We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wait Until the Construction is Done”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Hayden Creek Inn
Ranked #23 of 29 Cooperstown B&B and Inns
Webster, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wait Until the Construction is Done”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

This is a cute little place, with beautiful grounds behind the inn. The owner is friendly, the rooms are unique and breakfast is tasty. The problem is that they are currently doing bridge construction right in front of the inn. Most of the rooms front on the road, and the front yard is tiny. The construction folks have put a stop light right in front of the inn so to accommodate about a quarter mile of one lane road. So, all night long you hear trucks waiting for the light to change, and it's a long light. So, check that the construction is over before you book. This inn is within a couple of miles of the Glimmerglass opera theater, so it is very convenient for opera goers. It is a bit of a ways into Cooperstown though.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingSueT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph M, Owner at The Hayden Creek Inn, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
The construction is finished and we are closed for the season. Please feel free to make your reservations for next season, thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    30
    11
    4
    5
See reviews for
48
46
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Let me start by saying that there was nothing absolutely horrible that I can say about our stay at Hayden Creek. It was all ok. The accommodation was what you might expect at a roadside motel. It was comfortable enough but it was very simple and had a basic level of cleanliness. The problem was, it was priced nearly as much as the room we booked at Washington Square Hotel in New York City with nowhere near the justification for location and service.

The man who ran the inn was functionally pleasant but offered no real advice or information about the town/area. The breakfasts were alright. It was a little awkward at first as no one had given us any information about how it worked (i.e. did we order something or help ourselves to the continental items). The breakfast was fine, better than a motel, but certainly not what we've come to expect from a B&B. The man's wife was a little more outgoing and was pleasant to chat with during our second (of two) days during breakfast but by that time, we were already underwhelmed.

Overall, it's not bad but it's overpriced for what it is. Would probably look elsewhere if returning to the area (and it is a lovely area to visit!).

(Final note: I think they may have had the world's thinnest toilet paper. It seemed like the roll never got smaller after a couple days of use).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twowaystairs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph M, Owner at The Hayden Creek Inn, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
We're sorry this guest didn't enjoy their stay but we are priced lower than most Inns in the area and believe we have a better breakfast than most places. Our rooms are clean and our grounds and gardens are the best around that I've seen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Found this nice B&B just outside Cooperstown for my friend and I's visit on Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony weekend. The Inn is 10 miles or so from the heart of Cooperstown, which is a leisurely drive along the Otsego Lake. The Inn is looked after by Joe, and his wife Glynis together with there small son, Rui. The Inn has clean rooms, a comfortable community area where a complete breakfast is served, as well as a beautiful backyard which Hayden Creek runs through. Joe was knowledgable about the area and provided good suggestions on local dining spots and other relevant info. A great value and nice compromise over staying right in Cooperstown and paying higher rates for fancier but more snooty accommodations. Would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baseball_lover1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

We just returned from spending four delightful days at Hayden Creek Inn, the room and bed most comfortable, Breakfast was delicious and graciously served by Joe who asked "what kind of eggs we would like?
The Inn is located in a lovely area of New York and close to Cooperstown, the BHF and Glimmerglass.
My family consisted of three generations we all just loved our stay with Joe and Glynis
Moyra and Gary Glass

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank moyra g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

We spent two nights at Hayden Creek Inn in July, and we can heartily recommend it. It is comfortable, well kept, and the owners are more than helpful. It you are looking for elegance, this may not be your taste, but if you want simple comfort in a very pleasant environment, you need look no further. The room we had was spacious, and the backyard, by the creek, is a very peaceful, relaxing space to sit and enjoy nature, read a book or just "chill". The breakfasts are ample, and very tasty, and there are many fine restaurants nearby (Joe's directions are sometimes a bit vague, so push him to be as specific as possible. His recommendations are great - his detailed directions? Not so much). We were very happy with our whole two-day visit, and would go there again in a heartbeat. Only minutes from Glimmerglass, and a very short drive to Cooperstown.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

My daughter and I had a wonderful time staying at this B&B in July 2013 while watching my son play in the Dreams Park tournament. Reasonable priced, very clean, great breakfast, and beautiful location. Joe and his son were very friendly and very helpful when suggesting things to do between games around Cooperstown. The drive was about 20 minutes from the fields, but a beautiful drive to say the least. I ran daily along the highway and felt very safe staying in this location. I would highly recommend staying here for a Cooperstown visit. My daughter also loved the daily waffles included in our room price. Fabulous trip and a fabulous B&B!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

I was in Cooperstown to see the MLB Hall of Fame and searched online for a nice place to stay in the general area. Hayden Creek caught my attention and is located about 10 miles north of downtown Cooperstown, but well worth the short drive. It turns out to only be about a 10-12 min drive south along Route 80, much of which is right on beautiful Otsego Lake. Hayden Creek itself is a nice little B&B with about 10 rooms if memory serves me and is located directly on Route 80 with a nice grassy country backyard setting which also includes a small creek running through the property. My room (Room #8) was on the main floor which allowed for easy access with parking out front along Route 80. I had a large clean room with a very comfortable king bed, TV and WIFI. Breakfast was far more than simply adequate with any number of choices and combinations of healthy food available. And if you wanted scrambled eggs, all one had to do was ask and Joe had them for you within minutes. Overall an Excellent Experience and I would return in a heart beat as well as recommend this awesome place to my friends. Thanks Joe for a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoHorsesGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cooperstown
8.8 mi away
Lake Front Hotel
Lake Front Hotel
#7 of 16 in Cooperstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Lake House
The Lake House
#3 of 4 in Richfield Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
12.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
The Village Motel
The Village Motel
#1 of 4 in Richfield Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Baseball Hotel
The Baseball Hotel
#1 of 4 in Richfield Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
4.8 mi away
Fountain View Motel
Fountain View Motel
#2 of 4 in Richfield Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hayden Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hayden Creek Inn

Property: The Hayden Creek Inn
Address: 7667 State Rt. 80, Cooperstown, NY 13326
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Cooperstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Cooperstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Hayden Creek Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most peaceful place In otsego county. Relax in our backyard with a cocktail while listening to the babling brook. Enjoy breakfast under the covered patio while watching the backyard birds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your The Hayden Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing