We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A breath of fresh air - away from the crowds”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cooperstown Lakeview Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 29 Cooperstown B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Excellent night's stay with Bridget just a few minutes away from the Hall of Fame. She and her help served an excellent breakfast in addtion to a peaceful night's sleep. The view of lake in the morning was spectacular.

In addtion, Brisgey lets you park in front of her shop downtown saving you from the paid parking lots.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank texanchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 112 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for our 15th wedding anniversary. We spent the three previous days in New York City and were ready for a change of pace in Cooperstown. Diastole Bed & Breakfast was just what we were looking for. We stayed in the Denali room and the view of the lake out the sliding glass door was amazing. The quality of the woodwork in the entire place is top notch. The bathroom was amazing. Brigitte was so friendly and helpful. We told her our general plans for the two days of our visit and she gave us a couple of helpful tips about where and more importantly when to go to certain places. These suggestions really enhanced our experience. The location of the B&B feels somewhat like a rural hideaway but it is so close and convenient to all of the Cooperstown activities. It really was an outstanding experience.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Speedygonzo3224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

My husband and I stayed along with three friends at the Diastole B&B last week for 3 nights. We were all in Cooperstown for the Glimmerglass Opera. We have all stayed in many B&B's in our time, and we all thought this was one of the best, if not the best. Brigitte is the perfect host, very caring but very respectful of her guests' privacy. The accommodations were wonderful. Our room overlooked the lake & had a deck large enough to entertain all 5 in our party for cocktails every evening. The grounds are lovely. There were different breakfast options every day, each one great. The five of us have already reserved the entire second floor for a week next summer.

Room Tip: Every room has a lake view & is beautifully furnished in local rustic style. You can't go w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joan1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

My wife and I have just returned home from our second visit to the Diastole Bed and Breakfast, and it was another amazing experience!! We have stayed at the Diastole B&B for the last two years during Hall of Fame Induction Weekend, and will be happy to go back EVERY SINGLE YEAR...hopefully for multiple trips. The rooms are spotless, extremely comfortable, beautifully furnished, and the owners Brigitte and Lou are the most helpful, accommodating, and friendly people you'd ever want to meet. Just yesterday, Brigitte helped me change one of the tail light bulbs on my car! There's nothing they won't do for their guests, and anyone who has ever said otherwise is crazy and must have their head checked. The Diastole B&B is run by the most professional inn keepers we have ever dealt with, and not only are they professional, but they are truly down to earth people. We feel as though we are visiting extended family, as we feel very welcomed and appreciated every time.

During breakfast (which is wonderful every morning), we sit at the large dining table in the very scenic breakfast room and just admire the beautiful grounds which lead to the lake. Through the trees we watch the birds fly by and just wish that we could extend our stay. We have met several friendly people there who have all said the same thing..."This is GREAT". It really is a place to relax and forget about your troubles and just enjoy life, instead of complaining about cell phone signals. When we go on vacation, it is to relax and have a good time, and the Diastole B&B is the perfect getaway place, which happens to be situated in a very historic and lovely town; Cooperstown, New York. Several minutes down the road is the National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum, along with many great little shops and restaurants. The owners have provided us with so much information about the town...where to eat, shop, etc, and on more than one occasion have
even made dinner reservations for us!

In closing, this is an absolutely wonderful place that has a decisive charm, a relaxing aura, and that is situated on 22 acres of beautiful nature right on the doorstep of Lake Otsego. A fabulous getaway place, we will always look forward to going back! Outstanding!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonandangie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Our trip was a combination of watching our son play baseball at Cooperstown Dreams Park and a business trip for me. We conveyed the nature of our trip to the owner at initial reservation time. She confirmed at that time there was internet access/WI-FI. We arrived and the owner met us and casually mentioned that guests are only able to download 400megabytes per day; exceeding this will shut down their service for 24 hours, which apparently had happened as there was no connectivity. They have satellite internet service -go figure. Also, our room did not have cell phone service (we had to go out in the driveway next to the garage or in the dining room for service). This was not conveyed to us as well.

If you're like me, needing to access office files and communicate with clients, this is impossible to do in the lakeview room. They offered the driveway and the library downtown as options or a furniture store lobby as a place to work. My work is of confidential nature, they didn't seem to care. None of this inconvenience was their fault, as they stated to us. No apologies were offered.

Also, the "adjacent" room for my daughter was ACROSS the hall and the so-called private bath was ACROSS the hall. None of these conditions were noted to us when we booked the room.

We had to leave early in order to "do business" with the rest of the world and there was no offer of any refund. The rooms were the Rose Room and the Lakeview Room. The
most irritating aspect is that they made us feel like we were asking for the world. We advise you to get explicit description of rooms before entering into contract.

The only reason we gave it two stars was because the breakfast was good, the furnishings were nice, and the place was clean. But buyer beware, if you are going on any sort of business trip or need to be in contact with somebody (we could not receive texts or calls from our son during this time), our opinion is that this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rwayland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taylor663, Owner at Cooperstown Lakeview Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2011

We portray our B&B as a place to relax and get away on our 22 forested acres and we have never described on our website or any other source of information that we have a hotel-like business center or a business center level of communications services. Our WIFI service is by satelite and if you “go figure” that our only other choice is dial-up, you might figure that satelite is the best option as well. We are located a little more than 3 miles from Cooperstown and cable and DSL is not yet availabe in our area. We do not have download issues when we or our guests use their computers for email and routine browser use and we caution against large downloads such as software updates or streaming. We have DSL at our furniture store in Cooperstown and if a large download is needed by our guests, they are offered the option of doing it there-we have plenty of comfortable chairs in quiet locations where confidential downloads can take place-in the last 5 yrs, only a couple of guests have needed this option.

A couple other points.

Cell phone service is spotty in most rural areas of the US! and Upstate NY is no exception. We are located above Lake Otsego and the shoreline is not straight and it is recessed back where we are. Verizon service is present at a few places on the property and the other service providers are not at all reliably available. We do offer our guests the use of our phone which has free US long distance for calls and for emergency messages. Of note, one of our 3 occupations requires confidential information at least at the level of our guest and such secure information has certainly not been compromised by our phone use or internet connections.

Private Bathrooms-all our bathrooms are private. Only when we have a family or couples traveling together who explicitly do not mind sharing a bathroom, do we open up the Rose Room. This is our lowest cost arrangement that offers 2 rooms for 3 or 4 people traveling together. And yes, the Rose Room is across the hall-not adjacent.

We are sorry that their expectations were not met.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

First, the hosts Brigitte & Lou are the best. They are gracious and helpful. My sister and I were traveling with my elderly father and I had some concerns about where to stay. Although he is in good health, he likes his coffee readily available and his own space to chill when needed.
My sister and I stayed in the Lakeview room and Dad stayed in the Rose room across the hall. We shared a bathroom. Although the Rose room was small, we had the common room (with big screen TV), comfy couch and rockers. There is a lovely sunroom where breakfast is served and a large deck in the woods with a view of the lake for having coffee in the morning and wine in the evening. We enjoyed all rooms and Dad was very comfortable. It was perfect.

The rooms upstairs, I believe the Adorondack and Woodsland room are great. (We had a tour). They would be perfect for a special couples getaway.

With the crowds and bustle in town, it was so nice to escape to the Disatole after a busy day.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TraveAdventures55555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

The Diastole Bed & Breakfast was a wonderful discovery when we went to Cooperstown for a wedding. The home is beautifully appointed and the hostess and host were very gracious and friendly. As an added benefit, they provided a way to get free parking in town, something at a premium. The setting was wonderful, even though there was a lot of fog one day--in fact given the setting, it was very romantic. Otherwise a nice view of the lake. On top of it all, we had a terrific breakfast. A great getaway. We recommend it without hesitation for anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happytravelers06614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cooperstown
7.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
3.3 mi away
The Inn at Cooperstown
The Inn at Cooperstown
#1 of 16 in Cooperstown
897 reviews
8.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Milford/Cooperstown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Cooper Inn
The Cooper Inn
#3 of 16 in Cooperstown
284 reviews
3.6 mi away
Landmark Inn
Landmark Inn
#1 of 29 in Cooperstown
355 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Otesaga Resort Hotel
The Otesaga Resort Hotel
#2 of 16 in Cooperstown
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cooperstown Lakeview Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cooperstown Lakeview Bed and Breakfast

Address: 276 Van Yahres Rd, Cooperstown, NY 13326-4148
Location: United States > New York > Cooperstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Cooperstown
Price Range: $221 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cooperstown Lakeview Bed and Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Panoramic view of lake from all rooms. All rooms have queen beds, private baths, some with jacuzzi suites and/or fireplace. Hike on our 22 wooded acres. We are 5 minutes from Baseball Hall of Fame, 15 minutes to Dreams Park, Glimmerglass State Park and Glimmerglass Opera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Cooperstown Lakeview Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing