We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Taste of Heaven”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cooperstown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gateway Inn & Suites of Cooperstown
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Cooperstown
Reviewed September 19, 2010

I was very surprised to read the prior negative review because I had the exact opposite reaction. Usually staying in time-share condos or standard hotel suites, I found the 2-bedroom apartment where we stayed for a week to be a lovely taste of someone’s home. The suite was tastefully decorated with attractive furniture that was comfortable (including the beds – a king in one room and two full in the second). Beautifully handmade quilts adorned the beds and gave it a rustic, colonial feel. It was fully equipped with all amenities (wireless Internet, TV in each bedroom in addition to living area) and the kitchen had little surprise touches (crackers, salt and pepper, spices etc). The two bedrooms were dark, but that made it ideal for sleeping (isn’t that what bedrooms are for?). I most enjoyed sitting at the window while dining in, and marveling at the beauty of the picturesque, breathtaking valley view. The close proximity to the town made it easily accessible to run in for a quick activity. The suites were a home away from home and I look forward to visiting Gateway again in the near future.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natashia1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (213)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 213 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2010

The Gateway Inn and Suites is a terrible place to stay. The room was dark, musty and the furniture was something left over from a bad garage sale. The bed had no support and had to be at least 50 years old. The room smelled like an old barn. The outside lighting was virtually non-existent and definitely not safe. There was no internet access and cell phones did not work there.

As per a previous reviewer's comments, the Innkeeper bad-mouthed all the people coming to Cooperstown for Dreams Park baseball. However, they jack up their rates by more than 100% during the summer to gouge them. I guess they never heard the saying about biting the hand that feeds you.

You are much better off paying a little more at established chain hotel/motel. At least you have modern conveniences and won't have to worry about Norman stopping by for a late night visit....

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ecpillpusher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2010

Gateway Inn and Suites was a great alternative to other lodging options in the area. Gateway Inn and Suites provided a relaxing, quiet, country feel to our vacation. Our room was decorated just right to compliment Gateway's rural location. In comparison to the prices we saw elsewhere in town, Gateway surpassed all in value. The welcoming owners proved to be well informed and provided us with dining recommendations which were spot-on. Our room was clean and neat. A great place to stay if you're travelling to Coopertown.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AL10_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2010

My fiance, son and I stayed at gateway inn and suites in a house style suite. It was not only beautiful it was very budget friendly. There was a large yard with areas for different sports, very nice for children. The owners were very acomidating. They were always available for assistance and even helped us find fun places to take our son. I would deffinately stay there again.

Thank you Gateway Inn and Suites!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funincooperstown21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2010

After a weary day of travelling with our pooch, we were guided to the Gateway Inn & Suites (because we had a dog) and what we found was just wonderful. Clean rooms, great hospitality, lush green surroundings, a wonderful relaxing pool and they allowed pets. The suite had everything you could want, it was crispy clean, had a full working kitchen, large screen t.v. , king size bed, just great accommodations. The staff at the Inn was very helpful with directions to area attractions. Whenever my husband and I, and the pooch, travel again to Cooperstown, we know we will have a great place to stay. I would recommend this Inn to anybody travelling to Cooperstown, with or without the pooch.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scooter070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2010

When we met the owners they were both kind but after listening to them badmouth Cooperstown accomodations and the "crazy baseball moms" we should have known it was red flag. The owner was completely rude the second day and we were harassed at 6am on why we had more than one vehicle parked in the front of the house. We were told by the owner upon check in we could have up to 4 couples over to visit this proved to be untrue. I could not sleep in my room due to the awful smell of what we though was cat urine. However we moved the chair out from the wall and found it to be covered in mold! Yes mold from the air conditioner!!!!! (the bedrooms are the ONLY place that has small air conditioning units) I took photos and I will be reporting this to Cooperstown the Better Bus Bur. etc. The kitchen was filthy - I pulled out two pans to cook on both in which were covered in food. The shower was not cleaned once while we were there, the towels were old and musty, there were BUGS everywhere. Terrible stay. I would not recommend this to anyone. The inn keepers are completely misleading and two of the rudest and unkind people I have ever met. In fact the message left on my husbands voicemail stated that they were "disappointed to drive by this morning and see more than one vehicle parked in the driveway" Sorry Gateway inn but YOU WERE A DISAPPOINTMENT TO US!!! To topo the entire thing off we were over charged. She quoted us 199 a night we recieved a receipt with a hand written amount and the lower price scratched out. She stated sorry my husband mis quoted and charged our card for the higher amount. When we questioned her she basically didnt budge and we ended up paying more than quoted - I will be disputing this as soon as i get home. Beware - not the place for family - and definitely misleading.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank wheetiebug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2010

Went to Ctown with four high school friends....have been trying to get everybody for several years and finally succeeded......flew into Albany from Chicago, rented van for the five of us, and went on to Ctown for our visit.....woke the owners for assistance in finding Inn because we had arrived so late.....we had three rooms (two in a room) and one single.....upon arrival and our opening the door we were elated....a big living room with a large screen TB, a PC, and the bedrooms were beyond our wildest expectations. Each room had a phone, bath, tv, and comfortable beds....the guys all said that I had made a great find. We also had access to a full kitchen and all the other items offered......it was a truly great place to stay and our hosts were fantastic.

I have been meaning to write a review for the longest time.....I would recommend staying at the Inn not just for the value but for the graciousness and hospitality of the owners.....thank you very much

Lee Hirsch
Lombard, IL

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cubfan13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cooperstown
1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
3.2 mi away
The Inn at Cooperstown
The Inn at Cooperstown
#2 of 17 in Cooperstown
903 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Cooper Inn
The Cooper Inn
#4 of 17 in Cooperstown
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Best Western Cooperstown Inn & Suites
3.5 mi away
Lake Front Hotel
Lake Front Hotel
#9 of 17 in Cooperstown
311 reviews
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Milford/Cooperstown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Inn & Suites of Cooperstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Inn & Suites of Cooperstown

Address: 107 Beaver Meadow Rd, Cooperstown, NY 13326-4901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Cooperstown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cooperstown
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cooperstown
#6 Family Hotel in Cooperstown
Price Range: $40 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘A short drive south of the village at County Highway 33 and Beaver Meadow Road, the Gateway Inn and Suites of Cooperstown offers rooms and suites in a variety of sizes in a country-style, park-like environment. With a swimming pool, basketball court, soccer field and other outdoor activities at economical rates, this hotel offers one of the best values in the area.’ – USA Today ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gateway Inn And Suites Of Cooperstown
Gateway Inn & Suites Of Cooperstown Hotel Cooperstown
Gateway Hotel Cooperstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing