We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scenic & Great Food”

The Blue Mingo Grill
Ranked #16 of 60 Restaurants in Cooperstown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Wayne, New Jersey
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Scenic & Great Food”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Blue Mingo is great for special occasions- they have a wonderful revolving menu and their view of the lake is SPECTACULAR, but expect a very pricey bill. Lots of specialty cocktails that are delicious, but again cost $9.50. We stop in about once a month for a fancy night out and will definitely continue to do so!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jenna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    139
    76
    28
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waltham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“No Un-Excellent Dinners”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

After dining once a year at The Blue Mingo for at least 20 years, I have yet to find food, presentation, and service that was not exceptional. The menu is creative, the presentation professional, and the waitstaff engaged with the clientele. You will not be disappointed!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PJE6524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenixville, PA
Level Contributor
76 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Pricey little joint on the water”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My brother treated me to dinner at this nice little place on lake Otsego. We both got 1/2 rack of ribs with fries and water to drink. We also had the blue cheese potato chips and I had a bowl of shrimp bisque, which was the only thing that I didn't like. It was salty and didn't have anything in it. It was like a salty tomato soup with shrimp flavoring.

The restaurant was packed, and we enjoyed the view, as well as the service. I did think that it was a little pricey, and would reccomend a reservation, as it was packed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jshoen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
141 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Somewhat disappointing”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We were at Glimmerglass, to see an opera. Friends had recommended the Blue Mingo: "a good restaurant, right on the shore of Lake Otsego", so we decided to go there for dinner following the matinee performance.
Things didn't work out.
When we arrived, we found that they had lost our reservation: or rather, they had a record of our phone call, but hadn't taken the next step of assigning us to a table.
Result - we couldn't get a table at the edge of the lake, or even at the window, and ended up in the corner of a screened porch, right next to the bar, with a row of tables between us and the windows. Some water view! Once in a while, wisps of cigarette smoke from the bar gently added insult to injury. It was the only table available, apparently.
The food was OK, I suppose, but somewhat overpriced. The wine list was uninspired. Our
server was over-extended, but he did his best.

There are other places to eat in Cooperstown. I wish we had gone to one of them.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hans_Sachs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Overpriced eats in a great atmosphere”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We dined outside next to the docks, which gave us a great view of the beautiful lake in the twilight. Unfortunately, that was the highlight of the experience. As it grew dark, a small candle was provided for illumination - we still had to use our smartphones' flashlight apps to see our food and the wine list. We had grilled steak; mine was cooked correctly (medium rare), but the quality of the meat was not up to par. My companion's meat, though ordered rare, was medium at best. Very disappointing. Waitperson was very pleasant and fairly attentive. Lively, lovely atmosphere but lacking in the food quality.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lhdtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blue Mingo Grill also viewed

 

Been to The Blue Mingo Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing