We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must stop...”

Abner Doubleday Field
Ranked #5 of 34 things to do in Cooperstown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 9,000-seat ballpark, owned by the Village of Cooperstown itself and located near the Baseball Hall of Fame, commemorates the reputed "birthplace of baseball."
Morris, Illinois
Level Contributor
88 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A must stop...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

If you are seeing the Baseball Hall of Fame, then Doubleday Field is a must see. It is a small stadium with a old time feel. There was no game in progress when I was there, so it took no more than 10 minutes to visit. I sat in the stands and took in the ambiance for a few minutes. Baseball fields are a special place for the lovers of baseball, and this field has the feel of those from years gone by.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BCMorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    109
    34
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Clementon, New Jersey
Level Contributor
192 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Where it all began”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

What a place!
Makes you feel like you are in a movie or watching Babe swing the bat.
No charge to enter and watch a game. Teams rent the use of the field, so all different levels of the game could be going on at ant given day.
For a schedule of who is playing, go to the Village web site.

Cooperstownny, look for Doubleday Field Schedule.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank R D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
278 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Single A but AAA for atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

A fine little ballpark. Catch a game and you'll feel as if it was the 1950s. It is Single A but top quality.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Fenway1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Fargo, North Dakota
Level Contributor
115 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Must See Part of the Cooperstown Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

If you go to Cooperstown, you must swing by Doubleday Feld. I've been twice, and each time there were games going on, once the players were even wearing super old uniforms. Fun to sit there and watch for a bit to get in the baseball mood, and daydream about when you used to play, and how fun it would be to step out there and take a few swings.

The last time we went, we actually parked in a lot near the right field foul pole. Didn't realize exactly where we were, and once I did, I got a little concerned about foul balls. It was out of reach though, turned out to be a great parking spot for the day, and was very reasonable.

Make sure you stop in to the "arcade" in the main parking lot near the home plate entrance to the field. They have a radar gun where you can throw your arm out trying to set the speed record for your age group for the day/week/month/year/all-time (may not have been all of those, but a good bit). There are also batting cages where you can step in against a knuckleball, curveball, slider, and fastball. I believe there was a softball cage tucked around the corner as well.

*Doubleday is also our go-to bathroom spot when we're meandering through the town.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Well maintained, olde-tyme baseball park”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

More so than Fenway or Wrigley, this is about as close as you can get to a baseball experience from 100 years ago. A lovely brick facade, one level of bleachers from left field to right, and only the portion behind the plate has a roof over it. No video screens or loud music to distract you. (That makes me sound so old.)

I've never been charged admission, and I don't even know if there is a ticket office or concessions of any kind. When I have gone, games are constantly played on the field, weather permitting, and the players are usually adult amateurs, sometimes youth leaguers, playing because they love the game. There might be a dozen or so people watching.

Whenever I have gone, I will stick around for maybe 30 minutes, sit down and relax and soak it all in. Peaceful, quiet, baseball.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank frankieg73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abner Doubleday Field also viewed

 

Been to Abner Doubleday Field? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing