We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 29 Cooperstown B&B and Inns
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“What a wonderful experience!”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

My husband and I came here for our second anniversary trip. We are both huge baseball fans and had never seen the Hall of Fame. We had an amazing time at Rose and Thistle! The breakfasts were delicious and it was fun to talk to the other guests. As part of our package we got a tasty loaf of lemon-poppy bread and a nice bottle of wine, as well as two tickets to the Hall of Fame. We stayed in "Nikki's Room" and it was lovely. One of the nicest surprises was the wide array of toiletries in the room. It was better than I get at most hotels!

If you are in town for a weekend, DEFINITELY stay at Rose and Thistle. If we return to Cooperstown, we will be looking them up!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosenThistle, Owner at Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Hi Amanda and Chris,

Thanks for the wonderful review. We hope to see you both again in Cooperstown someday.

Stay well

Patti and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    15
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
34
124
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mountain Lakes, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I just spent my Birthday weekend in Cooperstown, and had the pleasure of staying at the Rose and Thistle Bed & Breakfast- a gift in itself! Steve and Patti were amazing hosts! The atmosphere is so relaxed and comfortable, truly a home away from home! Our room was so beautiful, and the breakfast(s) were to die for! To sit in the parlor w/ the quaint fireplace, having a cup of coffee, enjoying the company of our hosts was a treat. Steve shared so much knowledge about Cooperstown, and helped us map out our days to ensure we got to see/do everything we wanted in our 2 day stay. I can't wait to get back up there and certainly plan to stay again at the Rose and Thistle- The best place in town!! JB&PD

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 11, 2013

My boyfriend and I visited Cooperstown in September 2012 to see a show at Brewery Ommegang and also visit the brewery, tour the Hall of Fame and take in everything this town had to offer. Cooperstown is picturesque is now one of my favorite small towns and Patti and Steve gave us the best recommendations and their "locals" honest opinion, which we loved! The stay at Rose & Thistle was very welcoming, charming and short walk to town, I couldn't have chosen a cozier home. The breakfast conversations with the other guests were a great start to our mornings and winding down the evening with Patti, Steve and the guests was relaxing as we shared stories of our all-day adventures. We highly recommend this city and B&B.

Patti & Steve: Tell Morgan Nate and Lindsay say, hello!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia B, Owner at Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Hi Nate and Lindsay,

Thanks for the lovely review of our B&B.

We hope all is well in Florida...BTW, we went with a updated mobile application for our web site and we hope that helps folks when traveling on the road to find us easier.

stay well, be safe

Patti and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Rose & Thistle on New Year's weekend. We wanted to see the Baseball Hall of Fame and found a lovely B & B within Cooperstown city limits and only 1 mile away from the Hall of Fame. Patti & Steve were incredibly hospitable. They gave suggestions for things to do and places to eat. Every place they suggested was perfect. It snowed over 12" the day we arrived and they shoveled the driveway three times to accommodate us. We felt like we were in our own home because they were so open and treated us like family. Patti & Steve went so far as to have us included in their New Year's Eve celebration with friends. Each morning we awakened to a wonderful country breakfast experience. I would strongly suggest anyone desiring spending time in Cooperstown stay at the Rose & Thistle.

Room Tip: We were upstairs in Nicki's room. It was a very nice room with enough space and a private bathro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeandJulie623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia B, Owner at Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Hi Mike and Jukie,

Thanks for the lovely review of our B&B.

We hope you are both well and finally enjoying some Spring weather.

Hope to see you again someday in Cooperstown.(maybe New Year's Eve)?????

Stay well,

Patti and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

My wife and I recently returned from a trip to Cooperstown and had the good fortune of staying at the Rose and Thistle, largely based on tripadvisor reviews. One of the reasons we prefer bed and breakfasts is we enjoy the local knowledge of the hosts, as well as the interaction between fellow guests (Hi Danielle...Go Halos!). As hosts, Steve and Patti did not disappoint! Both are engaging, VERY funny, and provided us with a great stay and fond memories of a great town. And it's been said that dogs take on the personality of their owners...Morgan is also a great hostess! A very funny little doggie.

Upon arrival and after Patti showed us around the home and took us to our room, they gave us a chance to get settled. Once unpacked, Steve was waiting for us downstairs for a "briefing" on the town, the Hall of Fame and recommendations on where to eat (listening to Steve, if you close your eyes you'd swear Danny DeVitto was talking...and I say this as a compliment, because the guy is hilarious). He is a wealth of knowledge about the town and the Hall, and was a joy to listen to. He is also a GREAT cook and the breakfasts were ridiculous. In fact, he totally screwed up our dining schedule as we were so full after breakfasts that lunch invariably ended up much later in the day, and that "cause and effect" pushed dinner back as well...and I am one of those guys who goes to bed not long after the streetlights come on.

We stayed in "Mary's Room" which was very comfortable but does not have a bathroom in it...you have a private and VERY LARGE bathroom assigned to your room, but it's a few doors down the hall. As long as it didn't bother our fellow guests when I walked down the hall in my underwear to take the "old man pee" at 0300, it didn't bother me (they provide robes for the classier amongst us). Fortunately for our fellow travelers, they were spared that visual.

If you're reading this and are pondering a Cooperstown visit, the advice given by both Steve and Patti was invaluable, including this little gem: we went to the Hall on the first day we were there but with the knowledge that if you get there after 3:00 PM (we did), you are given admission for the next day at no extra charge. And the Hall and Museum are so big and so interesting, the extra two hours on the first day was put to good use.

The Ommegang Brewery is NOT to be missed. As a self described beer geek, their efforts in the brewing art are epic stuff. They give you six tastes as well as a souvenir tasting glass and if their beer wasn't enough, the restaurant is EXCELLENT. We even saw some "locals" there having lunch (that'd be Steve and Patti). GET THE FRIES.

We also recommend Alex and Ika's, the "Bocca" which is literally across the street from Steve and Patti's, the Cooperstown Diner (think "Mayberry small"...awesome food and VERY affordable) and a visit to "Mickey's" memorabilia store on Main Street. I ordered a custom bat there and they sent it home via UPS at no charge. There are also several other stores that will customize a bat for you (The Cooperstown Bat Company...they're made there), but I had to have a Louisville Slugger like I had as a kid (it's "Powerized!").

All in all, we highly recommend the Rose and Thistle. Great location, super clean, GREAT people running it, and it's in an awesome town which we loved a lot more than we thought we were going to. It ain't all just "The Hall."

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank artethesmarte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

From the moment we walked in the door at the Rose and Thistle, Patti and Steve treated us like family. It didn't hurt that they both grew up in northern New Jersey, not too far from us! I planned the trip as a surprise for my boyfriend's birthday, and upon our arrival, we were greeted by Patti, who's dynamic personality instantly made us feel welcome. This was our first experience at a bed and breakfast and in Cooperstown, and the R & T set the bar high. The inn was warm and cozy, and felt like home--not as cold and prissy as other places could feel. Our room, known as Desiree's room, was beautifully decorated and had plenty of room for us to put our belongings and settle in. There is a sink and small countertop in the corner of the room, as the bathrooms are on the smaller side. However, this is what to expect from a Victorian style home, and we felt that there was ample room for us to get ready for a day or night out in Cooperstown.

After settling in, Patti and Steve sat down with us and gave us the history of the town and the Baseball Hall of Fame. Both informative and resourceful, the D'Espositos were the perfect people to get recommendations from, and they were right on the money when it came to dining, shopping, and attractions. Their West Highland Terrier, Morgan, was adorable and we loved playing with her.

Breakfast at 8:30 every morning was a decadent delight. Patti was a supreme hostess who guided the conversation with the other guests. I was particularly amazed by how quickly she learned everyone's names and preferences from breakfast the day before. It was great getting to know the other travelers to compare notes about the different attractions in the Cooperstown area. Breakfast started with fresh fruit served with whipped cream, a choice of coffee or tea, and juice. Bacon and breakfast sausage accompanied the main breakfast entrees: a puffed apple pancake on our first day, and corn fritters with scrambled eggs and cheese our second day. There was also baked pumpkin bread on the table, and snacks kept in the dining room. The meals kept us full all day, which was perfect, since we were busy exploring the Hall of Fame and shopping around town!

After comparing several bed and breakfasts in Cooperstown before booking, I couldn't be more pleased with our stay at the Rose and Thistle, both in quality and price. It will definitely be our go-to B&B when we return to Cooperstown again, and we HIGHLY recommend the Rose and Thistle to anyone looking for a wonderful Cooperstown getaway!

Other suggestions:

Food: Alex and Ika (Main Street), Bocca Osteria (across the street from the R&T). We visited in the off-season so some places were closed, but both were good options. Brewery Ommegang had delicious food as well, see below.

Attractions:
The Baseball Hall of Fame & Museum: as die-hard baseball fans (Mets and Yankees, respectively), we spent nearly a full day in the museum and ate a quick lunch to dash back. Your best bet is to figure a good day and a half to explore the museum if you plan on taking your time to read everything.

Brewery Ommegang: Tours run every half hour and are free, a six beer tasting immediately follows the tour and costs $3. Definitely eat lunch here!

Fly Creek Cider Mill: About 10 minutes away in nearby Fly Creek. A ton of samples to try, delicious fresh apple cider and food items to purchase.

Cooperstown Bat Co.: If you are looking for a customized bat to take home, definitely go here. The HOF store gets their customized bats through here, but I suggest going to the store itself because you can probably get a better deal.

Room Tip: Desiree's Room has a bathroom inside the room--only one of the rooms has a bathroom down the hal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Danielle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We decided on a last minute trip to Cooperstown and luckily Patti & Steve had a room available. When we arrived, we felt immediately at home. Patti was a very gracious host and great to talk to. Steve's breakfasts were divine! We really liked that breakfast was served family style - it provided a nice sense of community with all the other guests. And Morgan the dog was a treat! Downtown Cooperstown is within easy walking distance and it's cool to see all the historic houses along the way. We'd definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Our room (Mary's Room) had a private bath, but it was down the hall. It certainly didn't bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelinfoolsmiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cooperstown
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
1.1 mi away
Lake Front Hotel
Lake Front Hotel
#7 of 16 in Cooperstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tunnicliff Inn
Tunnicliff Inn
#10 of 16 in Cooperstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Cooperstown Inn & Suites
0.6 mi away
The White House Inn
The White House Inn
#2 of 29 in Cooperstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.5 mi away
Landmark Inn
Landmark Inn
#1 of 29 in Cooperstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast

Property: Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast
Address: 132 Chestnut St, Cooperstown, NY 13326-1424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Cooperstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Cooperstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An enchanting experience awaits you at this turn-of-the-century Victorian Bed and Breakfast. The Rose and Thistle combines Old World charm and new world luxury to let you experience the bed and breakfast in an elegant tradition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing