We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice comforatable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hickory Grove Motor Inn
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Cooperstown
Reviewed August 2, 2014

We stayed 2 night at Hickory Run motel and were very pleased. Room was clean and comfortable, office staff were very pleasant. Rates were very good considering we were there the day after HOF inductions. Motel is approx 6 mile north of town, on scenic road along lake. Although they have lake access we did not walk down to lake.

We originally planned just to stay one night touring Cooperstown and Baseball HOF, but found Hickory Grove was pleasant and decided to stay another day. Basically we just slept there.

I rather support local motels when visiting small towns, rather supporting the chain hotels. Especially when they are close and comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
There are newer reviews for Hickory Grove Motor Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 96 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2014

Very clean, comfortable room. ROOM 3 had a very nice view of the lake. Only flaw was the tight quatered shower, everything else was great including the continental breakfast. Would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Sawyerbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

This is a few miles from Cooperstown but that was fine. Quieter that way and probably cheaper! The room was older but clean and a nice view of the lake (over a few rooftops). There was a nice area behind the rooms for sitting and relaxing in a grass area looking out towards the lake. We ate our breakfast food that we had brought. Their offerings were coffee, juice, toast, and packaged pastries. We knew that so we had brought our own cereal and milk. Worked out fine.

Room Tip: All the rooms face the lake so each should be fine.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

My sister and I were doing our first visit to Cooperstown, The Fenimore and The Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum. The room we had was clean, with a great view of the lake, and the mountain on the other side...amazing lightening/thunder storms both days we were there...all of the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, and the outdoor space was a delightful place to eat breakfast.
Beds were really comfortable...real coffee in the morning, and a filling continental breakfast included...I would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Room #3 has a great lake view
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kschutta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

I grew up camping and staying in mom n pop motels. I was anxious for my kids to get this experience. The rooms are nicely updated with a beauitful view of the lake. The boys enjoyed taking out the peddle boat after a long day of following daddy around the Baseball Hall of Fame. They have a light continental breakfast which I enjoyed on the deck, relaxing with my coffee and a book before leaving. Couldn't be happier with the room or employees. One note, we arrived about 8 pm and didnt grab dinner in Cooperstown, the only place to get a bite in the area. Thank heavens for pop tarts and granola bars.

Room Tip: All good rooms. Room 7 was in the middle with the best view.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kimberly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Our room was nice and clean with new carpet. The large picture window overlooked Lake Otsego and couldn't have been prettier. After spending a long morning at the Hall of Fame we spent the afternoon in the back yard enjoying the view and the comfortable seating.

We were very happy with the location. It was a short 5 miles to the yellow parking lot for Cooperstown which meant it was the last place to stop before it got to town and the first place it went after picking us up in town.

Breakfast was just continental, but adequate to get you going for town.

Only downside to the place was the shower had adequate water and pressure, but it did get hot and it seemed the only thing you could adjust was the pressure, not the heat.

Room Tip: Beautiful view. Staff was nice and helpful. Clean room and very convenient to Hall of Fame, our ul...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherri N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

The Hickory Grove is a great hotel to stay at while visiting Cooperstown and an excellent value. The owners have invested in the property and everything has been recently renovated. The location is quiet and you will get a good night's sleep. I was pleasantly surprised at the breakfast offerings. Great orange juice--not the watered down kind found elsewhere. Choice of yogurt, granola bars, and breads. Very clean and well maintained. Large selection of tv channels on flat screen tv. Great view of the lake.

The owner is very friendly and helpful. His attitude is exemplary and you will notice the difference.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cooperstown
9.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
5.3 mi away
Lake Front Hotel
Lake Front Hotel
#7 of 16 in Cooperstown
304 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Cooper Inn
The Cooper Inn
#3 of 16 in Cooperstown
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites at the Ballpark
1.9 mi away
Terrace Motor Inn
Terrace Motor Inn
#10 of 16 in Cooperstown
99 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bayside Inn & Marina
Bayside Inn & Marina
#5 of 16 in Cooperstown
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hickory Grove Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hickory Grove Motor Inn

Address: 6854 State Highway 80, Cooperstown, NY 13326-3104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Cooperstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Cooperstown
Price Range: $66 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hickory Grove Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hickory Grove Motor Inn is a picturesque, family motel located just north of Cooperstown on beautiful Otsego Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Hickory Grove Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hickory Grove Motor Hotel Cooperstown
Hickory Grove Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing