We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A MUST STOP IN THE AREA”
Review of T.J.'s Place - CLOSED

T.J.'s Place
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A MUST STOP IN THE AREA”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We always stop here for breakfast, even if we are offered breakfast in our hotel. Great ambiance
and we never had a complaint about the food, good portions for the price. Our recent stop 10/2012, our waitress Barb went above and beyond our expectations...Great food, great feel, great location and most of all great service, whats not to love.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MRWHITE10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    21
    12
    15
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Williamstown, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food for the price”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Arrived in Cooperstown around lunch (after tourist season) and it looked like a nice local place. Many choices available from light to full heavy meals at reasonable prices. Our waitress was very friendly and knowledgeable about the area which was helpful.
We all had something different and we thought each was good-the only reason for a 4 instead of 5 was it wasn't that busy but took too long for what we ordered.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank 528sunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park, New York, United States
1 review
“Sunday lunch”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Went to Cooperstown for our anniversary and had lunch at TJ's. Bread was baked on premises and the turkey was real turkey not the deli stuff. The owner came out a chatted with us for a while and wished us a happy anniversary.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, New York
Level Contributor
86 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Second time around, still a solid diner for a good meal.”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Having been here before, we knew what T.J.'s offered, and weren't disappointed.
T.J.'s goes with the baseball motif of Cooperstown, featuring sports mementos and many baseball themed goods for sale. Take the time to peruse the wall of famous people who have eaten at T.J.'s through the years, from Dom DeLuise to Billy Joel.
For supper, two in our party ordered the hot turkey sandwich, and were rewarded with a pile of real turkey on T.J.'s homemade bread with gravy. They substituted T.J.'s fries for the usual mashed. My wife wasn't very hungry, so she ordered the club sandwich, and was allowed to substitute ham for the turkey. I ordered the prime rib special, and got a nice sized piece of meat for $15.99. The outside crust had a scrumptious peppery coating on it. My only minor gripe is that where I live, it usually comes with some au jus to dunk in. And I got a side of that awesome homemade bread!
I also have to mention that the sodas come in a monstrous cup! A very good supper in a relaxed atmosphere, with even the NASCAR Nationwide race on the big screen.
My wife and I decided to also have our breakfast the next morning at T.J.'s and weren't sorry at all. She ordered eggs and ham. Her eggs came out exactly as she ordered, "sunny and runny" and her order came with some sweet looking potatoes.
I ordered the french toast. What a treat this was, made out of the homemade bread, and sprinkled with cinnamon sugar. Another winner of a meal at T.J.'s

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Grumpy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tallahassee
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Should have clued in when we were one of two tables in the place.”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Where do I start. When you read all the terrible reviews about how bad the service is.....believe it!!! Our waitress seemed almost mad that we were there. However the food was the worst part of it. I got a New York strip that was the toughest piece of meat I have ever had. I honestly think they cooled it in the microwave. They brought it out on a plate with blood running out all under the peas. Wow this was disgusting!!!

To bad you can't get less than a 1!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VacationManReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed T.J.'s Place also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing