We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cooperstown and Charlotte Valley Railroad
Save
Review Highlights
Perfect Ride

This was a great little train for my 8 year old. We did the 1 hour out & back from Cooperstown and... read more

Reviewed July 12, 2018
eavatty
,
Ashburn,VA
Great Night Out on an Old Train

While hitting locations on the Cooperstown Beverage Trail, the GPS screwed up; we were on our way... read more

Reviewed August 11, 2016
Steve T
,
Sayville, New York
via mobile
Read all 19 reviews
  
Reviews (19)
Filter reviews
19 results
Traveler rating
9
4
2
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
9
4
2
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dining car passenger cars open car conductor enthusiasts track
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 19 reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2018

This was a great little train for my 8 year old. We did the 1 hour out & back from Cooperstown and we'd love to try the long ride next time we're up that way. It was a gorgeous and we're so glad the train conductor recommended going out to the open car. You just had to watch your head as they take a natural approach to landscaping along the tracks!

The interior cars featured a dining car with tables & chairs and a little kitchenette selling hot dogs, chips, etc. The passenger cars were cool and we were fascinated with the seat backs that could be moved either way.

Fran "the ticket booth" and Chris the Conductor were both very nice and accommodating.

Date of experience: July 2018
1  Thank eavatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2016 via mobile

Had a great time. Everyone was friendly and the children loved meeting Santa. It was well organized so there was always something to do.

Date of experience: November 2016
Thank lollipopG2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2016 via mobile

While hitting locations on the Cooperstown Beverage Trail, the GPS screwed up; we were on our way to Cooperstown Brewing Company but ended a block short and came upon a old train. Our first question was...do you know where the Brewery is (for the record, it's right behind the tracks... next right SIRI) the next question was . . . wow, this is cool...whats going on here. After being informed that it was a 'Blues Express' on a old renovated diesel train for a three hour round trip, we were in. The train ride was fun, and the band was actually really good, and yes as per previous reviews there are a lot of people who tend to overimbibe on alcohol and congregate on the band car. However, the ride is actually pretty soothing and relaxing. We moved to the front car and took in the scenery in the early 1900 passenger cars. What added to the trip was when the conductor; Rae Ann, took the time to explain the history of the train and the passion behind the volunteers (like herself) that restored the train. They're dedication and ambition is something to be admired. They also have several other excursions; such as a 'train robbery' and Autumn scenic trips. They definitely are worth a return trip to one of these events.

Date of experience: August 2016
4  Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2015

We took their fall foliage excursion on Columbus Day. The weather was perfect and the trip was nice. It takes about 2 hours for the whole thing. The train heads down the valley north towards Cooperstown. You can sit in a dining car, regular car and they have an open car which was perfect for this day. They do have lunch and drinks available at a very reasonable price on the train.

Date of experience: October 2015
Thank EarlR913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2015

Got much more than we excepted. It was a bargain. Got a large buffet dinner of authentic German food. Stopped for an hour and a half up the line to a pavilion where they had a great German band and the staff was wonderful. We had a great time.

Date of experience: October 2015
Thank 7295LarryH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews