We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay in Cooperstown!”
Review of The Barnwell Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cooperstown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Barnwell Inn
Ranked #8 of 29 Cooperstown B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 27, 2012

First off, great location; you can walk anywhere in downtown Cooperstown from the Barnwell Inn. Secondly, what a homey, cozy, accommodating atmosphere! My husband and I had the Green Room upstairs while my parents stayed in the downstairs suite, which was great in the evenings because we could get together and either sit in the living area, or sit on the porch. The breakfasts are AMAZING! Caramel and chocolate cheesecake and a parmesan and virginia ham quiche, breakfast pizza, ALWAYS homemade biscuits and bacon, fresh fruit and coffee and juice. Tara and Mark go out of their way to make the "breakfast" part of "bed and breakfast" so special. No bagels and dry croissants here! They even made a blueberry french toast casserole for me on my birthday during our stay. Everything was clean and well kept. They respected our privacy and were prompt to answer questions. Tara was full of helpful advice on where to shop or eat during our stay and Mark was full of great stories about his recipes. My husband remarked that Tara is "probably the friendliest person I've ever met". We loved everything about staying at the Barnwell Inn and we look forward to staying there again soon!

Room Tip: If you are traveling with another couple, having one of them splurge for the downstairs suite is a g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carlie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 129 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2011

The location is very good, just a few blocks from Main Street in Cooperstown, and maybe 1/2 mile from the Hall of Fame.

We stayed in the downstairs suite which was great. The bed is extremely comfortable, and we enjoyed watching TV in the sitting room. We had a small porch as well, but it was too cold to spend time out there. It looked nice, though. The bathroom is very large...maybe my only complaint is the very light water pressure in the shower.

The breakfast is absolutely fabulous. We had spinach and feta quiche that was so light and fluffy and tasty. Bacon, biscuits, fresh fruit, coffee, juice. And then a warm peach cobbler for dessert...that's right....you get dessert with your breakfast!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chinacat_Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2011

The owners, Tara and Mark, are wonderful hosts and make you feel right at home. We stayed in the yellow room which was spacious, clean and comfortable. Each morning we awoke to the smells of freshly brewed coffee and a wonderful array of breakfast foods, such as buiscuits, bacon, fresh fruit, egg casseroles, and a peach cobbler to die for! Tara gave great suggestions to eat and shop and the best part is we didn't have to drive the entire weekend...downtown Cooperstown is within walking distance which gave us a great picture of this "Mayberry" reminiscent quaint town. Staying here again would be a must should we come back to Cooperstown.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

My wife and I just spent a perfect, magical weekend in Cooperstown--mostly due to the lovely room and great advice from our hosts at the Barnwell Inn. I only wish that we could have stayed longer, dallying over evening drinks in the library and enjoying the fall foliage even more.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ItaliaAmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

The Barnwell Inn is a big slice of heaven!
You will feel right at home with the warm and welcoming hospitality of Mark and Tara Barnwell.
This past weekend was our 4th visit to Cooperstown and 4th time at the Inn and we will never stay anywhere else.
Mark makes the most incredibly awesome breakfast, that I look forward to from the moment we leave till our next visit.
Each year my memories of the last are exceeded by leaps and bounds!
Their knowledge of all things local will absolutely make your stay.
And when it's time to go and you say goodbye you will most certainly feel that you have a home away from home in Cooperstown.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patty m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

It was pure luck that we managed to book a room with Tara and Mark, hosts at the Barnwell Inn this past August. The experience was wonderful. This lovely inn is within walking distance to downtown Cooperstown. Rooms are inviting and comfortable. Tara was knowledgeable and helpful about places to dine, recommending Nicoletta's Restaurant for dinner, and called for reservations for us. The next morning, an amazing breakfast was served in the cozy dining room, with homemade specialties ranging from quiche and muffins to a baked French toast casserole. The Barnwell Inn was a fabulous experience, one which we hope to have again soon!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenmorangi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Hosts Tara and Mark are what makes staying at The Barnwell Inn a true B&B experince. When we travel we almost always stay at B&B's so we have many experiences to draw on. I went out for a walk in the afternoon as you need lots of exercise after their fabulous breakfasts ! It started to rain (pouring ) and Tara actually came out and spent 30 minutes looking for me, That's exceptional hospitalitiy. Tara knows the area, all of it quirks and positives and shares them. Mark is so fun to talk to at breakfast. If you stay there, you are gauranteed to want to go back,. You'll actually miss it .

Room Tip: Just let Tara know your preferences and she'll try to accomodate you if possible. We stayed in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikelowellfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cooperstown hotels
0.4 mi away
The Inn at Cooperstown
The Inn at Cooperstown
#1 of 16 in Cooperstown
897 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Cooper Inn
The Cooper Inn
#3 of 16 in Cooperstown
284 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Landmark Inn
Landmark Inn
#1 of 29 in Cooperstown
355 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast
0.3 mi away
The White House Inn
The White House Inn
#2 of 29 in Cooperstown
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Barnwell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Barnwell Inn

Address: 48 Susquehanna Ave, Cooperstown, NY 13326-1240
Location: United States > New York > Cooperstown
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Cooperstown
Price Range: $125 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing