We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable, wonderful hosts”
Review of Bryn Brooke Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cooperstown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bryn Brooke Manor
Ranked #18 of 29 Cooperstown B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Not sure how I found this gem of a B&B, but glad I did. Was looking for a reasonable place within walking distance of Cooperstown and we found it. Brenda (our host) and her daughter Elizabeth, couldn't have been any nicer. We felt right at home. Breakfasts were bountiful and they offered us anything we wanted. Located atop a small winding road, the place was charming. we each had our room with an adjoining bathroom. clean, comfortable, and although we didn't use it, there's even an outdoor pool. Easy access to all the activities nearby, we especially appreciated being close to the center of town. I highly recommend Bryn Brook, and would definitely stay there again. We were also given a nice little basket of goodies and favors (set of glasses) upon departure. We loved it.

Room Tip: we had room 4, which was a queen bed & tv in one room, and a single in the other with adjoining...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dbarroness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (19)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 19 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2013

My family serendipitously found Bryn Brooke Manor and its talented, energetic hostess, Brenda Berstler, (assisted by daughter Elizabeth) in the summer of 2002. I was looking for a place that was calm and peaceful - it was the summer after 9-11 -- and, also, a place where we would not need a car. For my younger son, then 7 years old, the Baseball Hall of Fame was the attraction. But we soon realized The Glimmerglass Opera Festival was also nearby and we took advantage of that, as well as the Fenimore Art Museum and the wonderful Farmers Museum. We traveled by bus from New York City and walked to Bryn Brooke Manor from the bus stop though Brenda had offered to pick us up from the bus. A memorable moment from our first visit occurred when Brenda caught us just as we were about to board the bus back to New York City and reunited my son with his favorite stuffed bear, Misha, whom he had left behind. We love the whole gestalt of "Brenda's place," a gracious Victorian home set on hill, a stone's throw (if you have a good arm) from the pristine Otsego Lake. Strolling from her wonderful Victorian home (a comfortable, four-room bed and breakfast), past the lovely historic homes of Cooperstown to Main Street with its bookstores, bakery and library is just a restorative pleasure to remember until your next visit. Each time we visit Bryn Brooke Manor we go to the Fenimore Museum and to at least two of the Glimmerglass opera productions. Brenda is certainly expert on the ins and outs of Cooperstown and the more rewarding places to eat, but none of those places can quite live up to the breakfasts served at Bryn Brooke Manor, itself. If breakfast is your favorite meal of the day, this place is really for you. Brenda and her daughter Elizabeth turn out one farm-to-table masterpiece after another. Nothing is pretentious, mind you. It's just wildly delicious. If only I were there now! In addition, at the height of the financial crisis, Brenda started a second, complementary business called Savor New York. So if you are in the mood, visit her store (or catalog) and stock up on treats - most of them native to New York State - to sustain you until you return to Bryn Brooke Manor.

Room Tip: Each of the four rooms is comfortable and tastefully appointed. I've slept well in all of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

My wife and I have just stayed at the Bryn Brooke for the third time, and having stayed in several in Cooperstown over many years, we think it's the best B & B. Brenda and her daughter are the perfect hosts--cater to both opera lovers and baseball lovers-- and fix a great breakfast--almost whatever you want. The rooms are very comfortable, AC in most, and the location--easy walk to the village and across the street from the Otesaga and its great veranda for a drink overlooking the lake--- is unbeatable!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Austin47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Bryn Brooke is as good, in all respects, as any B&B we've stayed at in the United States. The breakfasts were large and delicious, the rooms comfortable and charming, and the location very convenient to Cooperstown and Glimmerglass Opera. For our most recent visit, which we had to rearrange and ultimately cut short at the very last minute, Brenda was remarkably accommodating. We've certainly never encountered that level of flexibility at a hotel or, for that matter, at other B&Bs.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Feder-Gordons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

The Bryn Brooke Manor is the best B&B we have ever stayed in in the USA ! We have been there three times during the Glimmer Glass opera season and have enjoyed every minute and every aspect of our stays.Brenda, her family and staff make us feel like we are a part of the family.
Being at a B&B where we can order the breakfast we want, and the breakfasts are always wonderful, is something unique .
Our rooms have always been clean and delightful; the whole building has a special charm not found in other B&Bs. Frank & Brenda

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Brenda and her family made our first ever stay in a B&B one we will surely not forget. The victorian is much more impressive in person as well as being perfectly located in town. The breakfast was amazing, and they were happy to accommodate our request for 2nd helpings. Our room was large and comfortable. No complaints, except we didn't get to say good bye and thank you to brenda in person before we left! if we ever find ourselves back in Cooperstown we will surely be back to Bryn Brooke.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nik A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Spent three nights here. First the good things: good location, delicious breakfast, good value.
BUT, the room was not particularly clean, especially inside the dressers and cabinets, and there were empty dry-cleaning bags in the closet. Room seemed to be used for storage: A/C on the closet floor, things under the bed and in the cabinets. No trash can (one was provided when asked for). The room was quite large, but there was no place to sit except on the bed. The rest of the house was none too well-kept, either: used coffee mugs sat in the living room for hours. Dirty gardening gloves were stored right next to the dining table.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melanie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda B, Owner at Bryn Brooke Manor, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write. We rely on our guests' feedback to be sure we provide a pleasant stay for all.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your breakfasts. As the only Cooperstown bed and breakfast that cooks to order, and is tailored to our guests early or late schedules, we are happy to be appreciated on this point. We love supporting our local farmers.

We also grow many of our own herbs, which accounts for the gardening gloves in the small greenhouse on the Breakfast Porch. Many of our guests find it charming, but no matter what we do, herbs still require dirt. We'll see that the gloves are put away in the future.

We do store necessary items in the bedrooms. Under your bed was the basket containing the fire escape ladder and the linen cedar chest. Extra sheets and pillows are stored in the cabinet for our guest's convenience. There is an air conditioner in the closet because one can never predict the temperature of a New York summer. We like having it at the ready in case of a muggy spell. The dry cleaning bags were an oversight. During opera season our rooms turn quickly and occasionally something on our 26-point checklist is overlooked. Our staff will continue prudence on this point.

Chairs are provided in each room, but since the rooms can be opened to larger suites, guests sometimes move them to accommodate their needs. We are happy to provide chairs, or pretty much anything else our guests require, provided that we are alerted to the request.

We strive that our guests are as comfortable in our home as they are in their own. We embrace that as a hallmark difference between our bed and breakfast and a hotel. Our guests are free to help themselves to coffee or tea and enjoy it anywhere in the house, including their bedrooms and common rooms. They don't always tell us where they've been!

We respect your comments and have reviewed them with our small, but dedicated, staff. Thank you for your insights. We do hope you enjoyed this stellar Glimmerglass Opera season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cooperstown hotels
0.5 mi away
Landmark Inn
Landmark Inn
#1 of 29 in Cooperstown
351 reviews
0.4 mi away
The White House Inn
The White House Inn
#2 of 29 in Cooperstown
254 reviews
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Otesaga Resort Hotel
The Otesaga Resort Hotel
#2 of 16 in Cooperstown
667 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Cooper Inn
The Cooper Inn
#3 of 16 in Cooperstown
280 reviews
6.5 mi away
Bayside Inn & Marina
Bayside Inn & Marina
#5 of 16 in Cooperstown
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bryn Brooke Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bryn Brooke Manor

Address: 6 Westridge Road, Cooperstown, NY 13326
Location: United States > New York > Cooperstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Cooperstown
Price Range: $125 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bryn Brooke Manor is handsome and spacious, shingle-style Victorian built in 1884. A welcoming, beautifully restored house, it is remarkable for its straight lines and impressive butternut woodwork. We offer nineteenth century charm with 21st century comforts, including private baths, television, refrigerators, and WiFi in our comfortable guest rooms. We are ideally located on three hilltop acres within the Village of Cooperstown, walking distance to restaurants, shopping and major attractions. Breakfast is ample and features local produce, eggs, meats, maple syrup, honey, and more. We bake from scratch, of course. Bryn Brooke Manor requests that all of guests be 16 years of age or older. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing