstown is a lovely historic hotel located in the heart of the village just a short walk from the National Baseball Hall of Fame and many fine attractions, restaurants, and shops. This award-winning structure was built in 1874, fully restored in 1985, and is thoughtfully updated on an annual basis. The Inn has the warmth and comfort of a home. Eighteen spotless guest rooms, all with private bathrooms, air conditioning, and flat panel televisions, are individually decorated with many charming touches. Unwind in a rocking chair on the front porch or enjoy the fireplace in a cozy sitting room after exploring the village of Cooperstown. Experience Cooperstown with one of our unforgettable and exclusive packages. The hotel is open year-round and offers amenities including free Wi-Fi, off-street parking, handicap accessible rooms, and family friendly accommodations. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn At Cooperstown Hotel Cooperstown
Inn At Cooperstown
Bed Breakfast Cooperstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing