We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome sandwiches!”
Review of Danny's Market

Danny's Market
Ranked #23 of 60 Restaurants in Cooperstown
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Restaurant details
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
70 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Awesome sandwiches!”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Fresh bread, quality meats! The Cuban is my all-time favorite here, and since the owners changed it has gotten a bit better because they know to keep it fresh and stocked! Help yourself bottled drinks and chips and minimal seating because its also a small market with mostly gourmet snacks and deli, but definitely worth the stop for lunch, and they have a prime location right in the middle of main street!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Doug P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    44
    23
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Summit, New Jersey
Level Contributor
522 reviews
349 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Pretty good sandwiches!”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

I've eaten here a few times over the past year and they make pretty good sandwiches overall. The bread is fresh and the meat to bread ratio is pretty darn good. They also deliver, which is nice when you're getting food for lunch at work. This is my go-to sandwich place in town!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
94 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Tries to be quaint, but not what it seems”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

On first glance, this place appeals to your longing to go back to that old-time, neighborhood deli with delicious, over stuffed sandwiches and homemade delights. But after you sit a bit and wait for your sandwhich you realize that it is a facade, a sham, a ruse. It has the space for the fresh veggies but it is filled with packaged crap for sale, It has wooden bowls for sale where there used to be some kind of food service area. There are no cheeses or sausages aging as they hang. Instead the decor is drink coolers, candy bars and hot sauces.

It may not fully be the owners fault, they are probably doing what has the highest cost:profit ratio and nostalgia may not fall under that category. It is too bad, they have what could be a great atmosphere and if only they accentuated it and had the food to match.

The sandwich was OK, the soup mediocre and the bottom line is:
I would not revisit.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Xenon007700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neshanic Station, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Fast and Yum!”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

It was great for gourmet sandwiches on the go, we had to grab a sandwich and catch a bus- Danny's did not let us down!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank mzgombic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not worth the visit”
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

I have gone twice to Danny's in the past 4 months and both times I have had a less than mediocre meal.I doubt I will go again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jeepgal31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Danny's Market also viewed

 

Been to Danny's Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing