We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not like it usedto be”
Review of Brewery Ommegang

Brewery Ommegang
Ranked #11 of 60 Restaurants in Cooperstown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Ommegang is hard to pronounce but easy to find. Located just five miles south of Cooperstown, NY, our farmstead brewery is open year-round for daily tours and tastings. An intimate walking tour puts you right on the brew floor amidst the sights and sounds of brewing in action. Our tour guides will help you discover how superior ingredients and time-honored methods like open fermentation and warm cellaring produce better tasting beer. But don't take our word for it, taste them for yourself. In addition to free tours, inexpensive tastings of six of our award-winning ales are available. Afterwards, stay for a meal at Cafe Ommegang. The cafe offers a full menu of Belgian-inspired cuisine plus more Ommegang beers as well as Duvel imports from Belgium. Relax with a picnic lunch or toss the Frisbee on our beautiful 136-acre brewery grounds. Ommegang has special events all year long, including the "Belgium Comes to Cooperstown" beer festival in August, athletic events, holiday events, family events, cultural events, and a summer concert series. Handicapped parking, entry and toilets available. Group tours available. Closed Thanksgiving, Christmas Day, and New Years Day, and also for occasional special events. Closures are listed on website.
North Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
186 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Not like it usedto be”
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

As this place becomes more popular and the footprint of the establishment hasgrown, all the things that we once loved are fading away. When we visited in late August, the "visitors' center" was so packed you could barely move around. The staff is overwhelmed. The place is not beautiful anymore.

Problems encountered:
1. 45-minute wait to sit on the patio because they don't have enough waitstaff
2. Several items on the beer and food menus not available
3. A waiter got mad and violently threw his tray against the wall in anger, right next to a 2-year old girl
4. My crepe was supposed to contain carmelized onions. The onions were not carmelized. They were not even sauteed. They were one step up from raw
5. The "VIP Tasting Tent" is corny and out of place. Trying to look like a South Beach lounge? And since when did $8/person make you a VIP?
6. There's only 1 picnic table left in the yard. There used to be 6. The one that is left is falling apart and probably won't be around much longer.

Bring backthe old Ommegang we enjoyed in the past few years!!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    84
    22
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Annandale, New Jersey
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A must visit when you go to Cooperstown!”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Wonderful...Brewery was fun. Cafe was great, wish I knew we could sit outside. The tour was fun and beer tastings amazing! Will definitely be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Best food in Cooperstown”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Had lunch in the cafe here, and it was the best food we had during our stay. Obviously a wonderful selection of beers (try the flights), but also really good lunchtime food. The kitchen were not afraid to deliver food with real flavor. Try the moules, together with the ubiquitous Belgian frites. Can't wait to go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MinusThirty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“OMG Ommegang Brewery!”
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Recent Sunday visit to Glimmerglass Festival was complemented by a Belgian brewery with authentic Belgian brews for the beerophile and a helpful knowledgeable staff. The menu was impressive enough for foodies and yet unpretentious, just creative and delicious. To wit (Witte!) we tried the lamb sliders which were outrageous and made with their Three Philosopher's Ale and some cherry butter for a marvelous combination of savory and sweet. The must-be-had Belgian frites were attended by a choice of flavored aioli as per Belgian preference. My Flemish loving B-in-law is drooling with anticipation for the best Belgian ales on this side of the Atlantic! Try the tasting flight for six tastes just short of heaven, forgive the hyperbole. Make the journey out of town about 6-7 miles and be stunned! Let the whiners complain about some out of stock items on the menu, some gems sparkle even without being fully cut. Did not take tour but others seemed quite satisfied. Gift shop solved a few holiday gift giving dilemmas in August. We'll be back.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patrick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonkers, New York
Level Contributor
156 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Visited my best beer!”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This was my first stop during my short vacation to the Cooperstown area...too bad they are in the middle of nowhere but it made the arrival all the more worth it! Surprised by the number of people there on a Thursday but certainly a testament to the popularity of the Ommegang products. Great outdoor sights and large field behind the brewery for picnics (they also host the occasional outdoor concert). They have indoor and outdoor seating for their cafe...surprised that their food listing wasn't more "beer-friendly." Salads and crepe sandwiches seemed to dominate the menu; I was able to order a roast beef sandwich which hit the spot. The tasting was worth the $3 as you get to try the six main brands. The tour was impressive and the guide was quite knowledgeable. The store was stacked with my favorite beers and I did not go home empty-handed!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YkrsNative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brewery Ommegang also viewed

 

Been to Brewery Ommegang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing