We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good home style breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Doubleday Cafe

Doubleday Cafe
Ranked #4 of 60 Restaurants in Cooperstown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Doubleday Cafe is open year round, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner seven days a week. We offer a chalk board of specials for all three meals. With seating of about 70, we also offer a fine selection of beer, wine and top shelf liquors. Our goals are to serve the freshest food, along with the best service, at the most reasonable prices. The Doubleday celebrated it's 20th anniversary in 2011.
Manalapan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good home style breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

We went for breakfast because the free continental breakfast offered at our motel was awful. At 8 am, there are only two places in town that are open for breakfast. The other, the Cooperstown Diner, was very small and already crowded. The Doubleday Cafe was a better choice because it was larger, more comfortable, had a friendly neighborhood atmosphere and a very good and varied breakfast menu and specials. We will definitely go back again

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Metsfan47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    304
    352
    99
    23
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lockport, New York, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014

On a busy afternoon, we were seated quickly. Service was very good, not rushed. Food was excellent, with a wide variety of choices.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Service. Gets You Back to the Hall Quick”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014

We took a break from the Hall of Fame for lunch. Nice menu selection. Friendly wait staff and quick too!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank angelfan33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location crappie food!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

Went here for lunch during our visit to hall of fame. Ordered tuna sandwiches which was NOT albacore as advertised and the chicken wrap was with dark meat. My son could not eat it and changed to a hot dog and fries which wasn't any better! There were other restaurant choices on main street so I would pass on this. Maybe their breakfast is better but, we didn't try.

Helpful?
Thank LaurieSchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfred Station, New York
Level Contributor
176 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Very good!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

A drive thru Cooperstown around the lunch hour, led us to the Doubleday Cafe. I had not read any of the reviews for this cafe so I went in for a business lunch, blind of TripAdvisor reviews. So with that said, I do not regret going there. First off, if you're looking for a diner at lunch time, get here early. It's not very big so you may end up waiting for a table. Secondly, it's a bit pricey. $$. For a grilled cheese on rye with a side of real mashed potatoes, I payed just over $10 with beverage. That's a lot of money for grilled cheese. It was good. The Mashed potatoes were great. It was just pricey. Other than the prices, I have nothing bad to say about this cafe. Great atmosphere, great service, good home cooked food, just bring your bigger wallet. Final note. The menú is a bit odd. It has a Mexican flare with the classic Americana foods. I sense the chef may really enjoy cooking Mexican cuisine while working in a classic diner in the baseball hall of fame capital.

Helpful?
1 Thank schees1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doubleday Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Doubleday Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing