We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adorable and quaint inn in the middle of Cooperstown”
Review of Tunnicliff Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tunnicliff Inn
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Cooperstown
Reviewed December 22, 2011

The location of this Inn is perfect! We were visiting the Hall of Fame and this hotel is about a half block away. The floors are crooked but that adds to the charm. The bathroom is tiny but we didn't intend to use the shower while staying. My husband who is 6'4" would probably have to crouch a bit to use the shower. Othwerwise we found our room to be comfortable and quiet and relaxing. The laid back attitude here is perfect and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pagrl17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (253)
There are newer reviews for Tunnicliff Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 253 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2011

Tunnicliff Inn is a beautiful, 209 year old Inn built in 1802 and has every bit of the charm and authenticity you would expect from an early 19 century home! I stay there every week during my work assignment, sometimes for 5 nights at a time, and love every stay. The room sizes vary greatly, each room tastefully decorated with simple elegance. Some have refrigerators and coffee makers, and some don't, so you have to be specific with your needs. The bathrooms are generally small, but the house wasn't built with a bathroom in every bedroom, and had to be added in, and space was limited, I'm sure. The free breakfast buffet is way more than adequate, not your usual free continental breakfast. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Expect creaky 19 century floors, which add to the charm and originality of this lovely home. I love Tunnicliff, and will continue to return each week, and when my work assignment is over, it will be my favorite cooperstown vacation spot!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loriellen1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

The inn is a nice old inn, just off Main Street in Cooperstown. The location is great, the staff was quite nice. The room was fine... but the floors were slanted, which was a little jarring. The price was very reasonable, and surprise included a lovely breakfast buffet.

There is a restaurant downstairs with no ambiance but great burgers.

Room Tip: If stairs are a problem, speak up! We were two flights up.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leaudemiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

My husband & I stayed here while visting the Baseball Hall of Fame. After a long bus ride from NYC we were pleasently surprised with our stayed in a Standard King Room on the 3rd floor. The room was spacious & bed was very comfortable! Only beware is the narrow staircase, especially if your on the 3rd floor. But it would not prevent me from choosing the room again. The staff was very pleasent. There was a hot buffet breakfast in the morning that was VERY yummy! There is also a resturant in the basement of the Inn, which had a delicious dinner. Cooperstown is a small town, but Tunnicliff seems to be perfectly placed in the middle of town. Almost everything we needed was in walking distance. The hall of fame is less than a 5 min walk. We would love to return her one day!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Browns_Wifey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights 4 days. Had a very nice time. Hotel staff was very accommodating Room was nice funiture but kept with the historical setting. Clean, Free Breakfast was fantastic. with a hot food bar each day. Very nice atmosphere. ONe thing was the slanted floors but we loved them It showed the charactor of the old hotel. You would be slanted if you were 200+ years old. BAthrooms were neat and clean and had level floors. YOU could tell the bathrooms were newly installed. Would recommend this hotel and we would and will go back.

Room Tip: The heat in the rooms is very warm Old style radiators. We had to shut the heat off entirely as it...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carol s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

We couldn't have been more pleased. The charm of the 209 year old building, the convenient location to everything, the incredibly friendly people, and free parking with everything in walking distance. Lovely breakfast buffet included. Would definitely go back!!!

Room Tip: Loved every amenity in Kingfisher Suite
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DLM2011_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

We had driven from Detroit, to Cooperstown. We arrived around 9:30PM. The guy at the desk, was the same person we booked our reservation with on the phone. And yes, he was super friendly. We got the last room, as it was July 4 weekend. It was more expensive than something much nicer, probably because of that fact.
If you are someone who likes spotless and new, you will not love the Tunnicliff. It is older and creaky. We had a large room with a King bed, at the top of the stairs. I was not impressed with the room, and the bathroom was oddly positioned and teeny tiny. Very ornate old duvet cover and pillows. Not my style, but the bed was comfortable. Old carpet and just an older place. Parking next door at the Funeral home.
Nicolleta's was a nice Italian restaurant on the main street that was gracious in allowing us in to eat at 9:45, when they close at 10. Nice wine list prices too.
Tunnecliff is just off the Main St...however this is a sleepy town, and is SHUT DOWN by 10PM. We were there the Friday night of July 4 weekend.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank eeeandess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cooperstown
0.1 mi away
The Cooper Inn
The Cooper Inn
#3 of 16 in Cooperstown
270 reviews
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
0.3 mi away
Lake Front Hotel
Lake Front Hotel
#7 of 16 in Cooperstown
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Cooperstown
The Inn at Cooperstown
#1 of 16 in Cooperstown
858 reviews
5.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites at the Ballpark
0.3 mi away
The Otesaga Resort Hotel
The Otesaga Resort Hotel
#2 of 16 in Cooperstown
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tunnicliff Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tunnicliff Inn

Address: 34 Pioneer St # 36, Cooperstown, NY 13326-1072
Location: United States > New York > Cooperstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cooperstown
Price Range: $109 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Inn built in 1802. Located in the center of downtown Cooperstown. Only 498 Feet from the Baseball Hall of Fame. All Rooms include our Free Hot Breakfast Buffet and Free Wi-Fi. 17 Rooms each with a Private Bathroom, Air Conditioning, Television, DVD Player, Hairdryer, Iron, Telephone, Radio Alarm Clock and Ceiling Fan. Mini-Fridge and coffee makers in our Executive rooms and Suites. Family Restaurant on premise serves Lunch and Dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Tunnicliff Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tunnicliff Hotel Cooperstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing