We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth every penny, if you can afford, why stay anywhere else?”
Review of Landmark Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Landmark Inn
Ranked #1 of 29 Cooperstown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Worth every penny, if you can afford, why stay anywhere else?”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

At first discovery, I was hesitant about the price asked for a B&B. Because it was high season, mid-August, even the most basic of Motels had inflated rates.
After reading several reviews on Trip, I decided to check out Landmark's website, rooms and prices a lot more closely. Took the plunge and ended up thanking my lucky 'stars and stripes' !
A Cooperstown visit is made that much better when you have the kind of hospitality afforded at this MVP of a B& B. It is an All-Star. I have never stayed at a nicer B&B anywhere.
Rooms are spacious and clean. Bedding and linen top notch. Ample free parking and a short walk to the main strip and the Hall of Fame. After a long day on our feet, touring the Hall and the stores, we were grateful our Hostess provided us with nearby dinner suggestions. We came back to the Inn after dinner and enjoyed Baseball movies available on DVD in the living room and chillaxed on big leather Laz-E-Boy chairs. Next morning's Breakfast began with an outrageous (i.e. delicious!) cantaloupe soup followed by blueberry pancakes and bacon. Yum yum! This is def. THE place to stay!

Room Tip: Even if you arrive early, they will probably let you park on the property so you can leave the car a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mgreene787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROBIN2142013, Owner at Landmark Inn, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Well, geese Tommy from Toronto, we're not THAT expensive! :)

Seriously, thank you for all the kind words. We loved the MVP reference, though we remain humble and focused on each guest. Fred says to remind you to, "Send Reyes back to the Mets, but you can keep Dickey."

Come see us again, real soon.

Warm Wishes,

Robin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    21
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
51
212
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hoboken, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed December 2, 2013

My boyfriend and I checked in at the Landmark this weekend and loved the place from the minute we drove up the driveway. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. Amy was such a pleasure to and talk to. Our room was phenomenal and the breakfast was superb. Robin and Fred (& their girls) were wonderful hosts!! I told Robin we were checking out early the morning of our departure and when I went to return the room key, there was a "breakfast to go" bag waiting for me (little did she know that anything pumpkin flavored is my favorite and she baked a pumpkin cranberry load which was unbelievable). We will definitely recommend this B&B to our friends and hope to get back there very soon!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colon1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROBIN2142013, Owner at Landmark Inn, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Hello to our friends from Hoboken (the true birthplace of baseball?). So many young people enjoying the bed and breakfast experience! Everybody seems to love Chef Vita's Cranberry loaf as much as we love sharing it. Our daughters, home for the holiday, enjoyed their first experience hosting guests. Who knows, maybe they'll catch the hospitality bug like Fred and I did. Our oldest remarked, "All the guests are so nice, so happy here!" Yes they are, especially guests from Hoboken!

Warm wishes,

Robin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, Indiana
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Visited Cooperstown in November 2013 to celebrate the birthday of one of our closest friends. The mission was to experience the Baseball HOF together but we enjoyed our stay at the Landmark Inn perhaps just as much. The innkeeper, Robin Schneider, and her staff are wonderful folks that attend to your every need and interest. Lovely, restored home in the heart of C'town. Recently redecorated rooms (St. Somewhere, The Chance Suite), wonderful breakfasts, and perhaps the cleanest B&B we've ever stayed in (which is 40+ inns). Great recommendations on restaurants and local attractions. We are already planning our next trip back to Cooperstown and we will only consider the Landmark Inn for our lodging accommodations. As a B&B veteran of 30 years, I can recommend the Landmark Inn without any qualifications.

Room Tip: The St. Somewhere and The Chance Suite rooms were both recently redecorated and have outside entranc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROBIN2142013, Owner at Landmark Inn, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Scott, thank you! The Chance Suite (gotta love that name, no?) and St Somewhere are two very popular rooms. But as I write this, we are also updating the Wyeth Suite with a beautiful new luxury tile shower, new art, new furnishings and a new layout, to include a private sitting area. And the new Campanella Suite, available in July, will continue to raise the bar in exceeding guest's expectations. It will feature a fireplace, luxury marble "Dream Shower", private deck and entrance, stunning furnishings, and all 5-star amenities. Please come back and see us soon!

Warm wishes,

Robin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights with my boyfriend during the Cooperstown "off season." The owners, Robin and Fred, are so kind and friendly. The inn is beautiful, 19th century, wood finishing, high ceilings, large windows and has fire places in the common rooms.

The room we stayed in was the Hemingway. It was clean, a little small maybe for some tastes, stayed warm during the cold November nights we stayed (we had a snow storm!) and were beautifully but simply furnished. The room had wifi and a small tv. The bathroom was pure luxury with an ample shower head and a jacuzzi style tub with jets. There was exposed brick in the bathroom next to the tub. I wanted to light candles and soak there all night. And the beds! Ohhhh how I will miss sleeping in your fluffy down softness.

Breakfast was amazing. I think my favorite was the pancake morning with fresh fruit. It would have been insulting to put butter and syrup on these pancakes because they were so delicious on their own. No "sharp" breakfast time or early hour start. Show up 830 to 930 and you will be spoiled with home cooking and and a big sturdy mug of coffee. I also loved the crystal glassware on the tables.

The rooms also were equipped with wine glasses and a bottle opener. Perfect for a romantic end of the evening evening by the fire.

I could not recommend this place enough. It was my first B&B experience, and I hope to return. We are a 28-29 year old couple, and this was a great option for us. Also the location was convenient: you can walk or take a very short drive to Main Street and the museums, restaurants. I noticed the other guests range from about the early 30s to 60s.

If you are looking for a little extra privacy, I might recommend asking for a room in the back of the second floor. Hemingway is located right at the top of the stairs. Despite this we never heard any foot traffic or anything disruptive. I could see some people who are fussier, however, might find a room in the rear a little more comfortable for their tastes. It was not a problem for us though.

In sum, I recommend Landmark because it is conveniently located, wonderful service (concierge service, knowledgable, tell them what you need and you will get the hook up), it is gorgeous with little touches of luxury AND breakfast was excellent.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AndieGirl5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROBIN2142013, Owner at Landmark Inn, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Andie, Thank you! We loved hosting you. Thank you for mentioning that many MANY young people are falling in love with the Landmark and today's Bed and Breakfast experience. We are SO different from hotels and SO different from each other, that each stay is unique and wonderful. Top shelf B&B's today are more like Boutique Hotels. The doilies are long gone, so is the shag carpet and rigid communal breakfasts... but not the elegance. And not the personal attention to detail, the concierge service that only a top-shelf B&B can offer. Come back and see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye, NY
1 review
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We decided to spend a weekend in Cooperstown to celebrate my husband's birthday as we have done as a tradition now for many years. We love the atmosphere and warmth of this beautiful Inn and look forward to coming back each year. The rooms are lovely and all of the staff are friendly and helpful. Breakfast is always delicious and each of the common areas of the Inn are so relaxing and tastefully decorated. We are glad we always have a wonderful place to stay for a very special weekend each year. Very enjoyable indeed!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROBIN2142013, Owner at Landmark Inn, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Thank you Andrea! I can't think of a better compliment than guests declaring the Landmark, "their special place." We are honored, and look forward to your return! Fred says, "let's be sure to share a glass of wine next time."

Warm wishes,

Robin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hammonton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

The atmosphere of the Inn is one of warmth and charm. Robin is a lovely hostess who cares a great deal about the comfort of her guests. The room was private and extremely clean...loved that! Breakfast was a treat each morning. The decor was whimsical and fun. The bed was much too big for us and took up a lot of room making it difficult to find a place for the huge decorative pillows and down comforter. Other than that, we enjoyed our stay very much.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Johanna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROBIN2142013, Owner at Landmark Inn, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Thank you Johanna for your kind words about the Landmark and our St Somewhere room. We certainly try to create some fun here at the Landmark. It's one of the great things about running (and visiting) B&B's. The Landmark might be a 150yr old mansion, but it's never been a stuffy place. Come back and see us soon!

Warm Wishes,

Robin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We were stopping in Cooperstown on our way back to NYC for a little R&R and quiet time... and it was so the perfect place. We were in room 10 which has it's own entrance and the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in. H was a fan of the huge two person shower with all the fun jets. The common areas of the Inn are so beautiful and the house is just oozing charm. Breakfasts were great, there's coffee 24/7 (win), it's walking distance to main street, and the host is really sweet and welcoming.

When we come back and it's warmer out, I'll probably have to fight someone over the porch on the side of the house... we sat out there and had coffee even though it was way too chilly to do so. That porch makes me want to move to the Landmark permanently... but that could get pricy, and I'd probably lose my job. So I'll settle for a visit.

Bottom line, y'all- if you need a place to stay in Cooperstown, you've found it. Just don't hog the porch, ok?

rmw

Room Tip: Some rooms have a private entrance which is nice if you want a little more privacy... but we snuck a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROBIN2142013, Owner at Landmark Inn, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Raven! Thank you for these kind words... and you are welcome to move here at any time! The room you enjoyed, St Somewhere, is a favorite of many, including Fred and me. It's the Inn's "fun" room, houses some of the art we've collected from Key West and the Islands, has that great shower. We even have a copy of Jimmy Buffet's "A Pirate Looks at Fifty" in there (Fred's an unabashed Parrothead) to help our guests escape "Down-island", something mighty welcome in these cold winter months. Come back and see us... and bring a bigger bag!

Warm wishes,

Robin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cooperstown
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
0.5 mi away
Lake Front Hotel
Lake Front Hotel
#7 of 16 in Cooperstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tunnicliff Inn
Tunnicliff Inn
#10 of 16 in Cooperstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cooperstown Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
The White House Inn
The White House Inn
#2 of 29 in Cooperstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Landmark Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landmark Inn

Property: Landmark Inn
Address: 64 Chestnut St, Cooperstown, NY 13326-1114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Cooperstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Cooperstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Landmark Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Landmark Inn, a luxury bed and breakfast in historic Cooperstown, NY. Relax and savor the idyllic setting in "America's hometown" at our charming inn, impeccably restored to its original beauty of 1856. Our Cooperstown bed and breakfast has eleven rooms furnished with comfort in mind. Each room offers a unique decor and warm atmosphere with cozy beds, feather duvets and lovely bathrooms featuring dream showers. Each morning you'll wake to the wonderful aromas of fresh baked delights and a full gourmet breakfast presented at your private table in the beautiful Landmark Inn dining room. Whether you are a baseball fan, opera aficionado, history buff, outdoor enthusiast or you are simply seeking a romantic upstate New York getaway, your stay at the Landmark Inn will have you centrally located to all of Cooperstown's many attractions. Experience the best kept secret in Cooperstown at Landmark Inn ~ we look forward to seeing you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Landmark Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Landmark Hotel Cooperstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing