We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gateway Inn & Suites of Cooperstown
Nearby Hotels
Bayside Inn & Marina(Cooperstown)(Great Value!)
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Otesaga Resort Hotel(Cooperstown)
$269
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hickory Grove Motor Inn(Cooperstown)(Great Value!)
$129
$119
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Cooperstown Inn & Suites(Cooperstown)(Great Value!)
$242
$228
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Lake Front Hotel(Cooperstown)(Great Value!)
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lake N Pines Motel(Cooperstown)
$135
$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tunnicliff Inn(Cooperstown)(Great Value!)
$174
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$199
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cooper Inn(Cooperstown)
$414
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lake View Motel(Cooperstown)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (213)
Filter reviews
213 results
Traveler rating
151
43
9
5
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
151
43
9
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsliving roomhall of famefully equipped kitchenrural settingminute drivedreams parkglimmerglass festivalconvenient locationmvpericwatercolorbaseballtownamenitiescooperaccommodationsrefrigerator
Filter
Updating list...
99 - 104 of 213 reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed Friday to Friday while my son was playing ball at Cooperstown Dreams Park! 10 minutes from park, incredible scenery and plenty of wildlife. Eric and his wife were great! My daughter loved the chipmunks, squirrels and birds that were in abundance...We even met Eric's Saint Bernard puppy...Lovely place to stay! Eric is also a very talented artist, which is reflected in all the paintings that he has hanging in the Suites. Hopefully one day we will get back up there! Just an Amazing Trip...

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013


Pros:
1. Cold, yet clean & serviceable pool. Kids happy-nothing fancy. Bring your own pool towel.
2. Picturesque setting.
3. Convenient location to all Cooperstown has to offer.
4. Space fit our family's travel needs (2 adults & 4 kids)

Cons:
1. Be forewarned: you will not get a sense that this place is kept clean between guests:
Baseboards dirty, door handles & surround visibly grimy, all rooms with ceiling cobwebs, kitchen with food splattered spots, just a few examples.

2. Bed linens were clearly past their prime. Old flat pillows; reused bed spreads between guests.

3. Strong smell of perfume-y air fresheners. Every once in a while, a potent wet dog smell would creep up.

Here's the deal. If we were paying $75-$100 this really wouldn't be a big deal. You get what you pay for. But we paid $200 a night and we expected a whole lot more.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank BridgetS360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNewYork, Owner at Gateway Inn & Suites of Cooperstown, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2013

Thank you for your comments. I’m sorry that you were disappointed, yet at the same time am somewhat confused. First, yes the pool likely was cool as prior to your arrival we experienced several days of rain and therefore had not had the heater on. Additionally, we (as many other local inns) have just hired summer help who is still in the training stages. However, we do inspect each unit prior to a guest’s arrival and noted on our check list that the baseboards had been cleaned and the bed linens (including spreads) had been changed. And, while I personally had brief amicable conversations with you several times during your three night, three day stay, you never expressed any concerns or requested additional linens or housekeeping attention. Further, while we have two pet friendly units, the suite that your party stayed in is not one and has never had an animal in the unit.

As you realize, we do not pattern ourselves after the cookie cutter hotel chains. Our walls are not painted off white, our towels and bed sheets are not white, and our bed spreads are not the fluffy throws that have become the chain standards for the last decade. Instead, we attempt to capture a more personal and rustic theme with quilt-style bedspreads, darker colored walls and artwork that depicts the Cooperstown Area. Many appreciate this home-style approach along with our scenic setting. Others feel more comfortable in standard style accommodations that can be found in any chain in the country and therefore are disconcerted with that they had not anticipated.

Lastly, many area visitors fail to take the local Cooperstown lodging market into consideration. The summer room rates at the three national chains (located in the Cooperstown Area) are over $200./night and legally can accommodate only four guests. In other words, a party of six would require two rooms at a price that would range from $400./night to $540./night. In light of this, most quests have found our two bedroom suites with living room and kitchen to be quite economical. At the same time, dropping several hundred on lodging can be difficult to stomach during a struggling economy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed over last night. We decided at the last minute to visit Cooperstown and found this motel through tripadvisor. We loved it! We stayed in the Rookie and it was great. Quiet but with all the amenities you would expect in a large chain. Eric was great with maps to Cooperstown and suggestions on local restaurants. We checked in late in the afternoon after calling the motel from the road. Eric gave us the heads up on local construction which helped us to correct our GPS directions, which kept redirecting us back to the bridge that was blocked off! Cooperstown is a lovely place with quaint shops and friendly people. Even though there are a lot of accommodations in the Cooperstown area, I can't think of a better place to stay - so relaxing and welcoming. I know we'll be back to check out other attractions in the area and of course to stay with Eric and Lynn (and visit Stanton the rock star - their Saint Bernard pup).

Room Tip: We liked the Rookie - it faced away from the parking area to an open picnic area. Very quiet.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNewYork, Owner at Gateway Inn & Suites of Cooperstown, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2013

Thank you for your review. It is satisfying to know that you enjoyed your stay at our inn. Lynn and I have attempted to develop our little market niche and it is exciting for us when we have guests who appreciate our approach to decorating, amenities and scenic setting. Your thoughtful input reinforces our efforts in making Gateway Inn & Suites a clean, comfortable home away from home. We look forward to your return visit. ~ Eric

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed one night in the Doubleday suite. The room had that bed and breakfast look with all the motel amenities. The gentleman at the front desk was very helpful in answering our questions and we appreciated the art piece he gave us. He is very talented. The room had a coffeemaker and plenty of condiments to go with it. Towels were nice. The room was clean and we saw no bugs although we had one big surprise.

We discovered a bat in the corner on the floor and it would have been quite comical watching us chase it around with a plastic coat hanger and waste basket. We finally got it outside and it crawled under the back deck. I called the owner and he said that was a first for him and he'd have pest control check it out. I am sure that it probably flew in with the last guests who probably left the sliding doors open to get the fresh country air. I could see no other way for him to get in so was not worried there would be anymore.

It was less than 10 minutes to Cooperstown and a very pretty area to stay in. It was very quiet and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gator0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNewYork, Owner at Gateway Inn & Suites of Cooperstown, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment about Gateway Inn & Suites. We are pleased that you appreciated our scenic and convenient location. I was somewhat surprised that you questioned the value as I do not believe you can find any suite in the Cooperstown Area priced as low as ours. Of course I do realize Cooperstown is higher priced than many areas during the summer months which likely was one of your considerations.

As I previously mentioned, I was also confused when you alluded to a flying friend snuggled in the corner. While I have seen many several miles north on the lake, I have not seen one on the inn’s property during the fourteen years I have been here. Regardless, the exterminator inspected and said while he found no evidence, it might be advantageous to advise guests not to leave doors open during the evening and night hours.

Should you head our way in the future, please consider our inn for your resting spot. While it appears that your short visit was meaningful, the Cooperstown Area has so much more to offer!
Best Wishes, Eric

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed at the motel during the past weekend. We loved the country setting and location. While the hotel is surrounded by farms, fields, and woodlands, the quaint town of Cooperstown, as well as many attractions are quite close. The room was very comfortable and had all of the accommodations you could wish for. The price was fantastic. We loved the artwork that Eric gives out to his guests. Would definitely return!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhillyGuy17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews