We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Neat old inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tunnicliff Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tunnicliff Inn
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Cooperstown
corning
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Neat old inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

The Tunnicliff Inn is another little gem tucked away on a side street in Cooperstown. We stayed there right at the end of the off season, so the rate was very reasonable. Different inns up there change their seasonal rates at different times so its worth checking around. Add to the bargain, a free upgrade from queen to king and it was a great deal. The room was not huge but had all the amenities - very nice, including a fireplace (with insert), mini fridge, coffee maker (they even put half and half in the fridge instead of that powder stuff!!), hair dryer,, iron board - all the usual stuff. There was both a continental and hot breakfast available downstairs starting at 8AM and the food was pretty good. My only complaint was the shower was very tiny (miniscule!!) and I had trouble keeping the shower curtain in the stall so I didnt get water everywhere. But it was very clean, very comfortable and we would definitely stay there again :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    75
    38
    19
    12
See reviews for
42
136
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Union, New Jersey
Level Contributor
209 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Stayed here one night with my teen while visiting the area recently. We arrived at the inn about 11:30 am and Tom said we can check in early which was unexpected but a huge plus. He was very nice, showed us around the inn and brought us to our room. We stayed in the twin room #16 (not the one with fireplace). I agree with other reviewers that the inn is a little worn, but our room was clean and comfortable with a clean bathroom. Bathroom's had hairdryers and small packets of shampoo and soap. The towels and bed linens were black so that bothered me a little that the items do not get bleached in the wash though they smelled and looked clean. Small parking lot in back. The inn was very quiet and it reminded me of staying at an old grandmother's house :) The free breakfast was pretty good, stuffed french toast, pancakes, eggs, bacon, sausage, cereals, pastries, assorted breads for toasting, juices, coffee/tea,fruit salad and yogurt. The restaurant downstairs "The Pit" was a little worn looking also, had a pretty wooden bar with no bar stools though. (see seperate review on that) with a nice Tues night dinner special of $6 Everything seems to close early in Cooperstown (shops close around 4 or 5pm) and some businesses were still closed for the season. There is a CVS nearby that closes at 8pm. I would stay here again, especially this time of year or fall, but in the summer I would consider staying at a place near the lake or one that had a pool.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BEG1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
286 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

We just returned from another trip to Cooperstown. Stayed at the Tunnicliff Inn again and still no complaints. We love the feel of the old place ~ squeaky floors and all. Rooms are clean and well maintained. We arrived a little early and was able to check-in by 1:00. Breakfast was not as good as we remember from before. Location is great for all the local shops, attractions and restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MIKENGIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake George, New York
Level Contributor
166 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

This hotel is a great place if your doing downtown. Off site parking, and our room was a little worn and tiny.breakfast was pretty good, but food downstairs was sub par at best and service spotty.
Would help to have curbside valet or bellman. Our room was old and air conditioning did not do the trick but hotel is a good value compared to other area accomodations.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wappingers falls, ny
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

My husband and I just returned from our stay here. The location of this Inn couldn't be better. You are right on the corner of Main street and in the middle of everything the village has to offer. We arrived early and we able to check in right away. Parking is in the rear of the building but only fits a couple of cars. We were fortunate to have a spot available, mostly due to it being the off seasson. We stayed in the Kingfisher suite. I had seen the photos online and read a couple of reviews about this specific room and I believe the manager has since updated the room. The walls in the room are not all the deep burgandy color, however more of an accent color used on one wall around the fire place. The linenes and comforter on the bed were new, soft, plush and VERY comfy. There were three different types of pillows on the bed all of which were also comfortable. The bathroom is small and the shower stall even smaller - however it gets the job done. Considering the bathrooms were added to each room in this 200 year old building I would say they did a wonderful job with the space they had to work with. There is a dvd/blueray player in the room which we did not have the opportunity to use however there are movies downstairs which guests can borrow to watch (a list of available movies is provided in the room with the directions on how to use the remote for the tv) We found the room itself to be quiet warm at night (the old building uses steam heat) but not so warm that it was uncomfortable. There was a ceiling fan that we could have used, if we chose to. The breakfast buffet offered in the morning was deliscious!! Between 8am-8:30am there is the continental breakfast (coffee, juice, cereal, pastries). From 8:30 to 9:30 or so is the full buffet. They offered fruit, pastries, strawberry stuffed french toast, bacon, sausage, canadian bacon, scrambled eggs, eggs benedict and home fries....all of which was hot and tasty. The Inn was clean, smelled good and we didn't see any mold anywhere in the bathroom. I'm sure there are some newer places in the area to stay where the floors aren't slightly slanted and have full bathtubs but this place has charm and a great cozy feeling. We are looking forward to going back again in the spring!

Room Tip: The Kingfisher suite was wonderful however it does face the street so I can see how in the summer ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is really THE best value in Cooperstown. You can't beat the location: it's in the heart of downtown, a block away in one direction is the Hall of Fame and a block away in the other direction is the field. The property is modest, although very cozy. The surrounding inns are much grander, but boy do you pay for it. I have comparison shopped for inn prices in Cooperstown in peak season and the off season, and the Tunnicliff Inn always gives you the most bang for your buck. The price of a room includes a hot breakfast buffet. My only complaint is the shower was so tiny as to be uncomfortable, and I'm not a big person. But, given the price and the location, I did not mind.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skittles10001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Mid week stay in October. Can't beat the location, close to the Hall of Fame and downtown restaurants. Room and inn seem tired. Shower stall was "coffin" small. Room was good size. Breakfast was okay with hot food.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjc1228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cooperstown
0.3 mi away
Lake Front Hotel
Lake Front Hotel
#7 of 16 in Cooperstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
4.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Cooperstown Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The White House Inn
The White House Inn
#2 of 29 in Cooperstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
6.7 mi away
Bayside Inn & Marina
Bayside Inn & Marina
#5 of 16 in Cooperstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.3 mi away
Landmark Inn
Landmark Inn
#1 of 29 in Cooperstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tunnicliff Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tunnicliff Inn

Property: Tunnicliff Inn
Address: 34 Pioneer St # 36, Cooperstown, NY 13326-1072
Location: United States > New York > Cooperstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cooperstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Inn built in 1802. Located in the center of downtown Cooperstown. Only 498 Feet from the Baseball Hall of Fame. All Rooms include our Free Hot Breakfast Buffet and Free Wi-Fi. 17 Rooms each with a Private Bathroom, Air Conditioning, Television, DVD Player, Hairdryer, Iron, Telephone, Radio Alarm Clock and Ceiling Fan. Mini-Fridge and coffee makers in our Executive rooms and Suites. Family Restaurant on premise serves Lunch and Dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Tunnicliff Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tunnicliff Hotel Cooperstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing