We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hospitality in Cooperstown - a town filled with great hospitality!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 29 Cooperstown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Stevens, WA
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“The best hospitality in Cooperstown - a town filled with great hospitality!”
Reviewed July 12, 2010

Steve and Patti's Rose and Thistle Bed and Breakfast is a treasure! From Steve's hilarious and information-packed introduction to Cooperstown, to Patti's New York stories and the best breakfasts, this beautifully appointed inn offers a great location, warmth, rest, and a true family atmosphere. It's a short walk down the main road in town to all the Cooperstown attractions, and one of our best "finds" was a leisurely walk along the backstreets filled with quaint houses and beautiful gardens.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank briankLakeStevens_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    18
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
35
128
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marshville, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed July 2, 2010

My husband & I stayed at the Rose & Thistle on our trip to Cooperstown for our son to play at the Dreamspark. What a GREAT choice! The house was adorable, clean and cozy. The breakfasts were yummy and the owners, Steve & Patti were the best. They recommended places for us to go, made our dinner reservations and really surpassed their job as hosts. We felt like we were family by the time we left! We would highly recommend anyone to stay at the Rose & Thistle. As a matter of fact, we hope to go back one day and visit again. The location was perfect only minutes from anything you'd want to do in Cooperstown. I will suggest the Rose & Thistle to all my baseball friends who will be traveling that way!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crystalcoleman18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2010

My wife and I were in the Cooperstown area for a wedding and stayed with Steve and Patti for four days. We have been to many B and B's over the last five years up and down the east coast and the south and we both agreed that this was the best place we have ever stayed. Steve and Patti were the two most gracious, generous, hospitable and truly down to earth hosts we have ever had the pleasure to meet. I will give them the highest recommendation possible and it was truly a wonderful experience. The stay at the Rose and Thistle was like staying with family. This was our first stay and we will always stay here on our future visits.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikeandkat62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewartsville, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed June 16, 2010

The Rose and Thistle is one of our favorite destinations. This was our 3rd time staying with Steve and Patti. They make us feel like family. Their house is absolutely immaculate, and so beautifully decorated. They always have little surprises in the rooms to make your stay more comfortable. Now lets talk about the breakfast, Oh My Goodness !!!! Patti sets the most beautiful table I have ever seen. She uses a different set of China each day. Every time we have stayed we were served something different. This time we had Apple Puffed Pancakes and Corn Pudding with a delicious fruit cup with homemade whip creme. They also offered a selection of other delicious breakfast items. This is a place that we will use for a fun, romantic getaway. Oh one more piece of info. I referred them to a friend that used their family suites next door and they had a ball. Their party had 2 adults and 3 kids and being right down the street from the Baseball Hall Of Fame and great restaurants and shopping I was a hero for a great recommendation. I give them thumbs up.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janry101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheektowaga, New York
1 review
Reviewed June 6, 2010

Steve and Patti are amazing hosts and really take the time to make you feel at home and comfortable. This was our first Bed and Breakfast experience and it was truly a wonderful one! You will love this place and these people.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maisen_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2010

We loved their dog, Morgan. The place was wonderful, breakfast was delicious, but I wish there had been more healthy breakfast choices.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maria-rita-reid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
1 review
Reviewed April 6, 2010

If you ever decide to go to Cooperstown and wonder where to stay, look no further. The Rose and Thistle is the place to be. Patti and Steve will make you feel like you're part of their family. The rooms are cozy, comfortable and impeccably clean. Patti and Steve are warm , friendly and have a great sense of humor. They go beyond all means to make sure you make the most of your stay. Wait until you experience the first rate breakfast that awaits you in the morning. Not only does the breakfast table look beautiful but the food is delicious. When it is time to go home, you may just stay another day like we did.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Downstaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cooperstown hotels
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
0.8 mi away
The Cooper Inn
The Cooper Inn
#3 of 16 in Cooperstown
258 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lake Front Hotel
Lake Front Hotel
#7 of 16 in Cooperstown
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Tunnicliff Inn
Tunnicliff Inn
#12 of 16 in Cooperstown
248 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Otesaga Resort Hotel
The Otesaga Resort Hotel
#2 of 16 in Cooperstown
608 reviews
0.5 mi away
Landmark Inn
Landmark Inn
#1 of 29 in Cooperstown
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast

Property: Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast
Address: 132 Chestnut St, Cooperstown, NY 13326-1424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Cooperstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Cooperstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An enchanting experience awaits you at this turn-of-the-century Victorian Bed and Breakfast. The Rose and Thistle combines Old World charm and new world luxury to let you experience the bed and breakfast in an elegant tradition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing