We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Hayden Creek Inn
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Cooperstown Inn & Suites(Cooperstown)(Great Value!)
$242
$228
BestWestern.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Bayside Inn & Marina(Cooperstown)(Great Value!)
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Otesaga Resort Hotel(Cooperstown)
$269
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hickory Grove Motor Inn(Cooperstown)(Great Value!)
$129
$119
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lake Front Hotel(Cooperstown)(Great Value!)
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$195
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lake N Pines Motel(Cooperstown)
$135
$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$199
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cooper Inn(Cooperstown)
$414
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (145)
Filter reviews
145 results
Traveler rating
92
32
11
4
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
92
32
11
4
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrelaxing place to staybaseball hall of famepleasant stayevery morningbackyardcereal
Filter
Updating list...
128 - 133 of 145 reviews
Reviewed October 25, 2007

While Hayden Creek is technically an Inn, it had all the feel of a B&B. Joe Macaluso made us feel at home and during one quiet morning, he even made us waffles. The dining/common room is spacious, nicely decorated and inviting. The computer is always on to use and there's WiFi available if you bring your laptop. I stayed in the Shangri La room. It's chic Indian feel was warm, pleasant and even a little sexy. Behind the Inn are beautiful grounds where you can sit and listen to the rushing water of the creek, take a stroll or just take in the scenery. While the Inn is approximately 9 miles from the town of Cooperstown, the drive down Route 80, along Lake Otsego was beautiful and quick. Joe recommended a few restaurants for dinner and they did not disappoint. I'm looking forward to returning next year.

Stayed: October 2007
2  Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2007

For the third year in a row, we stayed at the Hayden Creek Inn in Cooperstown while we attended the Glimmerglass Opera performances. We have already booked rooms for next year. The opera is nearby, making this a wonderful place for opera goers to stay. It is just a few more miles to Cooperstown, good restaurants and the Baseball Hall of Fame.
The owners, Joe and Glynis Macaluso have worked very hard to make the Inn comfortable and welcoming. The gardens in the back of the Inn provide a wonderful space to relax.
We especially enjoyed the other guests, many of them opera fans. The conversation at breakfast was always interesting and after opera matinees, we would gather in the common area for cocktails and to share our impressions of the performances.
Joe and Glynis were great hosts, without hovering. We highly recommend the Hayden Creek Inn.

Stayed: August 2007
2  Thank OperaFanVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2007

My wife and I have stayed in the Hayden Creek Inn for the past three summers as we visited the Cooperstown area - primarily for the Glimmerglass Opera - and we have already booked for 2008. It has everything going for it as far as we are concerned. Relaxed family focussed surroundings, wonderful garden (excellent for youngsters to explore), great breakfast, and attractive rooms ( each of them different) in an historic building, and in a convenient location. Best of all are hosts Glynis and Joe, who go out of their way to make their guests feel not just at home but part of their family. Bearing all this in mind it is excellent value for money too.

Stayed: August 2007
2  Thank MarcusAntonicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2007

This was my second year at Hayden Creek. It is a very attractive property with large, clean rooms and a great breakfast. The landscaping out the back door is beautiful and the owners are helpful, pleasant and interesting people. It is only a couple of miles from Glimmerglass Opera and perhaps 9 miles from the village of Cooperstown. For those going to the opera this is an especially attractive location as one can avoid all the traffic going back into Cooperstown; it is also on the " Albany side" of Cooperstown, ideal to anyone flying in. For those going to the Baseball Hall of Fame it is a 15 minute drive along one of America's most beautiful lake side drives. I look forward to my return.

Stayed: August 2007
4  Thank walter4e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2007

The Hayden Creek Inn is several steps above an average motel. Although the rooms are relatively small, they are attractively decorated and furnished, and well equipped with airconditioning and small fridges. One of the most attractive features is the property itself, where the grounds are extensive and welcomingly set out with picnic benches and a variety of seating areas around the stream which
is lit by strings of fairy lights at night.

Breakfast, served in the large and airy dining room complete with books and magazines in the sitting area, is on a par with those we have experienced in some of the old country inns across the country, including healthy fare from cereals and yoghurt to waffles and fresh fruit salads.

However, for us the most attractive and endearing feature is the genuine welcome we receive from Joe and Glynis each time we return. They show a caring attitude to all their guests and are willing to discuss anything and everything from baseball to literature to opera and will always recommend a range of resaurants to meet different needs and budgets. The level of comfort and welcome we enjoy there year after year is far superior to anything we experienced this past summer in Britain

Dennis & Helen Coles

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Bikar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews