We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good spot to sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hickory Grove Motor Inn
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Cooperstown
Reviewed September 10, 2012

My rating is based on expectations for a roadside motel. I thought this motel fit the bill for $80/night in a room with two double beds. Reliable Wi-Fi, a nice view, windows that open and about a 10 minute drive to Cooperstown.

The mattresses were ok, there was a small fridge in the room which worked well. An update to the TVs might be a nice idea, and if wall-mounted, would also allow for a bit more space in the admittedly small rooms. Overall, the rooms were clean and well-kept. Also had very friendly staff at the front desk.

The continental breakfast was fine, the usual selection of bready bagels, toast etc. that you might expect.

All in all, a fine stay. The motel delivers exactly what their web site says they will.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have a full lakeview as identified on their web site. Others would be partially bl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MUhrblock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (98)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 98 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2012

Quaint, comfortable and clean. I would prefer this place to a five star hotel. Absolutely great staff. There are no coffee pots in the rooms but the office made a pot of coffee just for me this evening!! There are only 12 units so it is quiet and peaceful. Our room has a beautiful view of the lake. About a mile up the road, they pair with the Lake View Motel. You can use their pool (one indoor and one outdoor) game room with pool table, and paddle boats. We are here from Naples, FL for our grandson's baseball games at the Field of Dreams. They are from Chicago. What a wonderful experience!! This morning we had coffee under a big beautiful pine tree and just enjoyed the peace and quite.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jill g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Great little motel, friendly staff, and easy to find. Don't let Google maps fool you, though - it's a bit further up Lake Otesaga than the address directs.

Not sure why the other reviewers thought the shower was small - seemed to be a normal size to me and my heavy-set husband.

Room Tip: We chose Room #4 and it was just like the pictures on their website showed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blondenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

This place has all the basic amenities, but I think there might be better choices in the area and for the same price range. The staff is friendly, and the rooms, though small, are adequate. However, we found some issues related to cleanliness in the room that made us wonder. Most of the issues were minor. One of the beds in our room had stained sheets that we didn't notice when we got in late in the evening and the other bed had a golf tee between the sheets. We requested maid service.
There's wifi, but the cell phone reception in the area is bad. The inn is close to Cooperstown Village (about 5 miles), and it's about 2-3 miles from one of the Cooperstown trolley stops (yellow stop). If you're a walker, you probably don't want to risk walking along US Route 80. The shoulders are too narrow and the traffic too fast. To visit Cooperstown on crowded weekends, drive to the trolley stop and park there.
Driving around the area, we found several other motels that looked better, including a motel about a 1/4 mile away, and several motels along Route 28.
Giving this place a two-star rating based solely on the cleanliness issues. Though not filthy or especially dirty, the room we had didn't give us a good feeling that the staff really made the effort—actually this seems to be the prevalent attitude of the service industry around Cooperstown.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ray A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Room was adequate. Had everythyng you would need. Bathroom was clean, but found hair on sheet. Greeted cleaning lady, who seemed grouchy. Man running office was very friendly and very helpful when asking about Hall of Fame. Not far from Cooperstown Village, just tricky to find for first time if it's dark. Good price for summer season.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank kbentley923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

This little motel was a little out-dated, but clean and comfortable. Nice staff, short drive to Cooperstown, and had a very nice picnic on their private beach. Though a little small, I'm not sure what rooms other reviewers had. I'm a big guy (6' 1', 260) , but can still sleep with my wife on a double bed. Our son was with us - he's 16, 6' tall and 210. We fit just fine in the room, the beds, and the normal sized shower. Place smells a little green, but it's on a lake surrounded by trees. The free breakfast was simple, but more than what we expected. The price was fair for what we got - $67 + tax.

Room Tip: I understand the rooms to the left of the office (facing the lake) are a little more up to date.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Knolan0831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

clean and comfortable room, very small stand up shower, breakfast consisted of bagels, donuts, coffee and OJ. Nice picnic area with tables and Adirondack chairs. nice view of the lake from our room. this motel is not directly on the lake, but you can see it from the rooms and outdoor area. lake access is provided by a gravel road next to the motel. all in all, we enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tripster980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cooperstown
9.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
5.6 mi away
The Inn at Cooperstown
The Inn at Cooperstown
#2 of 17 in Cooperstown
903 reviews
5.3 mi away
Lake Front Hotel
Lake Front Hotel
#9 of 17 in Cooperstown
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
August Lodge Cooperstown
August Lodge Cooperstown
#1 of 1 in Hartwick Seminary
147 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Cooper Inn
The Cooper Inn
#3 of 17 in Cooperstown
287 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bayside Inn & Marina
Bayside Inn & Marina
#6 of 17 in Cooperstown
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hickory Grove Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hickory Grove Motor Inn

Address: 6854 State Highway 80, Cooperstown, NY 13326-3104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Cooperstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Cooperstown
Price Range: $72 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hickory Grove Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hickory Grove Motor Inn is a picturesque, family motel located just north of Cooperstown on beautiful Otsego Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Hickory Grove Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hickory Grove Motor Hotel Cooperstown
Hickory Grove Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing