We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best. Vacation. Ever.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Landmark Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Landmark Inn
Ranked #1 of 29 Cooperstown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
West Conshohocken, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best. Vacation. Ever.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

I've been meaning to sign up with Trip Advisor since last May to write a review of the Landmark, but I never got around to it, until I received an email today telling that the Inn was under new ownership. I've only ever been to the Landmark that one time, but my fiance proposed in Room 2, so of course it was the best vacation ever!
The Landmark Inn is really quite lovely and everyone we spoke with who worked there was wonderful. We even ran into Laura on the Cooperstown Blues Express, and she was so excited to tell everyone she knew on the train that I said "yes"! My fiance had called the Inn to assist with surprising me with flowers when we entered the room. I had no idea a proposal was coming, so I thought the innkeeper put the flowers in the room!
We were originally scheduled to visit Cooperstown in September 2011, but Tropical Storm Lee(?) flooded our entire route through PA and NY. The Inn was gracious enough to hold onto our deposit and let us reschedule our trip with no hassle. For that, the Landmark Inn automatically got a high rating from me before we even stepped foot in the door.
We can't wait to come back to Cooperstown for an anniversary trip and stay in Room 2!
Aside from the Hall of Fame, we went to Brewery Ommegang, Fly Creek Cider Mill,and rode the Cooperstown Blues Express (on advice from a friend from Oneonta). Alex and Ika's food is delicious!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meghan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROBIN2142013, Owner at Landmark Inn, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you Meghan! As new owners we are only now learning JUST HOW MANY proposals have occured in our Inn! Amazing! We will be hosting a number of Bridal Parties this summer and fall, too! Laura, Hannah and Elizabeth - all of whom took care of the Landmark before our purchase - are all still here making sure every guest's experience is memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    21
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
51
203
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mount Kisco, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

My Wife and I stayed at the Landmark Inn during the off-season in Cooperstown. It's our second time there. There is new ownership and both the proprietors and their staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The breakfast was excellent and the room we stayed in was fantastic. We stayed in room #2 which has it's own private entrance and porch. The room itself is very comfortable and spacious. The bathroom was the topper as both the jetted tub and stand in shower with multiple shower heads were amazing. The room had a book with menus from the local restaurant which was great. The location is very close to the downtown area and the local super market. All and all a great experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaime V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROBIN2142013, Owner at Landmark Inn, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you Jaime! Room number 2 is so popular with guests that we took a cue from it as we refreshed our other rooms with crisp colors, hardwood floors, flat screen TV's and a really comfy chair to finish that book in. We hope you'll come back and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

The property has a good selection of rooms from good quality and upwards and the shared interior areas combine the right amount of antique and modern.

The owner was very friendly and made our one night stay very welcoming. Restaurant suggestions were spot on and the breakfast was a delicious fresh change to the other ones we had on our road trip.

The two golden retrievers are so well behaved you wouldn't know that they were in the house and are kept separate from the guests, although we were missing our golden Labrador so took the opportunity to say hello when we checked in.

This B&B and the town are well worth a visit, at least two days minimum. :-)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewGrigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROBIN2142013, Manager at Landmark Inn, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you Andrew, for your visit and great conversation. Pheobe and Bella (our golden retrievers) are never allowed in the inn, but absolutely love it when guests come by to say hello to them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

I had never stayed at a B&B before, but my wife and I received a bedandbreakfast.com gift card, so we decided to use it during our visit to the Hall of Fame. I was beyond impressed with the Landmark for my first experience with a B&B. My wife and I travel a lot, but this was a very different experience. The owners were wonderful, the room was clean and a very nice size, the building was impeccably kept, breakfast was delicious, I can go on and on. One of the best parts is that it is walking distance (less than half mile) to the downtown area and the HoF. The Landmark is HIGHLY recommended if you are looking for a quaint, personal, fantastic experience while visiting Cooperstown!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

My husband and I booked this Inn for two days for a family outing to the Hall of Fame. I was a little nervous about staying at a B & B and didn't really know what to expect, but it far exceed any expectations I had. We shared room 8 with our adult son and daughter (who joined us from Oswego and Rhode Island). Our daughter, son-in-law, and 15 month old granddaughter stayed in room 7. Since it was off season, we mostly had the Inn to ourselves.

We all felt extremely comfortable and at home. Robin and Fred and the staff were all so friendly and accommodating and embraced having a baby onsite. They even quickly provided a cute makeshift diaper pail for us and had a high chair and child appropriate utensils set for breakfast. The tables were nicely set and I liked that they were for smaller groups rather than "forcing" you to join in with others. We enjoyed the living room fireplace and having a common area to play games and talk.

If we ever come back to Cooperstown, this is where we would stay. We highly recommend this B & B!

Room Tip: Room 8 is a suite perfect for 2 adults and 2 children - very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 315Nancy_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROBIN2142013, Owner at Landmark Inn, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you to our new friends from Michigan! What a weekend it was sharing the NCAA Elite Eight with you as our beloved Syracuse and your beloved Michigan each won, only to - sniff - face each other the next week in a game of dubious foul calls :) Your entire family was a delight. Please visit us again, perhaps for the Detroit Tigers week at the HOF later in the summer?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teaneck, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

I have been staying at the Landmark Inn of Cooperstown, four or five times a year, for over six years. It is a home-away-from-home for me. I love the historic old building, the comfortable beds, the living room and dining rooms with their fireplaces... Sometimes i visit with my daughters, sometimes with friends. Everyone always enjoys their stay, especially the breakfasts!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank slustberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROBIN2142013, Owner at Landmark Inn, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. As new owners, the opinions of long time guests are so valuable. Even as we work to put a new shine on the Landmark, we are ever mindful of it's past and the place it holds in so many hearts. We look forward to your next visit, perhaps when the new gardens are in bloom?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

I have been an enormous baseball fan all of my life, and especially of the Baseball Hall of Fame. If you are coming into town for anything Baseball related, this is the place you HAVE to stay. The room I booked was incredibly spacious, the dream shower is phenomenal, the homemade breakfast was delicious, and there was nothing more I could have asked for during my stay.

The standout feature is the new owners Fred & Robin. I can't believe they just started here because this place seems like it has been theirs for quite some time. Fred is a huge baseball fan and I felt like we could have sat there swapping baseball stories and discovering more and more fascinating trivia, but alas there is only so much time. Best part is the lass than 10 minutes walk it takes to be downtown and at the Hall of Fame. I loved the location and can't wait to see it in the summer!

I even forgive that he is a Mets fan because it was such a fabulous experience!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank solesofmyshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROBIN2142013, Owner at Landmark Inn, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you Chris. Fred says to come back soon, so he can work on Mets-itizing you a bit more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cooperstown
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
0.5 mi away
Lake Front Hotel
Lake Front Hotel
#7 of 16 in Cooperstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tunnicliff Inn
Tunnicliff Inn
#11 of 16 in Cooperstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Cooperstown Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
The White House Inn
The White House Inn
#2 of 29 in Cooperstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Otesaga Resort Hotel
The Otesaga Resort Hotel
#2 of 16 in Cooperstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Landmark Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landmark Inn

Property: Landmark Inn
Address: 64 Chestnut St, Cooperstown, NY 13326-1114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Cooperstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Cooperstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Landmark Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Landmark Inn, a luxury bed and breakfast in historic Cooperstown, NY. Relax and savor the idyllic setting in "America's hometown" at our charming inn, impeccably restored to its original beauty of 1856. Our Cooperstown bed and breakfast has eleven rooms furnished with comfort in mind. Each room offers a unique decor and warm atmosphere with cozy beds, feather duvets and lovely bathrooms featuring dream showers. Each morning you'll wake to the wonderful aromas of fresh baked delights and a full gourmet breakfast presented at your private table in the beautiful Landmark Inn dining room. Whether you are a baseball fan, opera aficionado, history buff, outdoor enthusiast or you are simply seeking a romantic upstate New York getaway, your stay at the Landmark Inn will have you centrally located to all of Cooperstown's many attractions. Experience the best kept secret in Cooperstown at Landmark Inn ~ we look forward to seeing you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Landmark Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Landmark Hotel Cooperstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing