We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Way to See a Great Town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 29 Cooperstown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Lovely rooms and the best hospitality we've had. We loved the great breakfasts and especially visiting and laughing with the other guests at Patti's stories! We were made to feel right at home and she was spot on with her restaurant and sightseeing recommendations. This was our first trip to Cooperstown and after staying an extra day we are already looking forward to going back again. We would definitely stay at the Rose and Thistle again and we highly recommend it.

Room Tip: If you don't mind stairs ask for the top floor - Sara's room is huge and very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosenThistle, Owner at Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Hi Bob and Lynn,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We hope you had a safe journey to Niagara Falls and enjoyed yourselves and then safe travels to home. Go Nationals!!
I am still thinking about" Blue Steel"(ha! ha!)

Stay well, be safe.

Fondly
Patti and Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (214)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 214 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2013

My BF and I recently spent 3 nights at the Rose & Thistle. Our experience began when we made our reservations. Steve was so down-to-earth, that I told my BF "we are staying here!" Patti and Steve's warmth, humor and knowledge of the area made our time in Cooperstown a great visit (inspite of occ. torrential rains). Our late afternoon craft beer on the porch was a great end to the day. When we left, my BF said. "wow, that was like being with family."

I look for 3 things in a hotel or B&B: Cleanliness - check! Location - check! Food -check! Don't get me started on the French Toast!!

As others have pointed out there is some road noise due to construction; but by nightfall it fades away. So -- go, let Patti and Steve take care of you and for heaven's sake, trust their reccos on restaurants!

Room Tip: We stayed in Mary's room -- which was great. Private bath but down the hall. Not a problem for u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosenThistle, Owner at Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Hi Kelly and Mike,

Thanks for the wonderful review. We had a blast with you guys and we hope to meet up with you in NJ when visiting our friends and family.

Stay well

Fondly,

Patti and Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We had such a wonderful stay while in Cooperstown. Patti and Steve could not have been more wonderful. Great Food and hospitality. I tell everyone to go to Cooperstown even if they are not baseball fans. It is a beautiful place with a number of museums.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lori d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosenThistle, Owner at Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Hi Lori and James,

Thanks for the wonderful review of our bed and breakfast. We hope all is well in TX.
We hope that James and Avery had a great time in NYC and that your reunion was a blast!
Our regards to Ginger

Stay well

fondly

Patti and Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

My boyfriend and I just spent a wonderful weekend here! The owners, Steve and Patti, could not have been nicer, making us feel right at home and comfortable. They were very familiar with the area and pointed us to places to go to. At breakfast on Sunday with the other guests, Patti regaled us with story upon story, making us laugh and laugh and LAUGH! We will definitely be back, and wouldn't even think about staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avonbeth08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosenThistle, Owner at Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear Beth and Dave,

Thanks so much for the wonderful review. We enjoyed having you as our guests and we hope to see you again in Cooperstown.

Stay well, be safe

Fondly,

Patti and Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

What a wonderful visit we had here and the accommodations were outstanding. Patty and Steve were outstanding hosts. Party's overview and introduction to the town and area made us feel right at home with outstanding recommendations on restaurants and attractions. The breakfast was outstanding and each morning created an atmosphere for lively conversation amongst the guests and hosts. We were very pleased with our accommodations,

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosenThistle, Owner at Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Hi Bill and Kim,

Thank you for the wonderful review. We hope you had a safe journey to Gettysburg and enjoyed the wedding. Stay well

Fondly,

Patti and Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

My wife and I went to Cooperstown in April with our 4 1/2 year old grandson and stayed at the Rose & Thistle - we were so happy we did! We enjoyed the huge bedroom and furnishings, Patti's warmth and personal attention, and Steve's fantastic breakfasts! A wonderful place, and we look forward to a return trip!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosenThistle, Owner at Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Dear Nancy, Ron and Bailey,

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially since you were supposed to visit us at the same time that Hurricane Sandy was to arrive in your home state. We were happy to apply your previous deposit for this stay.

It was our pleasure meeting you and your grandson.

Stay well

Fondly
Patti and Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

What a wonderful oasis of hospitality nestled in the place where baseball began. Steve and Patti ( and Morgan ) our hosts were wonderful. Their B and B was just what we wanted. Extremely comfortable rooms with breakfasts to die for. Although it rained for a good part of our stay and some Hall of Fame activities were cancelled to our disappointment, we were not disappointed with anything about THE ROSE AND THISTLE. We have stayed in many B and B's. At some you are guests. Here you are family. Maybe because of my attitude ( its not an accent Patti).
If you are reading this review, you are probably considering a bed and breakfast in Cooperstown. Don't delay. Book it now before you get shut out. We are looking forward to returning. I will bring the Bagels for you and treats for Morgan.
Thanks for the recipe you gave Robin.

Matt Shechtman
Robin Baumgarten

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosenThistle, Owner at Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Hi Doc and Robin,

thanks so much for the wonderful review. I look forward to seeing you both again in Cooperstown and sharing a delicious bagel with lox and all the fixings!

Stay well, be safe

Fondly

Patti and Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cooperstown hotels
0.8 mi away
The Inn at Cooperstown
The Inn at Cooperstown
#1 of 16 in Cooperstown
891 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Cooper Inn
The Cooper Inn
#3 of 16 in Cooperstown
282 reviews
3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Landmark Inn
Landmark Inn
#1 of 29 in Cooperstown
354 reviews
0.6 mi away
The White House Inn
The White House Inn
#2 of 29 in Cooperstown
254 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Willow Tree Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast

Address: 132 Chestnut St, Cooperstown, NY 13326-1424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Cooperstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Cooperstown
Price Range: $124 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An enchanting experience awaits you at this turn-of-the-century Victorian Bed and Breakfast. The Rose and Thistle combines Old World charm and new world luxury to let you experience the bed and breakfast in an elegant tradition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Kognitiv US Corp, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing